We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill and fish”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Gore B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Barry and Diane have a lovely house which they share in every respect most generously and warmly with their guests. It is quiet and has superb views. It is well organised and very user-friendly for every kind of visitor but particularly for fishermen, Barry being a brilliant and enthusiastic flyfishing guide. My friends and I keep on returning, and we should never think of going anywhere else in the region. Nothing is too much trouble for Barry and Diane, and their house is one in which you Immediately feel at home and can truly relax.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 144 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

We spent a very nice time in wentworth Heights. The rooms are very confortable and it is a very quiet place (no noise). Furthermore Barry and Diane can give you some suggestions for the restaurant in town. Sincerly it is a nice step for your trip in the South Island.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We'd have loved to have stayed for longer but had sadly only programmed a one night stopover in Gore in our crazy "around South Island in 8 days" schedule.

Diane and Barry's warm welcome, comfortable home and the excellent restaurant in Gore (such a nice little town!) only served to tempt us to stay much longer next time. I'd love to have spent a day with Barry catching a famous NZ trout, but that's an excellent excuse for a return visit!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham and Cath... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night as a nice half way point on our drive between Queenstown and Dunedin. We were given a very warm welcome by Barry and shown to our lovely ensuite bedroom. The house is very modern with plenty of off street parking and huge guest living room. We were able to check our emails free of charge on the guest laptop which was handy. Our hosts gave us some great recommendations for places to dine within Gore and helped with our onward travel arrangements. The breakfast that Diane cooked up went down a storm, I particularly have to mention the gooseberry jam - amazing! But my husband will vouch for the fabulous fry he ordered. As we had mainly stayed in hotels for our trip around NZ it was very refreshing to actually stay in a place were the hosts were so passionate about NZ and in providing a really great tourist experience. Would love to come back and stay longer this time!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wentworth Heights. Diane and Barry are first-rate hosts. The room was perfect, the bed was comfortable, the food was excellent, the fishing was incredible,and our hosts were friendly and caring. We enjoyed just hanging out and talking. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this B & B to anyone who wants to fish and stay in a nice place with friendly hosts! The town of Gore is very enjoyable to tour around in as well.

Room Tip: Quiet house and lots of privacy. Hot tub was enjoyable- we sat in it while gazing at sheep and beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 816Kellym24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were looking for a knowledgeable, skilled and patient fishing guide and accommodation with a comfortable bed, clean premises, a cosy lounge area for relaxing at day's end and friendly hosts. The Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast was perfect for our needs. We requested the four night accommodation three day fishing package and became the very happy guests of Barry and Diane. The Mataura River provided a beautiful setting with plenty of fish there for the catching under Barry's professional coaching. Diane's flair in the kitchen produced the energy sustaining breakfasts and lunches needed for each very full day of fishing. Their 'apres-fishing' drinks were a lovely way to end each day before dining out at Gore's very good restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoisCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Our best accidental discovery ... Barry and Diane's hospitality was wonderful, the room was great with a fantastic shower but the real treat was the "small breakfast".

Visit Gore just to stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gore hotels
1.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
2.6 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#4 of 5 in Gore
23 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Reservation B & B
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 86A Wentworth Street | Southland, Gore, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gore
Price Range: $84 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wentworth Heights luxury Bed & Breakfast / Homestay accommodation located in Gore, Southland, New Zealand, is only 2 minutes drive from the Mataura River - offering some of the best dry fly wild brown trout fishing in the world.Our excellent location makes Wentworth Heights Bed & Breakfast an ideal stopover between Dunedin & Te Anau. Queenstown, Fiordland, Invercargill and the beautiful unspoilt Catlins are all within a 1-2 hour drive. Our B & B / Homestay, featuring spectacular views of surrounding farmland, Hokonui Hills, Mataura River and Gore township, is situated on a 12 acre farmlet, with a few cattle, sheep and pet lambs in springtime - as mentioned in 'Rough Guide'. Diane and Barry welcome you to enjoy genuine Southern hospitality, or to make your stay as private as you wish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing