We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I still like Lala Nathi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 20 Harrismith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I still like Lala Nathi”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This time we stayed in the room called Thandi.
If you want a stop over in Harrismith on your travel I will still recommend it. If you want something that is functional, clean and not too expensive then this is the place. I enjoyed my breakfast and the mini muffins with the local wild berry jam, that was quiet something. On our trip we went searching and found that weird purple jam and brought some home.
This stayed we were in one of the bungalows and yes, I must agree you are sent off in a direction with a key and it can be a bit annoying when you just want to settle in and now you have to play "find your room". Luckily we found someone to help,, believe it or not, it was easier to find a staff member outside at 10pm than your room.
We wanted to stay here again on our drive back to JHB, but unfortunately they were fully booked and they recommended a gorgeous B & B in Harrismith.
My daughter loves the garden and their is a play area for kids. We will visit again.

Room Tip: One of the newer chalets like Themba and Thandi... they are further from the N3. But you will still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarriorBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdsEyeView37, Manager at Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Warrior Bunny,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us, we do really aim to please all.
Regarding the "finding your room" part, our sincerest apologies about this. Unfortunately the receptionists cannot always walk guests to their rooms as we are so busy they cannot leave reception for long. The rooms are quite easy to find as we do have signboards as well as names and numbers on the outside of ALL rooms. We are currently introducing more receptionists into the office to be able to help control the arrival of guests- therefore the ladies will be able to walk you through to your room.
Finding a staff member is relatively easy, yes, as we constantly checking to make sure everything is alright so when ever you need something- we are here.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Warmest Regards,
The La La Nathi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
38
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were, as I presume most people, on our way from Bloemfontein to Ballito for a week long break. Wasn't really necessary to stop over but we decided to do so as we were in no rush. After informing them that we’ll be there by 8pm they made certain we understood that there will only we someone to assist us till 9pm. Thereafter I don’t know. We made it in time but found ourselves and another couple searching the reception area in the main building for staff to assist us. When finally someone arrived they gave us the key and vaguely showed us the direction we should head to find our chalet. I guess walking the 50m or so was just too big ask.

The rooms were beautiful furnished and the tranquil surroundings set the table for a great nights rest. This was the last of the good news. We woke up to a chalet without water after a night devoid of peaceful sleep as it seemed at one point as if the highway was just outside my window. Since arrived late that previous evening we went straight to bed skipping dinner banking on an early shower and breakfast and then hitting the road to Ballito. Apparently the whole area was affected due to a municipal problem. Granted but we all have to cope with these issues on a daily basis so they should have a contingency plan of action to get water to all the guests right? I phoned reception and was informed of the contingency plan that would take 15 minutes and we’d have water. Well we waited for two hours and decided to renounce the idea of a refreshing shower, packed up everything and enquired at reception. There, we together with the same couple from the previous evening (they used left-over water from their kettle), were informed of the status quo. Nobody made any earlier effort whatsoever to inform us of the water crisis at all. Surely the could have at least brought us a small bottle of water to brush out teeth with!

They still charged us the full rates and sent us on our way feeling done in with way we were treated and the value for money. Never again. NEVER!!

The owner should take heed and get rid of useless staff as this could be a great stop-over.

Room Tip: If you have to sleep here take one that is as far away from the freeway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gawie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This guesthouse is located right on the fringe of the highway, so its quite noisy.

Rooms are ok, food very average and all in all, its a place that youd probably forget pretty quickly.

We used this to break up the drive from Johannesburg to Durban and although this place would be good in a more quiet location and with a better restaurant it just doesnt hit the mark.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Benny_Doda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at Lala Nathi in Harrismith - April 2012 - over the busy long weekend, We stopped over on our road trip to Durban. We stayed in the main house, the place was quaint and cozy. Absolutely loved the cottage feel.
Breakfast buffet was pretty good and I don't think we will ever drive right through from Jhb to Durban ever again without a stop over:)
I really wasn't expecting much when I saw that it is literally a drive way off the highway -I was expecting something a little less tranquil. You could hear the traffic from the highway but that is expected - when you are on a road trip you don't want to be too far off your main route.(the noise levels are not bad, remember you are staying maybe just over 600m from the N1, so I guess on cold days it might sound louder)
The room had underfloor heating and was warm and inviting - I expect that over the icy cold and possibly snowy season in August this place must really be great to stop over. The sparkling pool looked inviting and we did do a little exploring of the grounds even though the wind was rather nippy.
The price wasn't bad either... You get more than what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarriorBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel entrance as well as all the buildings being part of the "resort" look very nice from outside. Unfortunately once you are indie it looks a little different.
- Electricity cut each evening around 10PM
- Breakfast buffet was extremely poor and not fresh
- the thatched roof of my bungalow was leaking and during a hail storm water was dripping from the roof on my desk and on other parts of the room
- In addition to this the busy highway is in earshot behind the bungalows and you need earplugs in order to sleep and not being afraid that the trucks run through your room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

When we stayed at Lala Nathi, it was the middle of winter. It was pretty cold, but the rondawel's underfloor heating was great. The lodge was very quaint, and breakfast the next day was delicious.

My only complaint is the doorless bathroom. Because we went as friends (two couples) and hung out in one rondawel together a lot, it was a bit awkward to go to the bathroom without a door.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiLain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Stayed 1 night on way back from Durban to Joburg. I was very impressed with this lovely property. Easy to find, close to the main road (but not noisy), lovely grounds and a super detached cottage room. Dinner was not bad and certainly a better bet than driving back into town which appeared to offer little. Only wish it had been summer so we could have enjoyed the grounds more and had a dip in the inviting pool

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
9.3 mi away
Mount Everest Game Farm
Mount Everest Game Farm
#3 of 9 in Harrismith
153 reviews
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose
3.1 mi away
De Oude Huize Yard
De Oude Huize Yard
#1 of 20 in Harrismith
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
478 reviews
14.9 mi away
Green Lantern Inn
Green Lantern Inn
#2 of 5 in Van Reenen
98 reviews
14.8 mi away
Oaklands Country Manor
Oaklands Country Manor
#1 of 5 in Van Reenen
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse

Property: Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
Address: Harrismith, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Harrismith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La La Nathi Country Guesthouse is the ideal stopover choice, situated on the N3 just outside the historic town of Harrismith in the Eastern Free State Highlands. Set in magnificent country surroundings this thatched homestead is a haven of peace for the weary traveler. Whether unwinding in our delightful gardens or heated swimming pool during summer or relaxing in front of a roaring log fire in winter, our guests enjoy the intimate atmosphere and personal service and attention which we provide. Conveniently situated half way between Durban and Johannesburg on the N3 Highway, makes La La Nathi Country Guesthouse a perfect getaway venue for your next conference or romantic wedding. The Drakensberg mountains, Clarens and Golden Gate are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse Hotel Harrismith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing