We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with great fishing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Gore B&B and Inns
Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place with great fishing”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

As a young couple from FL, we really enjoyed staying with Barry and Diane. They were great hosts and have a lovely house. The fishing was great. We caught plenty of trout to satisfy our desire and had a great time on the river with Barry. Barry was also nice enough to give us some additional fishing spots to check out on our onward journey from Gore. We loved the small town of Gore and hope to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
82
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Avoca NSW Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Diane and Barry operate a first class B & B and made us feel almost part of the family. The Mataura and other rivers in the area were superb fishing, choice of good quality restaurants in Gore and all this in a scenic setting. Barry's local knowledge and expert guiding put the icing on the cake. We will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is a very lovely bed & breakfast! Owners Diane & Barry were very warm & welcoming, and made us feel right at home from the minute we arrived. Diane prepared a very delicious breakfast. We highly recommend this charming accomodation in Gore.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed with Barry and Diane for a weeks fishing with a friend. Had a great week. The fishing, weather and company were perfect.The hosts could not be more welcoming or friendly . Hope to visit again soon

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Barry and Diane have a lovely house which they share in every respect most generously and warmly with their guests. It is quiet and has superb views. It is well organised and very user-friendly for every kind of visitor but particularly for fishermen, Barry being a brilliant and enthusiastic flyfishing guide. My friends and I keep on returning, and we should never think of going anywhere else in the region. Nothing is too much trouble for Barry and Diane, and their house is one in which you Immediately feel at home and can truly relax.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambesc, France
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We spent a very nice time in wentworth Heights. The rooms are very confortable and it is a very quiet place (no noise). Furthermore Barry and Diane can give you some suggestions for the restaurant in town. Sincerly it is a nice step for your trip in the South Island.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanzay/Boutonne France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We'd have loved to have stayed for longer but had sadly only programmed a one night stopover in Gore in our crazy "around South Island in 8 days" schedule.

Diane and Barry's warm welcome, comfortable home and the excellent restaurant in Gore (such a nice little town!) only served to tempt us to stay much longer next time. I'd love to have spent a day with Barry catching a famous NZ trout, but that's an excellent excuse for a return visit!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham and Cath... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gore hotels
1.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
2.8 mi away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Reservation B & B
2.6 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#4 of 5 in Gore
23 reviews
1.1 mi away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 86A Wentworth Street | Southland, Gore, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wentworth Heights luxury Bed & Breakfast / Homestay accommodation located in Gore, Southland, New Zealand, is only 2 minutes drive from the Mataura River - offering some of the best dry fly wild brown trout fishing in the world.Our excellent location makes Wentworth Heights Bed & Breakfast an ideal stopover between Dunedin & Te Anau. Queenstown, Fiordland, Invercargill and the beautiful unspoilt Catlins are all within a 1-2 hour drive. Our B & B / Homestay, featuring spectacular views of surrounding farmland, Hokonui Hills, Mataura River and Gore township, is situated on a 12 acre farmlet, with a few cattle, sheep and pet lambs in springtime - as mentioned in 'Rough Guide'. Diane and Barry welcome you to enjoy genuine Southern hospitality, or to make your stay as private as you wish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing