We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but slightly pricey for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Camargue
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Le Grau-du-Roi
Certificate of Excellence
Sleaford, Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good but slightly pricey for what it is”
Reviewed August 12, 2009

On the plus side: overlooking the sea, friendly and helpful staff, fair sized rooms, good breakfast room

On the negative side: no parking at the hotel - you have to drive some few hundred yards away, poor bathrooms, pricey for what you get.

I suspect that the sea view rooms are a better bet if you are staying several nights here. The landside rooms are o.k. but with a very dark and not well ventilated bathroom. It's a good location but tricky when you arrive, no parking and with no stopping places to unload. Strange smell in the corridor at one point . More than adequate but slightly pricey for this standard. The hotel restaurant looks good but we did not try it beause it did not offer a vegeterian option.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSleaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    163
    49
    21
    10
See reviews for
91
212
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2009

This place does the job - clean rooms, good location and a great breakfast. There's good seafood and a humane bullfight around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaughnesy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R'dam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

We've been to this hotel in the lovely village of Le Grau du Roi, France.

The hotel is located at the boulevard, just pass the street and you're on the beach! Our room had seaside view, but I understand that not all rooms have this. In our case the room didn't have airconditioning but hotel management told us that this would be installed before next season. We didn't have such hot days (it was only april/may) but I can understand that this could be quite nice in summer.

Breakfast was excellent, personnel were very friendly and always helpful to give you some ideas about how to spend a day. For example visits to the nearby village of Aigues Mortes.

Conclusion, this was a very relaxing stay for a couple of days and we're certainly thinking of coming back to this very nice hotel.

  • Liked — Location, friendly personnel
  • Disliked — Parking space
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Boeie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

Splendid by name, splendid by experience. This is a lovely little hotel on the sea front in this pleasant fishing village cum seaside resort. From the balcony of a sea-facing room you have sweeping views from the port on the right to the mega-marina Port Camargue on the left. All receptionists are both very helpful and fully multilingual. Breakfasts (9 euros) are good, including cereals (though ask if you want cold milk!), egg, ham, cheese, yoghurt, fruit juice, plus the usual French breakfast.

Some rooms are air conditioned, although at the end of September this wasn't an issue. The town abounds with cheap restaurants with set menus starting at around 11 euros for a four course meal. Seafood is a speciality, and they do it really well. We particularly liked the St Pierre on the other side of town, near the Super U and fishing port.

Whilst in the area, also visit the Bastide of Aigues Mortes, with its medieval walls, and the Camargue visitor centre near Saintes Maries de la Mer, where you can overdose on flamingos. The Tiki III paddleboat also does a nice trip up the Petit Rhone.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nedsram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Grau-du-Roi hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Bains de Camargue
Hotel Les Bains de Camargue
#7 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
ResidHotel Le Mayflower
ResidHotel Le Mayflower
#12 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
105 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Oustau Camarguen
L'Oustau Camarguen
#1 of 4 in Port Camargue
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quai d'Azur
Hotel Quai d'Azur
#9 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Spinaker Hotel Lodge & Spa
Le Spinaker Hotel Lodge & Spa
#5 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Maray
Hotel Le Maray
#3 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Camargue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Camargue

Property: Hotel Splendid Camargue
Address: 21 boulevard du Marechal Juin | Rive Gauche, 30240, Le Grau-du-Roi, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Le Grau-du-Roi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Le Grau-du-Roi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid Camargue 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Camargue at the border of the Mediterranean in its picturesque Le Grau du Roi and the largest marina in Europe Port Camargue You will find the Splendid Hotel Camargue. Ideally located on the beach while staying in the city center. All the sea view rooms have a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HRS, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Splendid Camargue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing