We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rouxwil Country House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caledon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rouxwil Country House
Ranked #1 of 11 Caledon B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Fabulous and a real gem of a place to stay. You are on a working farm and the luxury hillside suites are excellent. Spacious with a lovely bathroom with bath and walk in shower. The welcome we received from Thys and O'nel was matchless. When we arrived we were offered a drink so asked for a glass of wine. A bottle of Sauvignon Blanc on ice subsequently arrived which we drank sitting on the patio outside our room looking at the glorious view and the game. You dine together with the other guests for breakfast and dinner. Hardly surprising most of the guests are on repeat visits - as we will be next year

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neville G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 119 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Excellent stylish accommodation, a very warm welcome, wonderful food (my husband voted it the best meal and he is a expert) with attractive floral decorations. Thys and O'Nel are perfect hosts. What more can one say. Wish we had found it on our previous trips.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have stayed at Rouxwil many times but have never written a review for it before for two reasons. Firstly, apart from one review from someone who has never stayed here, all the reviews were 5 star which says it all. Secondly, I don't want the place to get so popular that we can't get accommodation! However, reading the recent 3 star review of Rouxwil I feel I must rise to their defence. I have seen O'nel and Thys in action many times offering advice, maps etc. Every morning at breakfast they are most attentive to guests wanting help. The rooms are perfect and we have never had trouble with the electricity so this is not a common problem. Any problems that may arise would be dealt with swiftly. Now there is wifi in all the guest rooms. It is not near the coast and never pretends to be but is an easy journey to Hermanus. I, for one, would not like a 'manager' as then Rouxwil would lose the personal touch. May it remain as it is forever.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol-Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Owners O'nel and Thys are perfect hosts. There's plenty to see nearby , and the farm and game add another interest to make Rouxwil a special place. The evening meal and their hospitality round off a perfect day...not to be missed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 610Stewart_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at Rouxwil Country House and beside the big five, great experiences in a township and four fantastic days in Cape Town - these two nights were a highlight which we love to remember!

Especially Thys and Oneal made our stay so special. We had intense and wonderfull discussions and could feel, see and taste love + passion in every corner!!! Usually we are not so much into "trip-advising", but we need to recommend this lovely place!

We are xing fingers for everyone that they have the chance to taste their kudu-pie and lamb shank. We had dinner at two of the ten best restaurants of South Africa but the food at Rouxwil was at least on the same level.

@ Thys & Oneal: Thank you very much! We loved it - Jenny + Martin

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Rouxwil Country House for six nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Rouxwil is a working wheat and sheep farm near Caledon. The owners O'nel and Thys are the perfect hosts, the rooms are large, well equipped and serviced daily to a high standard. The home cooking is fantastic and Thys is a master of the braai. We also had a very interesting tour of the farm with harvesting taking place. Many of the guests we met have stayed before and we hope it is not to long before we get the opportunity to return to this delightful place. So if you are in the area do yourselves a favour and book into Rouxwil.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosthom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I have just spend the most glorious weekend at Rouxwil Country House.
We loved everything about our two days there. Our hosts, O'Nel and Thys could not have been more charming. Our fellow guests were delightful (all of whom where repeat guests) which says a lot. The meals were delicious, the accommodation superb, the garden quite beautiful.
can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caledon
20.1 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
560 reviews
10.3 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
10.3 mi away
Swartberg Guest House
Swartberg Guest House
#2 of 11 in Caledon
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Athenian Villa
Athenian Villa
#5 of 11 in Caledon
48 reviews
9.6 mi away
No photo provided
Die Pastorie
#1 of 5 in Caledon
1 reviews
10.1 mi away
Little Lotta Cottage
Little Lotta Cottage
#2 of 5 in Caledon
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouxwil Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouxwil Country House

Address: Near turn, Caledon 7230, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Caledon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Caledon
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouxwil Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rouxwil Country House Caledon, Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing