We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of De Oude Huize Yard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Oude Huize Yard
Ranked #1 of 20 Harrismith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hennie and Sandra welcomed us into their beautiful home after a horrible day on the road (11hour road trip covering a mere 400km due to two major accidents on the N3 north). Their warmth, sympathy and friendly faces were all we needed, but Sandra cooked us a gourmet meal with delicious desert and their company made me feel like we were staying over with old family friends. Absolutely loved the little extra something special given to every guest (little gifts and lovely teas and body washes to take home). Something that impressed me even more, was their "green" attitude with most of their electrical appliances being eco-friendly and energy saving, as well as the recycling of all organic waste! It was such an awesome experience that I am recommending this a must-stop when passing by... Very easy to find (close to highway) and such a pleasure!!

Room Tip: Just book in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica_Burger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thanks you for spending time at our establishment but most of all thank you for sharing your experience. Hennie & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had been hearing from friends about De Oude Huize Yard and finally had a chance to stay there myself. Such a lovely and unique experience. Hennie and Sandra are so welcoming they feel like family, the furnishings and decor are beautiful and meals were absolutely delicious. The gracious old building and grounds, and the warm hospitality will leave you wishing you could stay just one more day, and then another after that. Plenty to do and see in the vicinity, too, especially for those who like antique stores, hiking or relaxing in a lovely spot to read or chat. Do not miss De Oude Huize Yard -- you'll be telling all your friends about this place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Michelle
We can only say thank you. Wonderful to have had you staying at our establishment. Hope to see you before you move in December.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

So glad that we decided to stop off in Harrismith for the night on our way from Durban to Johannesburg. After a tiring drive with loads of trucks on the road (the transport strike having just ended) and heavy hearts ( as it was our last night in South Africa) we were welcomed into this haven from the past. Hennie and Sandra are exceptional hosts and went out of their way to lift our spirits and refresh us. The food was wonderful, the service special and the ambiance otherworldly. I can highly recommend this home from home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We can only say thank you that you have stayed at our establishment. We hope that you will be happy in Canada and that the first winter will be kind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wow!!! What an exceptional great stay and splendid time we had at De Oude Huize Yard, the owners, Hennie and Sandra, are such warm and friendly people and amazing hosts!! We highly recommend a stay at De Oude Huize Yard, it is a definite must see! All the beautiful and antique things make it even more special and we will definitely return again!! Well done and thank you so much for sharing it with us! Lots of love, Jan & Bernice Potgieter

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan_Bernice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Manager at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Bernice and Jan
Thank you taking the time to write the review and it was wonderful to have you here
Love
De Oude Huize

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Real South African Hospitality! Not only does the establishment feel like we are back in time, the hospitality feels like it did in the days when hosts were still interested in people.
Also very special having the owners preparing and serving the food. We felt like kings!

Room Tip: Our outside room, had it's own door to the stoep which will be handy for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write this review. It was great to have you here.
Regards
De Oude Huize

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

De Oude Huize gave us the comfort we needed after an exhausing day. Highly recommended to everybody, beautiful " old house style" and most friendly and caring owners. We loooove them! Reception was warm and welcoming, although it was already dark when we got there. Lamps were burning on the outside of the house on the grass, and created a atmosphere of calmness.The next morning an upper class breakfast was served, afterwards we were allowed to take pictures of the Guest house. The garden is lovely and surely something to be proud of.

Room Tip: Room to the East side, nice and warm in the evening with fire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanneilombard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thanks for your kind words and review. It is much appreciated. Hope that you are all keeping well.
Regards Hennie & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I decided to break the drive back from Durban to Jo'burg with a overnight stay. Harrismith seemed like the perfect spot and when I saw the reviews for De Oude Huize I knew it had to be worth visiting. It was a fantastic stop-off and my camera is full of photos and memories from the 24 hours I spent there. The rooms are uniquely and beautifully decorated, and the whole place is full of the detailed metalwork of Hennie. They were not able to serve dinner in the evening, however they recommended a local restaurant in town that was absolutely delicious. Breakfast in De Oude Huize was again first-class, and I was then given a tour of the historical buildings of Harrismith in a vintage Chevrolet. I have mentioned place to everyone I have spoken to about my time in South Africa and I hope to return myself one day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richy_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Wonderful to have you visiting our establishment. Thanks for your effort and writing a review. It is much appreciated.
Hennie & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrismith hotels
3.1 mi away
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
#2 of 20 in Harrismith
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose
0.0 mi away
Mountainview Inn
Mountainview Inn
#7 of 20 in Harrismith
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Wild Horses Lodge
Wild Horses Lodge
#1 of 9 in Harrismith
161 reviews
17.1 mi away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
1.5 mi away
Riverview Country Inn
Riverview Country Inn
#8 of 20 in Harrismith
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Huize Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Huize Yard

Address: 17 A Stuart Street | Eastern Free State, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Harrismith
Price Range: $92 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Oude Huize Yard is situated in a 150 year old building. It overlooks Platberg Mountain and is with-in easy access from the N3 and N5 highways. We are en-route between Johannesburg - or Thambo airport - and the Drakensberg. The house has been restored to its former glory and we offer a distinct olde world feel and hospitality. If you are looking for something different De Oude Huize Yard is for you. It's the place where time is standing still.We offer accommodation with a difference. Our furniture is historical - each with their own story but with modern amenities. We offer fire-places in the rooms, origan pine floors with the smell of wood, Sussex bath with soaps and pampers, toweling gowns, lots of books and chess set. Our rooms are en-suite with bath and separate shower. The suites do have private entrances. The stoep is equipped with Morris chairs for bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Oude Huize Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing