We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
8
12
7
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
12
7
8
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 40 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Goolkush Resort in Bordi town is a decent spacious place to stay especially for a person like me who is hooked to Home stays and likes the warmth of a family atmosphere. This coming from the fact in some home stays in South – especially Coorg and Wayanad where I have stayed earlier ,have found the hosts to be extremely receptive and taking great pride in knowing you well and ushering in their unique family hospitality. This can be disappointing in this place and somehow similarities are not the same.
While the owner-Pervez Dastur is a warm person (and has a uncanny resemblance to Soli Sorabjee) – he can be a tad money minded and I think is clearly overpriced for the kind of amenities his rooms have. The rooms are a mix of solid blocks and aluminium huts and for the amenities inside (including non availability of hot water and no phones) – they are overpriced. He is also very finicky about food preparations – especially if you are there with Parsi food on your mind—better give him a 1 day advance notice and discuss the price and menu since he has to literally go and source the items...So while a Mutton Dhansak and Saali boti may not be a big deal ..Anything exotic...like Patra nu macchii (smoked pomfret in banana leaves) and Lagan –nu-Bhonu (a marriage preparation item for Parsis which has a mashed mutton base to it) can be a stretch .And Food while tasty is again a bit pricier on that side as well...but I guess that’s ok.
And yes the icing on cake is the swimming pool. And no he doesn’t charge 70 Rs – he charges 100 Rs now (and not sure since I went in winter it was perhaps an extra tax on using in an offseason...ehh!! I swear this distaste is that one thing that really lasts in your memory) .But the swimming charge is clearly a very cheesy proposition to the fact when in most hotels/resorts around the world – they are part of package and complementary. I would rather suggest that he includes it in his pricing or charge boom money because 100 bucks speaks more of your mind and your thinking than of the state of the swimming pool .Your urge to splash around in a pool- it’s clearly positioned to put you off with this fees.
Mr Dastur – a very hands on mechanical guy can regale with you his typical Parsi accent can also be very blunt (I won’t say rude though) as it seems that he has this penchant of being on the face remarks (somebody in our company had just dipped their legs in the pool and he chastised by saying that it’s not a Dhobi Ghat where you can dip your legs in)..Remarks like those in hospitality business can be a real turn off and had it not been for the Ultimate Bawaji plain speak or the Parsi stiff upper lip that got displayed for his geriatric age ..And which is where we were more than ready to hear his rumblings and excuse him...he would have really ruffled potential customers although how much correct he may be for the proper treatment of his swimming pool.
But still recommended since it has an old world feel, the food is homemade and decently ok and if you want to have an ice cream in Bordi – he may be the only one( Surprising – but true!!.At least am not complaining as I had a Cassata after a long time and you don’t see them anymore- at least in Bangalore)...And yes for all the car owners – there is ample space for parking inside and outside...infact outside parking may be safe as inside parking has lot of coconut trees cover and if you are not to keen to have your windscreen smashed by the canopy of trees near your room – park outside.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mustang76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PervezDastur, Owner at Goolkush Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

24x7 power supply as far as lights and fans are concerned are provided.T.V's and A/c's do not work during a power shutdown.Rooms have all the fasilites that are required and are kept extremely clean and are very big and specious rooms compared to the competition and is made out of regular RCC Construction according to regulations"The Room That Our Dear Customer has been referring to is infant a utility room",hot water is available at the tap 24x7 but not on a switch as it is a central heating system.Our swimming pool is been kept according to the U.S standards of cleanliness and is chlorinated and the P.H of the water is kept to its standard for the best experience of sweet and hygienic quality.Parsee food preparations are usually very rare and expensive to make as it involves rich ingredients all we require is a 3 hour advance notice and we start from scratch to maintain quality and freshness in the food our guests have.Nothing is kept leftover or marinated or refrigerated.Swimming pool charges are inclusive when u take the Lodging & Boarding Plan and u can use the pool 24x7.The basic plans do not have this feature but u can pay as and when u need to use the pool.We are sorry about your grievances and will be sure to make amendments to make your stay better next time.Do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

For Rs. 1500/- per person/per night , inclusive of 3 meals & morning/afternnon tea it is not worth when you see the room facilities . Hot water available on tap only ( no shower )between 8am to 1pm only. The Owner still uses fire-wood based tall tank to heat the water and it is luke warm in month of Nov. / Dec. No mirror in the room . Basic old furnitiure. For using the swimming pool , Rs. 70/- extra charge per person. We are world travellers and this sort of extra charge for swimming pool was a first experince . Owner refused to give money for 1 day cancellation due emergency. That is also pardened but overall it is not worth the money though food quality is good ( Parsy Food ) for non-veg. folks . Better place available at cheaper rate in Dahanu with good ambience. Friends , just avoid for not ruining your holiday mood.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms are tiny .
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunilyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Just drove down to bordi to stay at another hotel but stopped over at Goolkhush to refreash and was glad we did that cause its a great place with amazing food and very close tothe beach.The Hotel gave us a great package as we were a family ,to be very true we did think it was expensive but when we calculated it seperatly we did save up a lot as they offered a loadging and boarding pkg. it was truely amazing like home away fom home..I would say experiance it to believe it. A big thanks to them for a wonderful memory with my family.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 663gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had directly called the owner and booked 2 rooms (1 AC and 1 Non ac room) for a weekend stay. He clearly told us that he will charge us 1250/- per adult for AC accommodation and 625/- for my son (3years old) and 1100/- per head for non ac room. Since my father is a heart patient we requested for a ground level room for him. He told us the rooms are AC but if we dont use the AC he will only charge us the non ac rent. After we checked in we were given 2 rooms by his men without mentioning any thing that this room has to be ac and this room non ac. 1 of the room was extremely small and with very poor lighting. The bathroom door was broken too. The entire hotel was empty. Swimming pool was under maintenance. We requested for a room change and the servants showed us another room which we liked and we shifted. Post lunch the owner comes and tells us without any courteousness that you have taken two big rooms with 4 beds in each and so we will charge you 1250 per head for both rooms plus tax. we were fine with that too and said then lets use both rooms ac. he blankly refused and said if you wish to use AC then the charge will be 1500 for my parents room. we could have easily stayed in the interconnecting room but he refused saying that he had a booking for it. but not one person turned up till we left the next day in the entire hotel. Staff was less half the time we had to keep searching for them as there are no bells to call them. Not worth the money and effort at all. To top it all up in the evening the owner tells us to switch off lights, fan and ac whenever we come out of the room. Extremely money minded person. I would not go there ever again. Food is ok nothing exceptional especially for parsis who can get a much better treatment at Udvada hotels with more variety of parsi food and good hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank BCooper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

The best place to be ,not too far but fee;s just like the right place to be wt friends, so many things to do and value for money . must must go wt friends an ve time of your life.

Stayed: February 2009
5  Thank hholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews