We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the ambience, beautiful gardens, smiling staff & great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vannucci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vannucci
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Loved the ambience, beautiful gardens, smiling staff & great food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Arriving to see the pretty rose-clad hotel & gardens bathed in afternoon sunshine was a delight. The staff were so helpful especially as paving work near the entrance meant that their usual directions didn't apply. We arrived with 10 peoples luggage (being the support car for a cycling group biking over from Orvieto) & were directed to parking very close to the rear of the hotel where we were met by a charming staff member who loaded up the luggage trolley (no mean feat!) & led us through the basement to the lift. Our double room had a large comfortable bed, good wardrobe space, mini bar & safe. The spacious en-suite had a bath with shower over, the type that runs from a mixer tap, large sink, bidet & a good supply of fluffy white towels. The only slight problem was that guests can only lower the centrally controlled air conditioning in their room by 2 degrees which wasn't enough when we were there. We phoned reception & asked for it to be lowered to 16 degrees, which they did, but it was very noisy & not very effective. We ended up turning it off & opening the windows with the risk of getting bitten as there isn't any mesh to keep out insects. This was only a slight niggle however in an otherwise highly enjoyable stay. The public areas of the hotel are very high quality - stylishly furnished, welcoming & comfortable. We enjoyed a lunch of excellent (huge!) pizza & fries in their bistro served by the smiling waitresses before exploring the town which is small but charming & an excellent base for discovering other medieval hilltop towns such as Orvieto, Assisi, Todi, Perugia & Montepulciano. Pre-dinner drinks can be served in the garden & come with a selection of nibbles. The ten of us enjoyed dinner in the hotel restaurant on our first night then ate out the next evening at a buzzy, family-run restaurant recommended by hotel staff - Coppeta Bruno Trattoria - where cuts of meat are cut, weighed & cooked in an open kitchen. It has recently been revamped & has a stylish modern interior. The hotel's breakfast was excellent with everything you could wish for, the boiled egg maker was good fun & highly effective! And it was bliss to have a toaster after 8 days without one at previous establishments.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh0reThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    101
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
94
222
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Vannucci in Citta della Pieve for 5 nights in the beginning of May. The girl we met in the reseption was very sweet and helpful and we got a beautiful and quiet room with good space. We had very good breakfasts and where sunbading by the little pool. We really enjoyed our stay and will recomend this hotel to anyone who are looking for a nice place to stay in beautiful surroundings :)

Hanne and Rita :)
Norway

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

What can I say? The staff at Vannucci, especially Orlando, gave us the best wedding we could have dreamed of. Long story short: My now wife and I got Vannucci recommended by another Norwegian couple that got married there some years ago. So we contacted the hotel, and they were more than pleased to host our wedding. That was just the tip of the iceberg. They organized everything from where to get married and booked the mayor to wed us to florist, decorations, food, etc etc. Orlando was even our interpreter at the wedding:) We invited 40 guests to stay at the hotel for a long weekend. They then held off rooms up really close to the wedding date. Orlando fixed us up with a local vineyard where we were treated to a delightful tour and lunch. On the wedding day we got a hole lot of excuisite food, lots of great wine and last but definitely not least, a staff that was smiling and helpful far out in the morning hours. They even booked the fabolous DJ Fabio who made a great mood on the dancefloor.

As for the hotel. The standard is superb. It's so much better than any other hotel i've stayed at in Italy. Clean, fresh, new. 10/10. easy..

With that I end my review. I am sure I have forgotten to mention some things, but I can only say that it's a truly wonderful hotel with delightful people in beautiful suroundings. Everybody should stay at Hotel Vannucci once in their lives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O_Ofte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Vannucci is just a wonderful hotel in every way possible. The rooms are very comfortable, with high quality in every way. Citta della Pieve is a small town and worth the visit. Vannucci also has a great chef and restaurant. Really a perfect place to stay. Not far from Montepulciano and the other great wine towns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonardTonyCordato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I love Umbria and Tuscany and have been visiting for over 30 years. We booked Vannucci for 2 days but stayed for 5. The hotel's location at the heart of a little gem of a town, Citta della Pieve, is perfect as a base for touring. Vannucci itself has been beautifully modernised, the staff create the warmest of atmospheres, and the food is quite outstanding. It is outstanding value for money.We will certainly return to what has become our favourite hotel in Italy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 781pauld781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for a romantic getaway and I must say we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. From the moment you enter the lobby you feel the cozy and welcoming atmosphere, perceived throught the structure itself but also from the friendly reception staff. The room we had was overlooking the internal court so very quiet and very spacious. Huge closet and spacious and clean bathroom. We tried the restaurant and we had a typical Italian dinner with a delicious duck sauce pappardelle dish and a juicy steak, served by a very courteous and smiley staff. Definetely going back in our next visit in Italy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David150983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our first weekend away since our little boy was born. We couldn’t have asked for a more romantic and warm stay. The architecture and amenities were perfect, beautifully decorated, with modern functionality yet paying just the right respect to the history of the building and the region. The restaurants, both of them, served some of the best meals we have ever had. The Trattoria had great pasta, salads and pizza in a really lovely space. Ristorante Zafferano served us a meal of a lifetime. Honestly after 30 years of international business and fine dining on the road, Zafferano was tops, no question. Orlando was a treat with unassuming competence served up with a side of humor. A Sincere and Warm Thank You for making this short 3 days away something we will remember forever. We will be back as soon as my wife works up the courage for another weekend away! X

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Citta della Pieve
0.2 mi away
Logge Del Perugino W&B Resort
Logge Del Perugino W&B Resort
#4 of 5 in Citta della Pieve
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais dei Magi
Relais dei Magi
#2 of 5 in Citta della Pieve
46 reviews
11.7 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
796 reviews
9.1 mi away
Fonteverde
Fonteverde
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
910 reviews
18.1 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vannucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vannucci

Property: Hotel Vannucci
Address: Via I. Vanni 1, 06062, Citta della Pieve, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Citta della Pieve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Citta della Pieve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vannucci 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With attentive and individualized service we aim to make every guest feel immediately at home. Following extensive restoration, Hotel Vannucci in Citta' della Pieve offers accommodation over 30 delightful bedrooms, a choice of formal and casual dining, a cozy bar, and a fitness centre with sauna and Jacuzzi. The hotel's charming decor celebrates Umbria's artisan traditions with wrought iron, hand-crafted furniture and attractive artwork throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vannucci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vannucci Hotel Citta Della Pieve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing