We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Croydon
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We embarked on a week long trip to Gore for the SIPST Cricket tournament and stayed at the Croydon with a group of 12 players and 6 supporters. Our thanks to the team at the Croydon, the staff were always there to help and involve themselves with the lads and we appreciated all of the assistance they provided. Special mention to the management team who provided pool tables and table tennis tables that were a god send when we were unable to play due to rain. In all it was a fantastic stay and our thanks to the team at the Croydon who made it even better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We really enjoyed hosting you guys, I must make mention to all the teams that came through the hotel, I found all the children to be well behaved and very well mannered they were a credit to all the coaches and parents involved.
We hope to see you all again.

Thanks

Mathew Brettell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    39
    19
    10
    2
See reviews for
20
20
3
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Thank you Matthew and the team for Otago country primary cricket's week stay for the tournament. The food was great and the effort you made with the activities was appreciated. All parents and boys had a great week and you contributed in a big way to our team winning the tournament. Ate well, slept well. thank you again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your kind comments, it was a pleasure hosting you and all the other teams involved with the cricket.
Well done for winning.

Cheers

Mathew Brettell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were a sports team and families dining at the hotel nightly. Our numbers fluctuated daily and sometimes with late notice, but this was never a problem. They served great food, generous portions, which were reasonably priced and the service was sensational. The bathrooms, and decor in the main foyer and dining area were lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Bec S,
Thank you for the nice comments, we really enjoyed helping to host the cricket tournament, it was a shame the weather wasn't the best but you guys did manage a few days play.
Don't be a stranger.

Many Thanks

Mathew Brettell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed High Tea and bubbles here late one sunny afternoon to celebrate a friend's birthday. Table was set up beautifully with adorable vintage crockery. Lovely garden view. Charming service. We had a great time and will definitely be back to do it again soon :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kayla_Kean_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Kayla,
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, the high teas are great, it is pure indulgence with great service and a little bit of what you fancy.
We hope we see you again.

All the best

Mathew Brettell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This motel was just "okay". We were late to book in - called in on the day - so there may be better rooms available. We got a 1 bedroom studio. We had to put the 3 year old in double bed in the bedroom and baby in portacot beside him, and us adults in single beds in lounge. Portacot didn't have a mattress, so baby who usually sleeps well was wanting out by 4:30am even though I had tried to pad it with a duvet underneath the sheet. No facilities for families - such as a microwave or toaster, though service was very helpful and they gave us a toaster for the night (but only because their restaurant & room service wouldn't be running - it was New Year's Day. No kitchen facilities - dishes in the bathroom. Generally it was fine but not suited to a family and pretty highly priced for something pretty old fashioned and simple. Nice products in bathroom and fluffy towels though and again, the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymaker282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Holidaymaker 282,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, it is always good to get feedback from the most important people (our guests).
Yes unfortunately the restaurant was closed due to the time of year in this region, it was nice to hear that the staff were able to offer you an alternative.
The misconception here is that were are a motel but in fact we are a hotel and don't offer cooking facilities, however we are always happy to try and cater the guests needs and are always happy to offer a toaster, cutlery, bowls etc (microwaves are a little trickier).
I have spoken with housekeeping about the portacot and they are aware that it needs a mattress.
It is always nice to recieve positive feedback about the staff and the service so thank you for that.
Hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Mathew Brettell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The room was OK, a bit dated but acceptable. Small TV for such a large room. We had a smaller room in a hotel we stayed in Dunedin with a decent size TV. The place was clean and tidy and had all the info you need.
The restaurant was nice and appeared up market, as did the prices. The evening meal was well presented and tasted fine but very over priced when I compare them to similar establishments. The service was very slow, but I suspect that was because there was a function in the other room. We were asked to wait in the bar area before being seated for our meal. This was fine but no one wanted to come and take our drink order!!!!! The breakfast menu prices are ridiculous. $19 for a continental breakfast!!!!!!!!!!! Needless to say we went into town and found a nice café that served toast etc and fabulous coffee for $10

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaybee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi Jaybee47,
Thanks for the feedback, we are constantly reviewing what we do, how we do it and also what the guest expects, so this review as all reviews has been very helpfull, so again thankyou.
From a cost point of view we have been very carefull not to overprice and keep within our business guidelines but also be competetive with other restaurants similar to ours.
Even though our full continental (which is all you can eat) is $19 we do also offer Tea/Coffee toast and preserves on our breakfast menu for $8.50 p.p.
Hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Mathew Brettell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Room was dated, bathroom had been upgraded, restaurant etc looks great and meals were enjoyable. Staff were friendly, reception also offered us a different room if we wished as she explained there was a wedding on and guests going back to their rooms may be noisy. But all was fine. Bed was a bit hard for our liking though. Enjoyed the fact that you could have a choice of meal/bar areas. Have done a great job with dining area and look forward to the rest of the upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Vicki T,
Thanks for taking the time to review the Hotel, all feedback is greatly recieved.
I am glad the staff took the time to ensure you had a quiet room away from the wedding. The Hotel is looking great as you have mentioned and we can't wait for the next phase of the refurb programme.

The team looks forward to hosting you again.

Kindest Regards
Mathew Brettell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gore hotels
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverlea Motel
Riverlea Motel
#3 of 5 in Gore
34 reviews
2.1 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#4 of 5 in Gore
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Reservation B & B
1.6 mi away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Croydon

Property: Heartland Hotel Croydon
Address: 100 Waimea Street | Croydon, Gore 9776, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Croydon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartland Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing