We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of De Oude Huize Yard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Oude Huize Yard
Ranked #1 of 20 Harrismith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were three weary travellers when we arrived at De Oude Huize, having been on an overnight flight from England. We were warmly greeted by Hennie and Sandra, a bottle of chilled white wine was produced for us, which was gratefully received.
The Oude Huize is like no other place we have stayed. It is filled with interesting antiques and around every corner there is a surprise. Very comfortable beds, pillows and rooms.
Sandra's food is fantastic and the tables are laid with a different theme for dinner and breakfast - old LP's for placemats at breakfast for instance.
Hennie's tour in his old Chevrolet is very interesting.
Cannot recommend this B&B enough, it is a must if you want to break your journey. Would love to think we might visit again sometime.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Penny
Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your time and wonderful words.
May you have a wonder year and we hope to see you again.
Regards
Hennie & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 254 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Few people think of Harrismith as a destination. It’s more often a waypoint for travellers between Gauteng and KZN or the Eastern Cape. And for those folks De Oude Huize makes a great stopover. But I recommend spending more than just one night there. There are lots of attractions in the area, once you get off the main highway. And the B&B itself is worth the trip. It’s almost like staying in a museum, with lots of antiques in a renovated structure dating back to 1860. Your hosts, Hennie and Sandra, could not be more attentive or friendly. They serve a delicious breakfast (including excellent coffee, a rarity in this country), and offer optional dinners (which we did not try because we were busy enjoying ourselves at Sterkfontein Dam). This establishment is a real find!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Phil
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words.
We hope that you, Colin, Kim and the kids had a safe journey back.
May you have a wonderful and blessed 2014.
Regards
Hennie & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and i needed a break after a long year and wanted to spend some quiet time alone and in comfort, so decided to do a stopover in Harrismith on our way back from hectic Ballito. We felt like we were invited into a family home! The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. The Decor is warm and welcoming, making you feel at home.
The breakfast and coffee were excellent and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessievaneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Jessie
Thank you for spending time to write a review for De Oude Huize. We hope to see you again in the future. May you have a wonderful 2014.
Hennie & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

There you have it! There is after all a reason to visit or stop over in the sleepy-hollow town of Harrismith. Apart from all the different denominations of churches, the deteriorating roads and the beautiful municipal building in the main road....

De Oude Huize is not your ordinary B & B. It is a unique experience you will never forget. Hosts, Hennie and Sandra make you feel as if you have come home and that you would like to stay forever. Sandra and her amazing team of local ladies prepare the most amazing food - best in Harrismith and vicinity. The attention to detail, unique interior and the spotless rooms, confirm that Hennie and his team care about your experience. Not only will you be treated like royalty, you will also be entertained by the raconteur, Sandra. Hennie's awesome coffee will also ensure that you stay awake for the best part of your trip!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulublulub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Lulu
Thanks for your wonderful review for De Oude Huize and for our town. We appreciate the time that you put into writing a review. We hope to see you again
Many blessings for 2014
Hennie & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

After traveling for nearly two days from Boulder, CO to South Africa we felt we had died and gone to heaven when we arrived at De Oude Huize. Although it was a bit of a drive from Joburg to get to Harrismith, it was wonderful to be out of the city and on our way to the Drakensburg. The six of us (three couples) were given our choices of rooms and immediately settled in for afternoon naps. We had arranged to have dinner at the B&B which was a brilliant idea – we didn’t have to go anywhere! We spent three weeks touring SA, but the meal we had that night was absolutely one of the best we had on our entire trip. Our hosts were genial and informative and made us feel as though we were honored guests. The rooms are all interesting with fascinating antiques and nice amenities. Very comfortable beds, lots of hot water and quiet sleeping. I can’t imagine there is a better place in the vicinity to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BldrRvrGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Beverly
What a wonderful review. Thank you for your time to write a review for De Oude Huize. We hope to see you again when visiting our country. '
Blessings for 2014
Hennie & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We absolutely adored the style of this B&B the food was fantastic, the room spotless and was a peaceful breakaway from the busy life in Johannesburg. Hennie and Sandra were very friendly and accommodating would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a breakaway to a unique and peaceful place look forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Koos and Daniela
It was wonderful of you to stay at De Oude Huize. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and the time spend to write is.
May you have a wonderful 2014.
Love
Hennie & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent stay at this B&B in Harrismith. They also do evening meals which we can highly recommend. The hosts were excellent in every way and provided all the information we required.

we would certainly stay here again if we were visiting this area and had a wonderful day trip to the Golden gate National Park which is nearby.

Harrismith is also a nice town to have a wander around.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bostonengland_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you once again for staying at De Oude Huize but most of all thank you for your wonderful review! May you have a wonderful 2014 and hope to see you on your next trip to South Africa.
Love Hennie & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrismith hotels
3.1 mi away
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Harrismith
83 reviews
2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose
0 mi away
Mountainview Inn
Mountainview Inn
#7 of 20 in Harrismith
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Village Lodge Harrismith
#10 of 20 in Harrismith
1 reviews
18 mi away
Wild Horses Lodge
Wild Horses Lodge
#1 of 9 in Harrismith
166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riverview Country Inn
Riverview Country Inn
#8 of 20 in Harrismith
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Huize Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Huize Yard

Address: 17 A Stuart Street | Eastern Free State, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Harrismith
Price Range: $107 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Oude Huize Yard is situated in a 150 year old building. It overlooks Platberg Mountain and is with-in easy access from the N3 and N5 highways. We are en-route between Johannesburg - or Thambo airport - and the Drakensberg. The house has been restored to its former glory and we offer a distinct olde world feel and hospitality. If you are looking for something different De Oude Huize Yard is for you. It's the place where time is standing still.We offer accommodation with a difference. Our furniture is historical - each with their own story but with modern amenities. We offer fire-places in the rooms, origan pine floors with the smell of wood, Sussex bath with soaps and pampers, toweling gowns, lots of books and chess set. Our rooms are en-suite with bath and separate shower. The suites do have private entrances. The stoep is equipped with Morris chairs for bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Oude Huize Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing