We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Oude Huize Yard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Oude Huize Yard
Ranked #1 of 18 Harrismith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Teaticket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

A quick stay over was transformed into one of best accomodation experiences of our trip. The hosts were gracious and hospitable. The room was a lovely time piece and transported you to bygone times. Delicious dinner with a yummy apple pie to end the evening.
Wonderful job

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelzaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
129
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at De Oude Huize Guesthouse on our way to the Drakensberg Mountains. I have to say that our night here was one of the highlights of our 3 weeks in South Africa! From the moment that we were welcomed by Hennie & Sandra, we fell in love with this charming House, it's character and it's beautifully decorated rooms.
We enjoyed a magical evening on the Stoep, with a bottle of wonderful Oude Huize Yard Vrede & Lust Bordeux Blend, watching the Lightning Storms around Harrismith.
Set in a beautiful Garden, with a stunning view of the Platberg, we were fascinated by all of the Birdlife!
Hennie & Sandra are the perfect Hosts, their breakfast was absolutely delicious, and our only sadness was that we were only staying for one night! We will be sure to stay over again, hopefully for longer!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soutietye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

on our way to KZN for a holiday we stayed at the De Oude Huize for the night. Our room was so comfy we didnt want to leave the next morning.

the breakfast was super and we were spoilt by being given a bottle of home made marmelade.... i would recomend any one going through Harrismith to make it fun and stop by the De Oude Huize Guest house!

Room Tip: all the rooms are super, very ecleptic and fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandymousegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thanks for staying and going the extra mile to write this report.
Hennie & Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We loved it at De Oude Huize Harrismith. Hennie really made us feel welcome and we enjoyed his informative discussions about the town and history. Rooms were exactly as shown on their website, so no surprises there. Be sure to book their 3 course dinner. It was delicious. Proper provision for the cold winter nights were made with an inroom fireplace and electric blankets. We hope to be back in future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBKSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

This is definitely one place in South Africa where you will experience the best service, the best food and rooms with an unbelievable atmosphere!
I have never experienced such professional yet homely guest house!
Every room was unique and very comfortable.
Hennie and Sandra really went the extra mile to make you feel at home and very special!
We even enjoyed the local carnival.
We just loved the experience of staying over and definitely made new friends for life.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyYsbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deoudehuize, Owner at De Oude Huize Yard, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Hi Ysbeer
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is much appreciated.
Kind regards
Hennie & Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
3.0 mi away
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Harrismith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
11.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose
7.3 mi away
Mount Everest Guest Farm
Mount Everest Guest Farm
#3 of 9 in Harrismith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Oaklands Country Manor
Oaklands Country Manor
#1 of 5 in Van Reenen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverview Country Inn
Riverview Country Inn
#12 of 18 in Harrismith
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
18.0 mi away
Wild Horses Lodge
Wild Horses Lodge
#1 of 9 in Harrismith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Huize Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Huize Yard

Property: De Oude Huize Yard
Address: 17 A Stuart Street | Eastern Free State, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Harrismith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Oude Huize Yard is situated in a 150 year old building. It overlooks Platberg Mountain and is with-in easy access from the N3 and N5 highways. We are en-route between Johannesburg - or Thambo airport - and the Drakensberg. The house has been restored to its former glory and we offer a distinct olde world feel and hospitality. If you are looking for something different De Oude Huize Yard is for you. It's the place where time is standing still.We offer accommodation with a difference. Our furniture is historical - each with their own story but with modern amenities. We offer fire-places in the rooms, origan pine floors with the smell of wood, Sussex bath with soaps and pampers, toweling gowns, lots of books and chess set. Our rooms are en-suite with bath and separate shower. The suites do have private entrances. The stoep is equipped with Morris chairs for bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your De Oude Huize Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing