We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Umbria”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vannucci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vannucci
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best hotel in Umbria”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I love Umbria and Tuscany and have been visiting for over 30 years. We booked Vannucci for 2 days but stayed for 5. The hotel's location at the heart of a little gem of a town, Citta della Pieve, is perfect as a base for touring. Vannucci itself has been beautifully modernised, the staff create the warmest of atmospheres, and the food is quite outstanding. It is outstanding value for money.We will certainly return to what has become our favourite hotel in Italy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 781pauld781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    101
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
94
222
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for a romantic getaway and I must say we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. From the moment you enter the lobby you feel the cozy and welcoming atmosphere, perceived throught the structure itself but also from the friendly reception staff. The room we had was overlooking the internal court so very quiet and very spacious. Huge closet and spacious and clean bathroom. We tried the restaurant and we had a typical Italian dinner with a delicious duck sauce pappardelle dish and a juicy steak, served by a very courteous and smiley staff. Definetely going back in our next visit in Italy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David150983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our first weekend away since our little boy was born. We couldn’t have asked for a more romantic and warm stay. The architecture and amenities were perfect, beautifully decorated, with modern functionality yet paying just the right respect to the history of the building and the region. The restaurants, both of them, served some of the best meals we have ever had. The Trattoria had great pasta, salads and pizza in a really lovely space. Ristorante Zafferano served us a meal of a lifetime. Honestly after 30 years of international business and fine dining on the road, Zafferano was tops, no question. Orlando was a treat with unassuming competence served up with a side of humor. A Sincere and Warm Thank You for making this short 3 days away something we will remember forever. We will be back as soon as my wife works up the courage for another weekend away! X

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
314 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were disappointed with Hotel Vannucci. We chose the hotel because of the good reviews of their restaurants. Their web site said that their more formal restaurant would be closed, but that their more casual restaurant would be open. When we arrived, we saw a sign saying that both restaurants were closed.

Also, the hotel was undergoing renovations near our room and there was noise all day until about 8 PM. In our room, the window screen was torn and let flies in and the toilet seat was loose. We found that the towel bar wouldn't heat up, and two men spent about an hour emptying black liquid from it before it would work.

The reception staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Once again 11 days at Hotel Vannucci with 26 others as my guests and it gets better every year. We are always greeted with such warmth and consideration. Orlando, Beatrice, and the staff work with such enthusiasm to make our stay enjoyable and a total success. Chef Vito had raised the bar again this year and I can only imagine what next year will present. The restaurant on the property is so convenient after a day of moving about Umbria. Being from Texas, we don’t normally eat steak in Italy but this year we indulged at the Trattoria Pievese (Vannucci) and were totally impressed. It was the best steak we have had in Europe. Congratulations to Allison, the owner, who has created an artistically contemporary, warm, and inviting space in an ancient village. What a beautiful contrast! Love and gratitude to Hotel Vannucci staff!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the village rooftops...top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viedunnharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is very well situated for exploring the town, as well as the beautiful surrounding countryside. The staff could not have been more engaging and helpful. Our room was well equipped and spacious . The restaurant service was excellent, and the food high quality. The choice of wines was outstanding with first class advice on what to choose! There was a well equipped gym in the basement to ensure we had an appetite and thirst which could do justice to the food and wine.
We could not have had a more relaxing time, in a more welcoming environment. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located within the beautiful medieval town of Citta della Pieve, this is an excellent base for exploring the famous hill towns of Tuscany. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and professional staff, who take pride in providing a high level of service, a stylish and relaxing ambience and great food and wine. The talented head chef uses local ingredients creatively--we enjoyed some excellent meals. Citta della Pieve itself is set in the middle of dramatic countryside and combines lovely medieval architecture, including several churches, with a good selection of small shops, wine bars and sidewalk cafes. A great place for a weekend, but next time we'd like to stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJMiller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Citta della Pieve
0.2 mi away
Logge Del Perugino W&B Resort
Logge Del Perugino W&B Resort
#4 of 5 in Citta della Pieve
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais dei Magi
Relais dei Magi
#2 of 5 in Citta della Pieve
46 reviews
11.7 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
798 reviews
9.1 mi away
Fonteverde
Fonteverde
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
910 reviews
18.1 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vannucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vannucci

Property: Hotel Vannucci
Address: Via I. Vanni 1, 06062, Citta della Pieve, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Citta della Pieve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Citta della Pieve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vannucci 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With attentive and individualized service we aim to make every guest feel immediately at home. Following extensive restoration, Hotel Vannucci in Citta' della Pieve offers accommodation over 30 delightful bedrooms, a choice of formal and casual dining, a cozy bar, and a fitness centre with sauna and Jacuzzi. The hotel's charming decor celebrates Umbria's artisan traditions with wrought iron, hand-crafted furniture and attractive artwork throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vannucci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vannucci Hotel Citta Della Pieve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing