We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Les Bains de Camargue
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Le Grau-du-Roi
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, right on the beach”
Reviewed March 18, 2009

This is a good hotel, right on the beach, and with a mini-market right below. We booked a standard room with kingsize bed and ocean view. The beds were comfortable (including the fold up bed for our daughter) and the room clean, although not huge, but with the beach on your doorstep you won't be spending much time in there. The balcony had table and chairs, so we purchased delicious fresh croissants and bread etc from the mini-market downstairs and ate breakfast and lunch on our balcony over looking the sea. We ate dinner in the hotel the night we stayed, and I have to say it was pretty good, though not cheap.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touring3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    224
    128
    65
    26
See reviews for
100
304
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We should not have ignored the two reviews for this hotel. However, based on on what we thought would be a lovely location - right on the beach - it seemed a good base for our 3-day weekend. Probably easier to write about what we liked about this hotel - it sits on a lovely, clean sandy beach. That's it. We booked via Lastminute.com, upgrading to a delux, non-smoking room facing the beach & Med. We got an average room with a just a sliver of a beach view. Although the management ensured us it was non-smoking, the room smelled of smoke, and of course, the ash tray in the room gave it away. We like a firm bed, but this bed was like a rock, and both my husband and I woke up with sore backs. The staff were indifferent, the food awful, shocking by French standards, and we experienced no decent resturants within walking distance (don't be tempted to try the beach resturants on either side of the harbour) and the hotel spa facilities seemed very average. But to be fair, the look of the place did not persuade us to enjoy the facilities, so for all I know the spa could be simply marvelous. However, for those thinking that Le Grau du Roi is easily accessible from Montpellier or Arles, it's not. The "resort" is in the middle of nowhere. To add further insult, the staff tried to charge us on check-out for the room, which was already pre-paid via Lastminute.com. After 30 mins of "discussing" and showing them the lastminute receipts (hard-copy and online), the hotel finally agreed to not charge.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic_Vivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Le Grau-du-Roi hotels

Northampton, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Location is right on beach at end of marina road. So car is essential for getting around, but you need a car anyway in this part of France - it's not the Côte d'Azur with its excellent public transport.

One unusual aspect of the design of the hotel was the balcony / room size. Previous reviewer said the "the rooms were small" - of course, this opinion is relative, but if you look at photos of the hotel the balcony is small. However, the rooms go off at an angle to the balcony, giving, what was to us, a normal European sized room. The design objective is to give most of the hotel's rooms a sea view. A good, practical design, but it doesn't do the hotel any favours in the brochure.

Staff were excellent throughout the hotel, especially reception, and room service. Food was good over the four days we stayed there, breakfasts were above average, some dinner menu ingredients were below average ( i.e. poor quality lamb chops ), but the chefs did an excellent job in preparation and presentation. Our only real negative point was the staff in the restaurant, who worked liked crazy; there seems to be a race to clear tables; then setting for lunch at breakfast; then setting for breakfast at dinner.... Hang on to your belongings, food and wine - avoid leaving the table once you get one!

We didn't use the Thalassa Centre, so no comment on it.

Overall, a first rate, comfortable hotel. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Did everything to a good standard of comfort - everythig worked fine!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mel_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
2,055 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 879 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

10 days of Thalasso

Thalasso - limited services, compared to others we have been to. But friendly staff.

Services - Very friendly and efficient staff.

Room - Not good at all. Way too small and cold design. The hotel owners do not want to spend any money in renovation, probably. The hotel photo is totally misleading on Accor's website. The hotel looks isolated: in fact, it is in the middle of concrete!

Food - An amazing buffet on Sunday nights. The rest of the time, very good too.

The place - Boring. Nothing to see and to do in the city itself. But, you can hire a driver to visit the Camargue. The hotel can arrange that very well.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and sunday night diner
  • Disliked — very poor rooms and location
  • Tips/Secrets — visit the Camargue with a driver recommended by the reception
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sipivu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Grau-du-Roi
1.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid Camargue
Hotel Splendid Camargue
#4 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Oustau Camarguen
L'Oustau Camarguen
#1 of 4 in Port Camargue
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Spinaker Hotel Lodge & Spa
Le Spinaker Hotel Lodge & Spa
#5 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
ResidHotel Le Mayflower
ResidHotel Le Mayflower
#12 of 15 in Le Grau-du-Roi
105 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure La Grande Motte Port
Mercure La Grande Motte Port
#1 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
855 reviews
3.9 mi away
Novotel La Grande Motte Golf
Novotel La Grande Motte Golf
#4 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Bains de Camargue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Bains de Camargue

Property: Hotel Les Bains de Camargue
Address: Route des Marines, 30240, Le Grau-du-Roi, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Le Grau-du-Roi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Le Grau-du-Roi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Le Grau-du-Roi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Bains de Camargue 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 km from the centre of Le Grau du Roi looking across to the largest beach in the Camargue. The hotel features a restaurant and bar with panoramic views, meeting rooms, beauty salon, a shop and direct access to the thalassotherapy institute. A charge applies to access the fitness area after 6 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Les Bains de Camargue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Thalassa Port Camargue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing