We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Guitar Awards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Croydon
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I organized a tour of 15 friends from Tauranga to attend the Gold Guitar Awards this year. I have stayed at this hotel on previous occasions. It is conveniently situated just a few minutes from town. We stayed in the separate wing of rooms across the carpark. The rooms were warm & clean, & the coffee making facilities & fridge were a bonus. The main restaurant provided a comprehensive menu & the breakfasts were superb. We enjoyed socializing in the pub bar, the meals & drinks were reasonably priced, & Melissa is a great barmaid. Nothing was too much trouble, from setting up a table for us all to catering to our requests for the meals. Enjoyed chatting with the locals there too.The refurbishment is looking magnificent. But my lasting impression of this hotel each time I have stayed is the outstanding friendliness & professionalism of Mathew & his staff. It's like being part of a big family & I appreciate that so much. We'll be back next year. Sharon Mc

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hi Sharon,
Thank you so much for your kind words, I can honestly say it was a pleasure hosting your group and we all look forward to hosting your group next year and many after that.

Kindest Regards

Mathew Brettell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 119 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

On Queens Birthday weekend 16 of us from Tauranga stayed at this hotel for the Gold Guitar Awards, we found our rooms very warm, clean and tidy and were serviced each day, the beds were very comfortable.
The restaurant offered a really nice breakfast menu and the new decor is very nicely done. The meals in the pub bar were very popular and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, we were made to feel very welcome and look forward to going back again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Hi Carolyn,
Thank you for kind comments, I am really happy you had a good time and do hope to see you next year for Gold Guitars.
I will pass on your comments to the staff.

Kind Regards

Mathew Brettell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Well appointed rooms and although dated very clean and tidy.Radiators in bedroom/lounge and bathroom maintained a cosy heat to the point of having to turn down or off at times.What a luxury.Lovely rural view and onsite restaurant reachable from first floor linkway from rooms.Food and service top notch which a lot of other hotels could learn from that small things done really well is all it takes.Have re booked for next year.

Room Tip: Were not affected by traffic noise with our room outlook onto gardens and state highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonJames08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thanks for the nice comments, our restaurant has been newly refurbed and with this we have had a strong focus on both our food and service so again thanks for the comments. We are in the process of a full hotel upgrade so look out.
It was a great weekend in Gore with The Gold Guitars, everyone was in good spirits and the whole event was a great success.
See you next year.

Mathew Brettell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were driving from Queenstown and it was raining quite hard when we found this great hotel in the town of Gore. The room was clean, neat and tidy. We had a bedroom with a queen bed and another room with 3 twin beds and small frig, coffee maker. The pub had a little casino and great food. Very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We always check the shower and bathooms first and if they are clean, we will stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey4405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thanks for your kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us here.
take care and enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Mathew Brettell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Another great stay at Heartland Hotel Croyden in Gore. Love the professional, friendly service and the very warm rooms. Food is also fabulous. Thanks very much to the team at Heartland Hotel Croyden! Their conference room is also great for training & presenting purposes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyScottNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hi Amy,
Thanks for your kind comments, we always try to make our guests feel welcome down here in Eastern Southland.
Hope to see you again.

Mathew Brettell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great staff, very helpful and professional. Rooms were spacious enough with good views to rural scene. However decor is dated and bathrooms in need of a freshen up, especially the shower which has mould in the silicone along joins and shower heads which are fixed. Beds were comfortable but thought it a little odd that the sheets did not fit the bed in that they only reached the top of the mattress at the top. The only sink available to fill the jug was the bathroom basin and not an easy task at that. This is the first hotel we have ever stayed in which makes toast that is as good as home, no soggy just warm bread here, we got real toast. Its the small things that make all the difference.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fidget8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2015

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we do hope to see you again.

Regards

Mathew Brettell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The website sight says 'stylish rooms' we stayed in the motel rooms which were very dated, probably original from 1960, there was no facility to fill the jug except from the bathroom sink,which was no easy task to get the jug under!! If someone was in the bathroom there was nowhere to was hands after being at the toilet.

There wasn't even a bowl to eat some cereal from, let alone a toaster.

Room Tip: end rooms no sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2015

Dear Liz J,
Thank you for taking the time to review us, I have taken your comments on board and will also pass them onto the staff and owners.

Kindest Regards

Mathew Brettell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gore hotels
0.9 mi away
Riverlea Motel
Riverlea Motel
#3 of 5 in Gore
35 reviews
1.3 mi away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
47 reviews
2.1 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#4 of 5 in Gore
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Reservation B & B
1.6 mi away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Croydon

Address: 100 Waimea Street | Croydon, Gore 9776, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Price Range: $95 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Croydon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartland Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing