We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlton Motel

Charlton Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charlton Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
481 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Superb Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Charlton was initially chosen because it was pet friendly, which on this occasion was necessary. It was also very conveniently located close to the A&P Grounds, which is where I was required to be for most of the day over a weekend. So, it is located a little outside of the town centre, but if staying here, you are most likely to have a vehicle anyway.
Welcome was very friendly, and informative regards local information. Room was spacious, and included some comfortable furnishings. Separate Kitchen and bathroom also added to an at home feel. If I had to be negative about anything, I would say the bed was a little too soft (for me).
Given the price we were charged, I did have to look again to make sure I was not paying more than being asked for. Absolute excellent value for money.
Already planning on a return trip next year, and Gore is usually a place I always avoid. That is how good it is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

It has been a long week and one more night away before heading home.. Stayed again at the Charlton. Really friendly and helpful. They have expresso machine in their reception now also. This time I stayed in the new units and very comfortable . Very warm. Everything you need. Great rates and book in advance asking for the new units if you can. Aquatic centre just down the road.

Room Tip: Ask for new units
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband & I spent 2 weeks at this motel, using it as a base for research we were doing locally for a book we are writing. The unit allocated to us was at the back and therefore quiet and safe for our small dog who was welcomed. The unit had a full stove with 4 rings & a very good full size oven, so we were able to cook for ourselves. It was also well equipped with kitchen utensils etc, a microwave, & a fridge. It snowed while we were staying and we asked for another heater as the wall mounted unit wasn't quite enough, but this was provided promptly and willingly. The bed was fantastically comfortable & the 3 single beds in the separate bedroom meant we could keep all our belongings well ordered. The hosts were pleasant and helpful at all times. We used the laundry facilities several times, for a small fee. Overall this was a terrific place to stay and we would recommend it highly to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beemull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Motueka, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had never stayed here before. It was cold and snowing, but the rooms were beautifully warm. Looked as if the units were recently or were keep done up. Very comfortable arm chairs to sit in while chilling out. Great electric blanket to keep us warm. Plus a good heater. Roomy separate kitchen with full stove and microwave & fridge. Very up todate bathroom.. When Fiona (part-owner) saw that we would have to go to the shops in a very big truck, Said, you come when ready and get the keys for the courtesy car. Truly appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We found the accommodation clean and comfortable, albeit dated. We used a double bed in the living area (with small kitchenette and table) but there was another room with 3 single bed in it which served to put our bags! It is out of town and not much is open in Gore on a Monday night so we ended up with a takeway pizza from a place a short drive down the road. The owners are really pleasant and reception includes a library of DVDs for loan so we enjoyed watching a film from the library.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased to get in a newer or renovated room. Nice furnishings, spacious and clean. Tv system ok but not digital in room so features and extras not availsble. It is a bit out of town but totally manageable if driving.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitsiraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Booked late so only had the older rooms available. This part of Motel is definately old but very spacious and acouple of minutes out of town which is quite good. Prebooking will get you the brand new rooms. 2 blocks away from the local sports complex / swimming pool. Nice stay.

Room Tip: Book early for the new units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gore hotels
2.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
1.9 mi away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Reservation B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Riverlea Motel
Riverlea Motel
#3 of 5 in Gore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Motel

Property: Charlton Motel
Address: 9 Charlton Road, Gore 9710, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlton Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Charlton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing