We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caledon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rouxwil Country House
Ranked #1 of 11 Caledon B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights coming straight from the airport.Takes about 1 hour.We arrived slightly early but it was no problem the rooms were ready and what rooms they were - fantastic.The size of the rooms are great and the outlook brilliant.We were welcomed by O.nel and Thys and immediately offered refreshing drinks.We stayed by the pool that afternoon relaxing,which was just right after a long flight.We had the evening meal both nights which along with the breakfasts were very nice.Hot freshly baked scones with homemade jam - delicious. It is a nice easy drive to Hermanus from the farm and also Betty`s Bay to see the wonderful penguins.
We were made to feel very welcome and really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 123 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

we made our annual visit to onel and thys who run this wonderful guest house alongside their large farm.
we had another of their large air conditioned suites which are really well equipped and laid out with stunning views over the fields and mountains.
thys took us on an educating trip of his successful farm and showed us his sheep shearing and breeding (he has approx. 3000 sheep) and his neighbour interesting fruit orchards.
the evening meals and breakfasts are excellent but we did miss thys river trip and barbecue this year.
we really like this guest house and is a great finale to our annual holiday in south Africa.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking own game park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeldufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here three nights, the first of which was a small room near the main house, but we knew that when we booked. We were moved without fuss to room 3, which was stunning, huge, armchairs and a kitchenette and fridge. The service was faultless with nibbles arriving at tea time and, one day, a plate of melon at lunchtime. Dinner was with all the other guests, convivial with loads of laughs. Food was very very good. The wildlife in the nearby paddock kept us mesmerised for hours. If I had to pick a negative, and really i am being picky, dinner went on for hours and we didn't finish eating until after 10pm which is very late for us - sad people we are!!!!
Thank you o'nel and thys, especially for collecting a package of forgotten clothes at the post office for us and then taking my ipad cable to vergelegen. Forgetful old duffer I am!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyceyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Fabulous and a real gem of a place to stay. You are on a working farm and the luxury hillside suites are excellent. Spacious with a lovely bathroom with bath and walk in shower. The welcome we received from Thys and O'nel was matchless. When we arrived we were offered a drink so asked for a glass of wine. A bottle of Sauvignon Blanc on ice subsequently arrived which we drank sitting on the patio outside our room looking at the glorious view and the game. You dine together with the other guests for breakfast and dinner. Hardly surprising most of the guests are on repeat visits - as we will be next year

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neville G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Excellent stylish accommodation, a very warm welcome, wonderful food (my husband voted it the best meal and he is a expert) with attractive floral decorations. Thys and O'Nel are perfect hosts. What more can one say. Wish we had found it on our previous trips.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have stayed at Rouxwil many times but have never written a review for it before for two reasons. Firstly, apart from one review from someone who has never stayed here, all the reviews were 5 star which says it all. Secondly, I don't want the place to get so popular that we can't get accommodation! However, reading the recent 3 star review of Rouxwil I feel I must rise to their defence. I have seen O'nel and Thys in action many times offering advice, maps etc. Every morning at breakfast they are most attentive to guests wanting help. The rooms are perfect and we have never had trouble with the electricity so this is not a common problem. Any problems that may arise would be dealt with swiftly. Now there is wifi in all the guest rooms. It is not near the coast and never pretends to be but is an easy journey to Hermanus. I, for one, would not like a 'manager' as then Rouxwil would lose the personal touch. May it remain as it is forever.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol-Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Owners O'nel and Thys are perfect hosts. There's plenty to see nearby , and the farm and game add another interest to make Rouxwil a special place. The evening meal and their hospitality round off a perfect day...not to be missed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 610Stewart_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caledon
20.1 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
598 reviews
10.3 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
10.3 mi away
Swartberg Guest House
Swartberg Guest House
#2 of 11 in Caledon
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Athenian Villa
Athenian Villa
#6 of 11 in Caledon
51 reviews
10.1 mi away
Little Lotta Cottage
Little Lotta Cottage
#1 of 5 in Caledon
13 reviews
9.6 mi away
No photo provided
Die Pastorie
#2 of 5 in Caledon
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouxwil Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouxwil Country House

Address: Near turn, Caledon 7230, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Caledon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Caledon
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouxwil Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rouxwil Country House Caledon, Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing