We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the Barracks”
Review of Campanile Lens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Lens
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lens
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beware of the Barracks”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived at this hotel on our way to Provence. We had high expectations having seen the pictures available. Unfortunately, our room was on the first floor of what can only be described as a Barrack Block. It gave the feeling of isolation in a strange place. Access to the rooms was at the back of the building up an external winding concrete staircase. Not easy to carry any luggage up to. Whilst the room was clean,the bathroom gave a feeling of being a bit grubby. That said, the hotel reception and restaurant was exceptionally nice being both bright and airy along with excellent food. Would I go back - Not a chance with rooms in a barrack block. It is only the reception and restaurant that allows me to give the score I have done

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    54
    24
    11
See reviews for
15
68
10
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely sparklingly clean room with everything working once they had worked out why the electricity was off (it took about an hour of frantic work!)
We stayed for three nights and were pleased with the breakfasts but bowled over by the helpful and pleasant staff in the evenings. The meals were well cooked to our specifications and where their English did not cover us, my (pitiful) French filled the gaps. Our first time using Campanile....NOT our last!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a very good stopover motel for the Battlefield traveller. It is basic, but very clean and tidy. The restaurant was very good, food was excellent. We stayed two nights and found it to be a good location just of the motorway. It is currently having a makeover and looking at the work that they were doing it will be upgraded to a very modern travellers hotel. Just behind it there is a large industrial estate with a large shopping area which has everything that you would want shopping wise. Would definately use it again!

Room Tip: All rooms are good no noise was heard from the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

For a formula hotel, the staff here were exceptional. They understood specific gluten free dietary requirements and responded well. The rooms were comparatively roomy, clean and tidy. The staff were particularly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toscanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We prebooked and after a very long journey checked in reception friendly and spoke English all changed when we entered the room number 50. The bed had been partly made up and was crinkled with the impression of a head on the pillow one of the coffee cups and been used and the waste paper stuffed into the cup !!! this was a room that was supposed to be cleaned and ready we came to the conclusion that the cleaner or some other had returned for a sleep later. To be fair to the the receptionist she appeared with the chef and changed the sheets and pillow cases I later demanded a clean cup, she also offered us some fee wine at dinner. The overall impression of this hotel is grubby and expensive the food although well cooked and served was overpriced we wont be using this hotel chain again. note the staff were friendly and very helpful

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davegmzcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lens hotels

Monchengladbach, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The Campanile Lens is a pretty basic hotel near a motorway junction on an industrial estate in Lens. That being said, the facilities were OK & there was surprisingly little motorway noise to disturb my sleep. It is pretty much a travellers'hotel, but was ideally located for my purposes, a tour of the Loos Battlefield.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColonialDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lens
0.8 mi away
Lensotel
Lensotel
#1 of 4 in Lens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Lens Musee Du Louvre
6.5 mi away
Hotel La Maison Rouge
Hotel La Maison Rouge
#1 of 1 in Noeux-les-Mines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bollaert
Hotel Bollaert
#2 of 4 in Lens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
7.9 mi away
CERISE Lens
CERISE Lens
#3 of 9 in Noyelles-Godault
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
7.9 mi away
ACE Hotel Noyelles Godault
ACE Hotel Noyelles Godault
#2 of 9 in Noyelles-Godault
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Lens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Lens

Property: Campanile Lens
Address: Route De La Bassee Zone D'Activites, 62300, Lens, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Lens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Lens 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Louvre hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Campanile Lens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing