We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve”
Review of Goolkush Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bordi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goolkush Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bordi
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked this resort for 31st Dec 2013 & 1st. Jan 2014

Around 36 people including kids. Had a blast. Food was superb and Music as well. Location is also good. There were fire crackers arranged by Parvez uncle.


Thanks to Parvez uncle.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayTailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 40 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Landed up at Goolkhush for our weekend trip to Bordi. Nice old parsi mansion; run by a husband and wife. Slightly overpriced compared to the options around, but the food quality was excellent. We had to stay in Non AC since there was no AC room availability. The asbestos top room gets extremely hot during the day. Won't suggest non AC.
Service was patchy - electrical fixtures didn't work properly. There's a nice pool in the property and the beach is just across the road. Overall, a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuvo_iima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Bordi is a surprise - just 3 hours from Mumbai, it is supposedly the place where the Konkan coast starts. It is a small little quaint town with lots of Parsi establishments (including an old but still functional Sanitarium; a Godrej institute; a Rustomjee educational institute etc). Gujaratis are the other dominant community in this town.

Goolkush Resort offers a homely atmosphere - lovely home cooked Parsi food, a small swimming pool, small cottages with very basic furnishings and overall a quite relaxing ambience.

The beach is a few minutes walk, and is really nothing much to write home about. But, nonetheless its non-touristy nature is what I found endearing. The Sea recedes so far back during low-tide that you can't even see the water. Local lads play cricket on the beach, and fishermen's children move around with small nets catching tiny little fish in tiny little puddles - (and collecting them in used PET bottles). A couple of abandoned old fishing boats, just add to the somewhat sleepy, and melancholic scenery.

Walk back from the beach through the town, and look at the old houses, and the occasional temple - you may be pleasantly surprised.

All in all a great break from the madness and rush of the metropolis. Don't expect too much, and you may just be surprised

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vishakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Lovely old Parsi mansion, well-kept cottages but guess what, there are constant troubles with electric supply. A/C didn't work half of our stay.. besides some other annoying troubles too.

Some may find the 'happy uncle' to be deceptive when it comes to money - charges generously for swimming pool.. overcharges for chai (50 bucks!) etc. But is clear when it comes to moneys.

Food's worth the high prices though - lovely fare for both veggies and non-veggies.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MalayDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

when it comes to peaceful weekend...I think everyone should try goolkhush... the owners are aware what they need to provide to their guest and you will get it.... am lucky to find places where owners are very inviting and good with hospitality.... loved the food which aunty makes and pomfret is the killer.... try it to have peaceful time for yourself and stomach....missed out on dhanshak..but next time for sure will have it...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kunal2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I've been to Gulkhoosh thrice. Twice, to just eat there and perhaps use the pool and once to stay.

For food, it is undoubtedly one of the best in the area. It is home cooked and a healthy qty charged at per head rates. It IS pricey, but much healthier than the MTDC place down the road. If travelling in a group, it is a fun trip and any room should suffice, but if you are travelling as a couple, ensure you ask for a room which does not have a connecting door with the neighbouring room. Unfortunately, we took one such very spacious room and could hear our noisy neighbours all through out (from running the water in the washroom to a repeated early morning alarm). The trip was altogether pleasant except for the large and noisy group of families that was visiting at the time who had neither the courtesy to keep it down nor the sensitivity to private space. We were entertained by the extremely loud music from their parked vehicle at each meal time although they were persuaded to lower the volume by shutting one door of the vehicle :)

Aside from that, weekdays are a better time to visit as the place gets rather busy on weekends and the rooms are close together so it ends up being quite raucous. It is not a professionally managed property so be prepared to handle 1-2 kids in the way of help and serving of food. The owners wife prepares the food herself and you can ask for Parsi dishes in advance. Avoid the basic rooms as these are rather small and have metal roofing. They even have huge ventilators to let in lots of light but there is no way to screen them. The owner is a little money-minded but then, he is running a business. We also had some problem with the hot water as the 'central heating' of the geyser is a wood furnace powered geyser and common to a couple of rooms. After our neighbours had used up the water, we had to find the owner and ask for more water and finally I ended up having a cold water bath. For 1500 bucks a night for the 4 bed living quarters, I guess it was a good deal.

It is more like a large homestay, if you ask me where you need to catch hold of the owner for anything which can be a little inconvenient if it is at an odd hour when he may be resting.

A trip to the nearby dam and some orchards provide some off site entertainment. Nearby hotel (i think it was called Anand), is a veg place with some rooms and a largeish pool with orchards on one side and fields on the other. Nearby MTDC resort has beach facing huts with full screen windows for an unrestricted view of the beach. We'd chosen Gulkhoosh for the food but would want to plan more carefully.

Room Tip: If you're finicky, give this a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Simrit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

the facilities were good.they gave us good service.owner aunty made pure jain food for us and as per our choice.we enjoyed a lot a lot & a lot in the swimming pool.the environment inside gool khush resort is good.the swimming pool was clean and clear.kids as well as elders enjoyed a lot in swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank varshagada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bordi
22.9 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Resort Daman
17.6 mi away
Lords Resort Silvassa
Lords Resort Silvassa
#3 of 7 in Silvassa
475 reviews
15.3 mi away
Pluz Resort
Pluz Resort
#6 of 7 in Silvassa
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Beach Classic
Hotel Beach Classic
#5 of 6 in Dahanu
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anand Resort
Anand Resort
#4 of 5 in Bordi
26 reviews
2.9 mi away
SaffronStays Master's Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goolkush Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goolkush Resort

Address: Opp Parsi Fire Temple, Bordi 401701, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Palghar District > Bordi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bordi
Price Range: $41 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goolkush Resort is located at a beautiful Beach Heaven with beautiful cool surroundings and clean beaches all year round. Rooms are neat and homely and very economical compared to city standards. Most Expensive rooms are with A/C and 3 meals veg/non -veg and unlimited pool access. Do come down for a pleasurable and relaxing experience just 150 kms from Mumbai. Feel Free to contact us for any information. Happy Holidays! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing