We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Break with Super Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caledon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rouxwil Country House
Ranked #1 of 11 Caledon B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a large comfortable room with a large bathroom. We were greeted with drinks and snacks and sat outside on the veranda watching the impala, zebra and antelope grazing. O'nel is a great cook and we had delicious meals in the evening and for breakfast. Both Thys and O'nel are super hosts with a great sense of humour and you are really made to feel at home.

The location is very quiet, but there is a range of tourist locations that were easy to drive to. Would definitely stay again here.

Thys took us on a very informative and entertaining tour of his farm.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank here2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Superb luxurious rooms with equally luxurious bathroom. Sitting outside on the veranda watching the impala, zebra and gazelles grazing. We were made so welcome and the evening meal we a definite way to finish the day. Breakfast was a choice of homemade goodies and set us up for the day. Great tour of the farm and introduction to the running of a sheep rearing.
Close enough to tourist locations that were easy to drive to. Definitely stay again at this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flymeLondn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We only stayed here one night, which was not enough. The owners were so nice and helpful but gave us our space as well, and O'nel is such a great cook that she made one of the best meals we had while in the country. Our room was big and comfortable, with a king bed and a very large bathroom. The rooms are separate from the main house, and we happened to be the only guests that night because it was off season, so we had the whole place to ourselves to enjoy sundowners outside overlooking the beautiful hills at sunset. Bottom line: a great place to relax, outstanding service, and a highlight on our trip. All the good reviews were right, this is the best place to stay in the whole area. Thanks O'nel and Thys!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLChicagoStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Beautiful farm, beautiful landscape, beautiful country home. But more than that, our hosts Thys and O'nel were very warm, welcoming, entertaining, funny,....!!! The delicious home-cooked dinner/barbecue, with all the guests gathered around the long table, sharing the meal and sharing stories, was really something. I LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajdvsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We met another English couple last year who suggested we should stay at Rouxwil Country House, so we booked a two night stay. We were not disappointed, the rooms are very well equipped and large with great views. It was very enjoyable being in a very peaceful area for a change, with views of the animals from our room. O'Nel and Thys are very good hosts who make you feel like old friends. The dinners are really good, and the idea of everyone eating together makes for a really great evening with much laughter and good conversation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was at least the sixth time that my wife and I have visited Rouxwil Country House and enjoyed the peace and quiet that it has to offer. It is rated as the Best Farm Accommodation in South Africa, which is an award which is definitely deserved. Thys and O'nel have six rooms available, four of which are located in a wonderful area overlooking the surrounding countryside. Both the breakfasts and the evening meals are excellent and on occasions Thys prepares a wonderful braai. The whole atmosphere is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. All being well we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZuluFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have stayed here many times and it is truly a fantastic B & B. O'nel could not have been more helpful to us this year, as unfortunately I wasn't very well and she sorted the Doctor etc for me. I can only say that this is a fantastic place to stay, the atmosphere with everyone joining in at mealtimes. The food is exceptional, you would not get better at a top class Restaurant. The wild animals are in the field just outside your terrace, the views are great, but the most important thing is that Thys and O'nel are wonderful and helpful hosts. The only trouble is that they are usually fully booked, as they are so good to everybody.

Room Tip: Book early as there are only 4 suites looking out across the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaddy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caledon
20.1 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
571 reviews
10.3 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
10.3 mi away
Swartberg Guest House
Swartberg Guest House
#2 of 11 in Caledon
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Athenian Villa
Athenian Villa
#5 of 11 in Caledon
48 reviews
10.1 mi away
Little Lotta Cottage
Little Lotta Cottage
#2 of 5 in Caledon
11 reviews
9.6 mi away
No photo provided
Die Pastorie
#1 of 5 in Caledon
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouxwil Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouxwil Country House

Address: Near turn, Caledon 7230, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Caledon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Caledon
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouxwil Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rouxwil Country House Caledon, Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing