We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to Stay”
Review of Riverlea Motel

Riverlea Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverlea Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at these motels when in town recently for a family occasion .We were met By Marion who is very friendly and welcoming our unit was very tidy and clean with a very comfortalbe bed .
If we go back to stay in Gore, we certainly will stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChppLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 35 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed three nights for a combined business and pleasure trip. My husband and I found our stay enhanced by Marian's friendliness and helpfulness.
The continental breakfasts were delivered to our room the night before and the relevant items put in the fridge if we weren't there.
We had a one bedroom unit. The rooms were big and well equipped. I thought the make-up remover with the other standard toiletries a good idea.
In the kitchen I particularly liked the addition of the orange squash fruit mix packets in with the tea and coffee sachets.
Although the one wall heater in the lounge looked small it quickly headed up both the lounge and bedroom and we found we did not need any heating on at all during the nights.
The motel is in walking distance to quite a few eating places. We also found many places of interest we did not expect to find in a town of this size.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon1969_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a good one!
We arrived late into the night and we still welcomed by the staff and escorted to our rooms, which has plenty of space and were very very clean
June in Gore generally isn't very warm, but the heater in the unit had been turned on before we got there. In the morning I turned the heater off, but again when we returned later that afternoon it had been turned on again and the room was nice and warm for the evening. Thank you!!
Plenty of hot water for showering and reasonably priced laundry facilities as well.
Well done to all those responsible for the Riverlea Motel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fwombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very clean and tidy. And the staff were amazingly friendly. Rebooked for Queens Birthday Weekend 2013

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurtle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

After being checked in by a friendly pleasant host we were shown to a very clean and spacious studio unit. Everything you could wish for was available in the roomy kitchen area and the remainder of the unit continued this theme. Well appointed bathroom, living/bed area had room to spread out and an oh so comfy bed. Two things that really impressed Cleanliness, (not a speck of dust anywhere) and helpful friendly operators. Handy to shops etc. My choice as the place to stay in Gore and surrounds. Good luck to these fairly new proprietors.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YVONNE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I think one of the best extras a motel room can offer the traveller is sp-a-ce to relax and be comfortable. I hate small mingy rooms.

This place has sp-a-ce --a good lounge area with a well equipped kitchen, a seperate bedroom and bathroom. It was clean, light, neatly furnished and 130 bucks a night.

Also a friendly and helpful manager who I noticed took the trouble to seek feedback on the restuarant we'd been to, so she could keep abreast for recommendations.

Its on an attractive tree lined street, and I suspect its the closest motel to the town centre.

(It didn't look much from the street)

A word about Gore, a place which suprised me. I'd had the impression Gore was dullsville, but its actually a very pretty town. Amongst things to see is a very good public art gallery with a quite astonishing African collection, including huge wooden sculptures that are very imposing. Its in a building funded from the other side of the world by (this is true but hard to believe) - Andrew Carnegie,the old time Scots American tycoon. How or why I've no idea. Just one of those strange things you stumble across while travelling - from Carnegie Hall on Broadway, to a Carnegie building in Gore, New Zealand..

Room Tip: Unasked, they offered to show a room. It's always worth checking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Nice units with everything close and handy to walk to. The units were well presented. We used Gore as a base after flying in to Dunedin and then visiting relations in Lumsden, before travelling back to Dunedin.
Countdown and New World supermarkets in walking distance - and Liquorland just around the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gore hotels
0.9 mi away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
1.4 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#5 of 5 in Gore
23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
The Reservation B & B
0.2 mi away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverlea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverlea Motel

Address: 46-48 Hokonui Drive, Gore 9710, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Price Range: $101 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverlea Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 modern, apartment-style units close to the town center. Offering free WiFi. Clean comfortable units with good heating, internet and convenient, free off-street parking for buses, trucks or vans. Walking distance to restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Riverlea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing