We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem - almost don't want others to discover it!”
Review of Wild Horses Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Horses Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This four bedroom retreat tucked away in the quiet hills overlooking the Sterkfontein Dam - just 3 hours from Jo'burg was a delight to discover. The incredible 360 degree views never disappoint. The food is a delight and service is personalised. In just 3 days we were completely rejuvenated here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 167 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

Thank you so much for a wonderful experience. It was the perfect place to get engaged. Jon and Trish (Owners of wild horses) went to the extreme to make the weekend UNFORGETTABLE. Food was lovely, and the room was wonderful. Wild Horses exceeded our expectations!!!!

Room Tip: Depending on what you want, they offer rooms with mountain views, or a view of sterkfontein dam. Bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The venue and the views are breath taking. The hospitality from both the hosts and the staff exceeded expectations. The absolute highlight of the weekend was the fine dining experience at each meal time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SandyB606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed here for a week. The venue is stunning, the food is good and the service is extremely personalized.The Lodge is within driving distance of many exciting activities and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I headed down for a lazy Saturday night to get away from Jozi and the kids. The break couldn't have been better, great food, wine and wonderful views. Next time we will make a week out of it!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickkunze01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Wild horses is such a gem of a place, that not only has beautiful views, but also friendly staff and amazing food to make your stay there worth every cent. My husband and I went there for a weekend away, and were not disappointed, with jamie and Tim always there to assist with everything we needed, and they made our stay there that much better. The food by both Tim and Jaime is in itself worth the experience, and the layout of the dining area, made conversations between the people at the guesthouse flow easily( even with the bottle of wine we were consuming). We will be back there again, we cannot wait.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Thank you for a wonderful weekend.Friendly,great food,beautiful views.Will definitly be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
9.7 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
10.7 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
333 reviews
6.6 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 14 in Bergville
160 reviews
16.4 mi away
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Harrismith
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horses Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horses Lodge

Address: Sterkfontein Dam, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Harrismith
Price Range: $303 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wild Horses Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Eastern Free State's pristine Sterkfontein Nature Reserve at the foothills of the Drakensberg Escarpment, Wild Horses Lodge is the perfect location for an African breakaway. With its panoramic views of the majestic Platberg Mountain and the vast Sterkfontein Dam, the Lodge is a masterpiece of architectural design in local sandstone and offers luxury accommodation, exquisite cuisine and a variety of activities centred around the dam and the abundant wildlife of the reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wild Horses Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing