We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
Nearby Hotels
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$504
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
$224
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveler rating
252
225
102
47
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
225
102
47
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolshot springsthe black sheepquad bikingroom servicewarm waterzip liningvictorian bathsteam roomcape townrock poolsrelaxing weekendan upgradewine and dineshort driveforest adventuresspa casino
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
640 - 645 of 657 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Hotel staff were very friendly, nice cozy setup in hotel.
Dined at Da Vinci 1 night - Good Pizza!!
Dissapointment at BLack Sheep. Their prices on their website is totally different to the menues at the restaurant. 2009 Prices ! can u believe tha. Though I pointed this out to the mananger - all she could say was - " so sorry we will look into it" They took my contact details but Im still waiting for them to come back to me! THe hot spings - Oh so devine - as well as steam room and sauna. Really enjoyed it especially my kids. Will definitely go back! but will not dine @ Black Sheep again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shireen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

As an overnight stop off en route to George from Cape Town, we found the location perfect. On arrival, staff at Reception was fantastic and our room was already available at 12h00. A quick lunch at Da Vinci was perfect. Off to the hot springs, we were greeted by crowds of people all vying for their own private pool. It was raining and cold but we ended up in the second pool from the top which was fantastically warm and an absolutely pleasure! Dinner was perfect steaks, tempura prawns and a tasty house salad at the Black Sheep. Lovely service from Sonwabo! Then came the disappointment, as we had to ask 3 times at reception to have the extra bed in the room on the second floor made. This room definitely needed fumigating as we were all bitten and itchy in the morning. A good spring cleaning is needed at Caledon hotel and Spa. We neither gambled nor used the Spa facilities, the latter which I am lead to believe, is fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank localislekkerSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stay away from Black Sheep diner - food not good at all. You were warned.
Spa excellent, a must.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scuba049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We arrived in Caledon after a short drive from Cape Town to be greeted by a friendly team at the Caledon Hotel and we had no problems checking in to our two Double rooms.

The rooms are relatively spacey with comfortable beds and adequate bathrooms. Each room comes equipped with a TV and a reasonable number of DSTV channels including the standard news channels and sports channels.

The hotel cuisine is not the best. We went to the Black Sheep restaurant one of the nights and the food was barely edible (except the hot chocolate pudding which was delicious) and the service was dire. The second night we stayed we went to the Italian chain-style restaurant which was really no better with pastas that seemed as though they were from a packet and pizzas that could have been bought ready-made from any mediocre supermarket. The breakfast buffet however was everything we had hoped for with a wide selection of foods to choose from, including the standardised offerings of bacon, eggs, sausages, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms etc.

The highlight of our stay was most certainly the Spa experience. Myself, my mum and my sister all went for treatments at the Spa. They both chose to have facials which they both assured me were up to standard and I had a full body aromatherapy massage which was excellent. The 'pools' that filter down from the hot springs are most enjoyable indeed but are, at times, overcrowded. I would also not recommend going into the top pool (the hottest one) as in my opinion it is far too hot! I carelessly dove into the hottest pool without paying much attention to the numerous warning signs and I felt pretty sore afterwards!

The Casino itself was rather disappointing. Having visited other casinos in South Africa such as Grand West and Emperor's Palace, the Caledon casino seemed a bit cheap and gimmicky.

Overall I would say that this is a good place to visit but only for a couple of days. The town has very little else going on so the hotel is quite self contained and the area has little else to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElementTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the rooms are comfortable and clean. We made use of the spa facilities and the treatments we chose were professional and relaxing. The hot springs were lovely and we enjoyed being in the warm water while it was cold and raining around us. The breakfasts were delicious with many options on offer. Dinner was available from the a la carte in the Blue Crane restaurant, the Black Sheep and the Da Vinci pizza and pasta restaurants. We opted for The Black Sheep the first night and were very disappointed by the poor quality of the food and chaotic service offered by a very harrassed staff. The following night we went to the Da Vinci and were once again very disappointed. The pizzas were tough and the toppings were terrible and the pasta sauces tasted like they were straight out of a packet - this restaurant should be avoided. It seems to be a case of having a captive audience who have no choice but to eat in these restaurants as there is nowhere else to go!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tamty564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews