We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South African's are beautiful people!”
Review of Wild Horses Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Horses Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Wild Horses. The setting of this lodge is breathtaking, it's a piece of heaven. The rooms are luxurious but homely with ample heating to keep you warm in the winter months. The standard of service from the owners and employees is exceptional and it feels genuine. The experience left me feeling like I went there to reconnect with old friends. My partner even boasted to his friends about it. I am definitely going back in summer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masetjhaba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Wild Horses Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 154 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had an awesome 3 days at Wild Horses and could not have asked for a better way to kick start our tour! The views were breath taking, the staff were lovely and the activities which they offer are outstanding! The food was also gorgeous, the chef was so nice & welcomed personal requests! The rooms and the scenery were fabulous, we did not want to leave! The Ireland team will definitely be planning another visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe186430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great stay, the "recipe" seems to be to have the guests form part of the hospitality team, in no way uncomfortably so. The food was incredible, surprises every time. Loved the lodge in its own right but the location takes it to another level. The owners visited while we were there, the standards, the constant improvements, the customer focus clearly matter to them and are well delivered through Thelma, their chef, all their support staff

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Superbly located, wonderful wildlife, astonishingly good food, lovely staff... the sort of place you almost don't want to tell people about as it is so very, very special. It is the perfect place for people who love the outdoors: walking, riding, sailing, boat trips. Cannot think of even the tiniest hint of criticism or adverse comment.

Room Tip: The four guest rooms are in an attached annexe. Two have astounding views over the lake primarily, t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oddspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The lodge has a wonderful setting looking over the Sterkfontein Dam and the hills beyond. The lodge was designed by the owner and is quirky and unique. There are plenty of outdoor areas to enjoy but be prepared for steps. Our room was rather cluttered but very comfortable especially the huge bed. The en-suite bathroom nicely designed with fluffy towels. Food is exceptional. The chef is newly appointed and menus are innovative and delicious. There is a lovely bar and plenty of choice with good South African wines. Wifi is free and reception good for such a remote lodge. Directions are easy to follow but the journey to the lodge means gravel roads (good) and a narrow 11 kms. of paved road full of potholes.
There is plenty to do at the lodge. The owner will take you out in his boat on to the dam and take you riding on his own horses. Hiking is also possible and you could uses the lodge as a base for exploring other villages or even Lesotho. The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. There are four rooms and the lodge is a mini luxury hotel.

Room Tip: I think all four rooms have views of the dam but make sure when you book.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicelincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is quite possibly the best place to stay in South Africa!
We spent three amazing days at Wild Horses and could have easily made it three weeks!!
Our hosts were fantastic and the staff were absolutely brilliant
We weren't the average guests being in a group of eight, but the staff went above and beyond to make our stay perfect for us
We have highly recommended to all our other team members who tour South Africa to book in at Wild Horses, and I look forward to staying there again soon

Room Tip: The view from the Zebra room is outstanding
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOKelly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a wonderful three days at Wild Horses, which was too short.The nature reserve is amazing. We did very nice hikes.
The food, wine and atmosphere at Wild Horses were perfect.
We will certainly come again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
9.7 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
11.3 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
250 reviews
10.7 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
146 reviews
11.3 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
1.1 mi away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horses Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horses Lodge

Address: Sterkfontein Dam, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Harrismith
Price Range: $255 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wild Horses Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Eastern Free State's pristine Sterkfontein Nature Reserve at the foothills of the Drakensberg Escarpment, Wild Horses Lodge is the perfect location for an African breakaway. With its panoramic views of the majestic Platberg Mountain and the vast Sterkfontein Dam, the Lodge is a masterpiece of architectural design in local sandstone and offers luxury accommodation, exquisite cuisine and a variety of activities centred around the dam and the abundant wildlife of the reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wild Horses Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing