We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could not ask for a more comfortable B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Gore B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Diane and Barry Perkins are some of the most enjoyable hosts you will ever meet. They exhibit all that is great about the Kiwis. You will feel like one of the family in no time. The accommodations could not be better. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast menu will keep you going until dinner. I've stayed at Wentworth twice now and would not even consider another facility in the Gore area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moorebernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 144 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

Wentworth Heights is a great place for a fishing holiday in Gore, the self-proclaimed brown trout capital of the world. Clean, comfortable rooms, fine breakfast, and warm hospitality. Barry (owner) is a knowledgable fishing guide and former dairy farmer - he knows all the local farmers, enabling access to the best beats on the rivers.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Must say we received a a great welcome from Diana and Barry at Wentworth Heights.The accommodation was so comfortable and relaxing.
Nothing was too much trouble for Diane, we were welcomed with tea and cakes.
Breakfasts were delicious, with a choice.
So pleased we found this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purdidevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Barry and Diane could not be more gracious or attentive hosts. The rooms are new and spotless. In all respects, an excellent B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjlischerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed here in 3/11. We were greeted with open arms and hearts by the hosts. The home was exceptionally clean and very large with a completely separate den for guests with TV and internet access. The breakfast is huge even for the Continental. A full breakfast is also offered. The rooms were very private with private full baths. Barry is an excellent guide for flyfishing and spin fishing- THERE WAS EVEN A CURRENT ARTICLE IN FLYFISHING MAGAZINE ON HIM!! If you go to Gore and want to be treated like a king or queen - STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Very helpful advice, very high standard of service and attention, most notably taking the trouble to pick my wife up after she got lost walking back to the B&B. Excellent advice on what to do and where to go.Very pleasant accommodation and welcoming attitude - involving us as friends rather than as paying guests. Not to forget excellent fishing guiding, finding fish in impossible conditions (major rivers as coffee co loured spates and howling Gale)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Dianne and Barry are excellent hosts, catering to every need you may have and even some you didn't think of. Such as the personal touches of a cold jug of water with lemon and mint beside your bed at bedtime! Their hospitality is quiet and unobtrusive if that is what you need or they could spend time regaling you with fishing tales taken from Barry's first class fishing guiding expeditions. The rooms are impeccably clean and tastefully decorated, including a welcoming teddy bear on the bed for those softies among us. Breakfast are a feast and Dianne's scrambled eggs are legendary! I have stayed at Wentworth many times and I have yet to find any fault of any kind.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marielle38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gore hotels
1.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
2.6 mi away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#5 of 5 in Gore
23 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Reservation B & B
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 86A Wentworth Street | Southland, Gore, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gore
Price Range: $86 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wentworth Heights luxury Bed & Breakfast / Homestay accommodation located in Gore, Southland, New Zealand, is only 2 minutes drive from the Mataura River - offering some of the best dry fly wild brown trout fishing in the world.Our excellent location makes Wentworth Heights Bed & Breakfast an ideal stopover between Dunedin & Te Anau. Queenstown, Fiordland, Invercargill and the beautiful unspoilt Catlins are all within a 1-2 hour drive. Our B & B / Homestay, featuring spectacular views of surrounding farmland, Hokonui Hills, Mataura River and Gore township, is situated on a 12 acre farmlet, with a few cattle, sheep and pet lambs in springtime - as mentioned in 'Rough Guide'. Diane and Barry welcome you to enjoy genuine Southern hospitality, or to make your stay as private as you wish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing