We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic deck facing the ocean.”

Review of The Whippoorwill

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Pine Knoll Shores, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty, smelly and was awakened by a rat bite to my face”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2016

Found this place last minute due to fireworks idiocy burning our usual place. It was just covered in cat hair, so first order of business was to find the crappy vacuum and spend a couple of hours handling that (2 guests allergic to cats). AC in hot pool room only makes noise, no sink for downstairs toilet, wifi useless, floors made our soles black even though mopped them 4 times (dollar tree mop), outdoor house shower leaks and reeks of mildew. Arrived (not early) to BS from cleaners telling us they just finished steam cleaning the sofa* and other baloney, so thanks for the feedback that I must look stupid. This place has deep down dirt from many years of owner neglect that no occasional cleaning can manage. And then there's the rat that we reported Sunday morning and ended up biting me on the face at 11:30 pm Thursday. Sure explains the heavy cat hair, because that was a big rat. We were moved to another property. This property could be a star if given a complete overhaul.
*with no machine, cleaner scent, moisture, and heavy cat hair -- really?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Thank you for taking time during your stay to talk with our guest services team. I ask that you please give us a call to discuss any lingering concerns you have. With maritime forests, we have many native species that are certainly unwelcome in our beach homes. An incident like yours is statistically extremely rare yet we know it was devastating to you as it would be to anyone. I am so happy we could move you to another property, and I regret that this solution was not offered to you earlier in your stay. As you know, the items you mentioned were each reported to our housekeeping and maintenance departments as well as to the owner of The Whippoorwill so steps could be taken to block access points for pests, inspect cleaning accessories and replace as needed, and check plumbing in the outside shower and downstairs bathroom and make repairs as needed. Additionally, this home will be evaluated prior to our 2017 rental season to ensure it is clean and ready for guests.

We would welcome your return visit. Please give us a call to discuss how we will offer you VIP treatment if you give us a second chance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place is SERIOUSLY dated.”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Although the location of this place is very private, and literally right on the beach, it's not in the greatest condition. The pics are accurate, but there are many unseen issues you won't know about until you arrive.

When we walked in it smelled like mildew. The ceiling fan made significant noise when we turned it on, the wireless only worked in one room, and the door handles were covered in mildew on the outside. The railings all around the deck are weathered and loose - don't lean on them! The outdoor shower is not a pretty site. The kitchen is very small and cramped. Finally, they've locked off the rooftop deck and you can't even go up there. Everything in the house is just plain old. The place needs a serious rehab and is not worth the $3K per week we paid.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. While The Whippoorwill is an older property with a bronze rating, it does offer one of the best locations. I have forwarded your comments about it being dated to our refurbishment team so they can assess it and make recommendations for updates to the owner.

The decks of each of our properties are inspected regularly to ensure safety. This is something we take very seriously and I have asked that the deck at The Whippoorwill be inspected again with specific attention paid to the areas you described. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you as our guest again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pine Knoll Shores hotels

Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Thank you for your review of your stay at The Whippoorwill and for letting us know of items that need to be replaced or included for guests. I hope you enjoyed your time on the island and that you will come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
valparaiso
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VA
Reviewed September 13, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to provide this feedback. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Emerald Isle and I hope you will revisit soon. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next family vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Jersey
Reviewed August 22, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at The Whippoorwill. I'm so glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your Emerald Isle vacation while staying at this home. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation and we'll happily reserve The Whippoorwill for you again - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing