We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrismith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat - Vergezient Lodge
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great views, great stay”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Awesome views of the northern Drakensberg, the dams and the valley, during the (clear) day as well as at night (plenty of small shining lights). The name retreat is well chosen: Drakensberg Mountain Retreat Vergezient is secluded but the views, the wild horses on the property, the hikes and especially the staff and management make the trip well worth it.
We had a family room with enough space and a fantastic view - the kids were happy with the warm pool and the vast grasslands surrounding the property where they could roam around. We all loved the tasty menu in the evening, the nice breakfast and the friendly staff.
Everything was clean and accommodating - no big luxury but absolutely comfortable. We all want to come back.

Room Tip: As a family room, room 3 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The restaurant looks very simple, yet the quality of food and service are very good. Staff members are friendly and professional - thanks to Violet and Sean.The ambiance generated by the neighbouring candle-lit sitting area (with sofas) and the next-door billiards room, gives you options for true relaxation. I shouldn't forget the mini-bar at the restaurant area!!!
.... Pity I couldn't clearly witness the highly acclaimed views of the mountains because I only arrived for dinner.
Overall, the three course meal is value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkhuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasure! My wife recently booked us 3 nights at the Drakensberg Mountain Retreat for our 2nd Anniversary...and it did not disappoint! Everything at the Vergezient Lodge is about the client...immaculate rooms, breathtaking views, good food and great service! A special word of thanks to Shaun (Manager) for the extra effort that he had put in to accommodate my wife with the special surprises that she had organised for the day of our anniversary! Truly a special couple of days!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We immediately felt welcome when greeted by a very friendly Paul who manages the place. The rest of the staff was as friendly during our whole stay. We unfortunately stayed only one night, but this will be a great place to escape the rat race. There is plenty to keep yourself busy with even if the weather isn't too good. The views are really stunning!

We had a very nice large room, even though the bathroom is quite basic and smal. There is a fireplace in the room which will be great during the cold days.

Food was plenty and very good with excellent service and hospitality throughout. What is also good is that you can at any time of the day make yourself some coffee and tea and help yourself to fresh, home baked biscuits. Value overall was very good.

This place is quite far out of the way and not a place to use as a base to explore the area, it is rather a place to come and stay and unwind. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PretoriaTravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

One of the few pet-friendly places in the Drakensberg. Beautiful, vast views of the Drakensberg with plenty of ground for my dogs to roam. We walked for about 2-3 hours twice a day, either following walking trails or strolling 1-2kms up the Retief Pass to enjoy sunset at the Kaalvoet Monument.

My dogs were happy, there were lots of dams to swim in, horses to discover and there was also Mojo (the resident Jack Russel).

As a solo traveller for the weekend, I really liked having dinner at my own table. Having stayed at some other hotels and lodges in this area in the past, I expected to sit at a communal table. When you go away for peace and quiet the last thing you want to do is make conversation with strangers over dinner - especially if they're couples who are also going away for alone time. The honesty bar is a nice touch and the food is good. Sean and Tracy were great hosts.

I stayed in room 6 which had its own patio and an attached conservatory which meant I was able to leave my dogs in the room with access to the conservatory when I went for dinner. The room was well furnished (some items looked new) although the bath does need some attention. There was a fan in the room, however I recommend the owners look at installing air-conditioning. It was quite hot during the night and I would have preferred to cool the room down before sleeping.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I cannot make up my mind about this place. if I were an upmarket backpacker i.e. want better than hostels it would probably be perfect. Dolly, who is charming, made it quite clear however they were aiming higher than that, in which case they need a serious rethink for what is a converted cow shed. There were positives but many negatives.First of all make sure that you arrive in the light. We did not and as well as being dark it was wet and misty.This is itself was not a problem but the last part of the journey is down an unmade road followed by a single lane track.We lost the car and driving along this road even in the light after the rain was an endurance test. On arrival it was like something out of 'The Shining'. The name above the door was not Mountain Retreat and, from the instructions, which in fairness were provided by the operator, we were not sure we had come to the right place. There was no one around or at reception and so we left again. On it becoming clear this must be the right place we went in again.Still no one at reception ( ok not the type of place which would cover reception 7/24) so we had to walk through the place looking for someone. We found a chef and waitress in the dining room who confirmed we had come to the right place but did nothing to make us feel welcome or make it obvious someone would come and help us.Eventually Dolly appeared and we were given our rooms. Unusually for us we did not check each other's rooms out as we were tired and hungry. We were sat down and assured by Dolly that food would be served at table. We sat there and chef stood there silently- food in front of him and not us. Dolly came back and a most unseemly argument took place in front of us as chef had decided we should go to the food and had put this on the board ( we had not seen that) and had we been employed by me he would have been sacked there and then for his rudeness to his boss. We were perfectly happy to go and get our own food and the food throughout was delicious. The honesty bar was reasonable and worked well. The ability to make fresh coffee and fresh biscuits available through out the day was a nice touch.There was no apology to us as guests for the scene between chef and boss. Our room was very spacious and clean but toiletries were not replenished once during our 4 night stay.The room was also cold. It became clear that our room was the one shown on the website ( one reason why I agreed the recommendation to go here) and when we saw fellow travellers room the next day there was a big difference. Their room was very cold and lacking decent seating ( we had a 3 piece suite) Their bathroom was not comfortable and the whole ambience was down market and shabby. They were moved when asked however.The public areas were comfortable with oven fires and provision of games was a good idea and well used.The location of the hotel - apart from the track- was not as convenient as we had been led to believe by the operator so distances were greater than we had thought so we had to replan.Dolly did not appear that knowledgeable about the area and it was only when Shaun came back from a break 2 days later that we got any decent input - he was excellent. I would probably consider returning here with a different set of friends with the aim of walking in the immediate area. It was not,however, more than a good base for walking or for any other kind of holiday.

Room Tip: Room 1 seemed the best but all have good views and a tin roof so do not expect to sleep in the rain
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packyderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This place is beautiful. We stayed here in Oct 2004 as a group and had our own private chalets between about 4 per chalet. The staff were incredible and really went out of their way to make us feel at home. They did water sports and other activities with people there and children but we went on hikes through the Drakensberg mountains and then spent our evenings here. We were only here for a few nights and it was certainly not lon enough! I think about this wonderful place a lot and hope to return one day. The food and drink was great and the atmosphere and setting was idyllic. Wild ponies and their foals wandered outside our chalet at dawn and dusk by the lake! You couldn't imagine anything more perfect. It was quiet and peaceful but you could still have lots of fun. A beautiful place with lovely staff. A hidden gem :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belle2987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
11.5 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
236 reviews
9.1 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
474 reviews
5.1 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
142 reviews
27.0 mi away
Mount Everest Game Farm
Mount Everest Game Farm
#3 of 9 in Harrismith
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Mountain Retreat - Vergezient Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Mountain Retreat - Vergezient Lodge

Property: Drakensberg Mountain Retreat - Vergezient Lodge
Address: PO Box 853, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Harrismith
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing