We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Camargue
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Le Grau-du-Roi
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Splendid View”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved this hotel for many reasons. We stayed in a superior room on the 5th floor and had a 180 degree view of the sea for 8 glorious days. The room was spotless and the reception staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Parking our car on the street was a bit of a hassle for the first few days but it turned out that the hotel had some parking spaces available in their adjacent garage which saved us from running out twice a day to put money in the meter. There are plenty of restaurants within ready access of the hotel and a car is absolutely not needed once you get to Le-Grau-du-Roi. We took a combo of trains -- Thalys from Brussels and a TGV from Paris to Montpellier -- and rented a car to get there. We will definitely be back to take in that view again.

Room Tip: Room 501 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    166
    49
    21
    10
See reviews for
96
216
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Pleasant hotel very close to the sea. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel itself is quite basic but if you ask for a room with a sea view and a balcony, that should make up for the lack of luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view-no point staying here otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights second week of July 2012.
We had a three bed room facing the sea.
Sometimes the official hotel photos look better than real life but with this hotel, the room was exactly as on the pictures, the sea wiew was as good as shown on their website so no disappointments. The street between the hotel and the beach is of the narrow low-traffic kind so the traffic is not disturbing at all. The air conditioning works fine and the breakfast is very good for French standards, i.e. you can have a slightly healthier breakfast than croissants with jam.
What really stands out with this hotel however is the friendly and helpful staff.
I had never heard of Grau de roi before we went there, it's a typical holiday resort for ordinary people and certainly doesn't have the glamour factor of other Southern France cities, the pedestrian shopping street is very lively and what seemed like hundreds of restaurants in the town all competed with low price three course meals. Spend a little more than the cheapest and go for seafood. You get excellent fresh fish and seafood at bargain prices here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is located at the sea side, and when booking a room with sea view you get a perfect one. The beach is just in front of you! A great advantage is the neighbourhood of a wide variety of restaurants; all in walking distance. For us this was a perfect holiday hotel. During our say the were finishing the extension of the hotel. This gave some noice, but it did not gave us a bad feeling; the location was too good. Normally we want to come back. One downside: there is no parking location in the neighbourhood. Free parking spaces are available a +/- 400 m from the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea view are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Myself and my wife booked this for our honeymoon and were very impressed on arrival. The hotel was as it said it was, a 3 star.
The staff were very friendly and spoke english which was certainly a help initially. The rooms although basic were comfortable and with air con. The view for the first couple of days was excellent. However on the third day builders arrived and started diggings the beach up and moving sand from one area to another. This started at 730 in the morning which was a shock...

The hotel is also undergoing renovation in that they are extending it so there are builders on site drilling etc. It looks like they may be there for some time so it maybe worth enquiring with the hotel. It would have been nice for them to let us know before we arrived.

The buffet breakfast is 11 euros and is about average price wise and it is all you can eat and very fresh.

The local area is fantastic with lots of bars and restaurants and try some on the quayside for extremely fresh fish and shellfish.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the beach once the work on the beach has been completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We booked out of season for the cheaper rooms but changed to sea-view rooms (sunset over the beach!) when we arrived. The hotel entrance was clean, filled with tourist guides and local artisans products. Stafff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke French, English, German, Dutch and Spanish, giving excellent tips about horse-riding and restaurants in the area.
The rooms were large, the decor rather dated. However the beds were good and everything was spotlessly clean. . Breakfast was excellent in a room creatively filled with artifical plants- corny, but shiny and clean.

The down-side was parking, about 400 metres away, and very full even in the low season.
The discovery was the restaurant in the hotel...new, excellent service with delightful cuisine. Absolutely the best in the village!

Room Tip: If possible select beach view rooms on the upper floors. The lower floors might be very noisy in sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellessbonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Grau-du-Roi
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Bains de Camargue
Hotel Les Bains de Camargue
#7 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
ResidHotel Le Mayflower
ResidHotel Le Mayflower
#12 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
129 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Oustau Camarguen
L'Oustau Camarguen
#1 of 4 in Port Camargue
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#8 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quai d'Azur
Hotel Quai d'Azur
#10 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
159 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure La Grande Motte Port
Mercure La Grande Motte Port
#1 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Camargue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Camargue

Property: Hotel Splendid Camargue
Address: 21 boulevard du Marechal Juin | Rive Gauche, 30240, Le Grau-du-Roi, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Le Grau-du-Roi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Le Grau-du-Roi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid Camargue 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Camargue at the border of the Mediterranean in its picturesque Le Grau du Roi and the largest marina in Europe Port Camargue You will find the Splendid Hotel Camargue. Ideally located on the beach while staying in the city center. All the sea view rooms have a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Splendid Camargue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing