We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Gore B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Having travelled all over England, Scotland, and Australia I can honestly say this is the best. Diane & Barry are the perfect hosts and the accommodation and surrounds are just great. Breakfast is almost too much, though we didn't complain. Barry's knowledge of the rivers made our trip most memorable, while Diane was always ready to book restaurants for us. My wife is fairly new to dry fly fishing but Barry made sure she hooked into some great brown trout. We stayed for two weeks in December 2012 and have already re-booked for two weeks in March 2014 for my 70th birthday. Barry also ties the most beautiful size 16s & 18s flies which my failing eyesight can no longer do. Can't wait to get back. Stuart & Vicki Mckinnon, Khancoban,NSW.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Stuart and Vicki...we should be the ones saying thankyou! Flowers and a card on my birthday...bottle of port....you were wonderful guests to have stay with us and we are already looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 146 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Barry and Diane are wonderful hosts and they made us and the rest of the wedding party feel very comfortable and welcome in their home. The breakfasts were excellent and the beds very comfortable. The beautiful garden setting was an excellent site for pre-wedding photos and has given us some lovely memories. Thanks so much for being so accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thanks Rhonda. It was such a pleasure for us to have your family wedding group stay with us. One of our highlights so far!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Diane and Barry are such excellent hosts, incredibly accommodating to personal requirements (very much appreciated). They treat each guest as if they are family. By the time we left (we stayed two nights), we had an invitation to call in and see them whenever we are back in the area. Very comfortable rooms and separate living area for guests was very welcome. Breakfasts were divine (I don't remember when I ate that much at breakfast!) and I came away with a wonderful recipe for her home made muesli! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrysalis6nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thanks Chris...hope you are enjoying the muesli recipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Barry and Diane are great hosts and their B&B was an excellent choice for our stay while in Gore. The B&B is very conveniently located near town yet still quiet and peaceful. The breakfasts are excellent, as are the accommodations. Their warm hospitality extended well into the evening, and it was obvious they thoroughly enjoyed attending to their guests. No sooner had we left the South Island than we started our list of what we would do on our next visit, and we will be sure to include staying again with Barry and Diane. (Allan and Terry, California)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

It was great to have you stay with us Allan and Terry....will always remember our music nights with Cammo on guitar and Terry's beautiful singing voice. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I'm only sorry it took 3 years to return, this time with my wife. A warm welcome awaited us and our room was spotless and comfortable. Barry and Diane are excellent hosts and their local knowledge of cafes and restaurants invaluable. The highlight of course was the fishing and despite the ever-present gale force winds, Barry was always able to find a sheltered shore from which to coax a few brown trout. I'll be back later in the season!
Mike Hitchen, Melbourne.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGH1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Great to have you back Mike and so nice to meet Rosie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Home away from home is the best way that I can describe our stay with Barry and Diane. From the minute that we walked through the door we felt like we were family. From Diane's wonderful breakfast and hospitality to Barry's vast knowledge of the rivers and streams in the area there is no need to ever leave. Thanks to Barry's counseling, the fishing on the Mataura was awesome and that special snack that Diane packed for us to enjoy while we were fishing. Diane's "Healthy Cake" was wonderful.
I wish that there was a direct flight from Montana to Gore so that I could visit more often.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob59715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Direct flights from Montana to Gore would be brilliant...see what you can do Bob. Always great to have you and Judi to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you are visiting Gore, stay here...you won't regret it. The rooms, service and breakfasts were what you'd expect of a quality B & B and Barry and Diane are friendly and accommodating. Gore itself has good dining and is in an excellent location to see the southern part of NZ. Oh, and the fishing is pretty good too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveMarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane and Barry P, Owner at Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

The guitar playing wasn't too bad either...thanks for some great nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gore hotels
1.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
2.6 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#4 of 5 in Gore
23 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Reservation B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
47 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 86A Wentworth Street | Southland, Gore, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gore
Price Range: $88 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wentworth Heights luxury Bed & Breakfast / Homestay accommodation located in Gore, Southland, New Zealand, is only 2 minutes drive from the Mataura River - offering some of the best dry fly wild brown trout fishing in the world.Our excellent location makes Wentworth Heights Bed & Breakfast an ideal stopover between Dunedin & Te Anau. Queenstown, Fiordland, Invercargill and the beautiful unspoilt Catlins are all within a 1-2 hour drive. Our B & B / Homestay, featuring spectacular views of surrounding farmland, Hokonui Hills, Mataura River and Gore township, is situated on a 12 acre farmlet, with a few cattle, sheep and pet lambs in springtime - as mentioned in 'Rough Guide'. Diane and Barry welcome you to enjoy genuine Southern hospitality, or to make your stay as private as you wish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing