We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”
Review of Wild Horses Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Horses Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
1 review
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed October 3, 2008

This is one of the finest lodges I have stayed in, it is definitely five star and run as all top class lodges should be!
Excellent service without been overbearing, food second to none, nothing ever seems to be too much effort for these guys,
I initially went as a compromise, something fancy for my wife and some fly fishing for me, Wild Horses has since become one of our favorite places in SA,
As for the fly fishing , if you like dry fly sight fishing, you will not be disappointed, but do ask to be put in touch with a guide by the name of Dave Weaver he is a master and will show you a few techniques that will prove invaluable,
I could rattle on and on about this place, but to put is simply Wild Horses is as good as it gets

  • Liked — Incredible view , clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elsinore77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    12
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
121
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JHB
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I must admit i normally do not find time to write a review after going on a holiday but feel that i need to commend Wild Horses, Gerrit (manager) and Francois (Chef extraordinaire). Wild Horses has it all, Venue, Facilities, Accommodation, Activities, Service, Food, wine. You are looked after from the second you arrive and you def leave heavier than when you arrived.

Never mind the fact that I proposed to my new Fiancé during a fantastic dinner for 2 in the wine cellar. What you want is what you get. Guys Well done and thanks so much for a fantastic experience and weekend.

We will def be back, hopefully annually

Ian and Michelle

  • Liked — The Accomdation is 5 Star
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cameroneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruimsig
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2008

I travel frequently (locally and internationally), but thismust be the 1st time that all the "promises" made on the website and during booking were actually kept! From the early check-in I arranged with Gerrit, to the sublime views (compliments of Mother Nature) and Francoise's superb cooking, everything were unequalled. The rooms were peaceful, the atmosphere was calming and the service outstanding.
I spent the weekend at Wild Horses with my sister, and could not have wished for a better setting to spend quality time with my family. Thanks Gerrit and Francoise (and John and Trish for getting us out of our transport pickle)! You know how to make a mere weekend highly memorable.

  • Liked — Best of everything!
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasja1Ruimsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2008

I needed a realy special place to celebrate our 25th wedding annerversery and as i was paging through the flyfishing magazine an article on Wild Horses caught my eye and i knew that was the place.
What an awesome place to spend some quality time together. The Lodge is exquisite and the rooms tastefull furnished. The most beautifull views over the impressive Sterkfontein Dam. Gerrit's attention to detail made us feel so welcome while Francoise spoiled us with some really top notch cooking paying particular attention to our individual likes and dislikes.
To celerbrate our annerversery, Gerrit arranged a boat cruise on the magnificent dam where we popped some champange and had a plate of eats. Later that evening we were spoilt with a private candle light dinner which he had set up in the wine cellar.
The special three course meal that Francoise produced was of the highest standard. It made for the perfect day.
A big thank you to Gerrit & Francoise who made our stay at Wild Horses one that we will never forget and we will definately be back.
Wild Horses Lodge comes highly reccommended by us.

  • Liked — Personal attention all round, setting, clean, relaxing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank msteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Gerrit (manager) and Francoise (Cordon Blue chef) are a unique team, with a standard unsurpassed by anywhere we have stayed in our extensive travels. Comfort and cleanliness are exceptional, meals are amazingly thought out and prepared to satisfy every palate and the feeling overall is of welcome and friendliness.The Lodge overlooks a massive 18 mile lake surrounded by rocky hillsides, with an atmosphere of complete peace and tranquility, 3/4 hrs drive from the main tarmac road. Trips can be arranged on the lake in the Lodge's launch, it may be possible to see some wild life and there is a superb home cooked picnic lunch. This exclusive four bedroomed,newly built stone Lodge, is a place of heaven on earth.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank cheltenhamGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
11.3 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
243 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
10.7 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
1.1 mi away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
10.6 mi away
Berghouse and Cottages
Berghouse and Cottages
#2 of 13 in Bergville
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horses Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horses Lodge

Property: Wild Horses Lodge
Address: Sterkfontein Dam, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Harrismith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wild Horses Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Eastern Free State's pristine Sterkfontein Nature Reserve at the foothills of the Drakensberg Escarpment, Wild Horses Lodge is the perfect location for an African breakaway. With its panoramic views of the majestic Platberg Mountain and the vast Sterkfontein Dam, the Lodge is a masterpiece of architectural design in local sandstone and offers luxury accommodation, exquisite cuisine and a variety of activities centred around the dam and the abundant wildlife of the reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wild Horses Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing