We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Bistro - What a town”
Review of Bistrot del Duca

Bistrot del Duca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Organic Food and Fusion Cousine.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Bistro - What a town”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Never having been to Citta Della Pieve we were just amazed as to what a little treasure this place is. We asked the owner of “La Fonderia Dell’Oro” (a little jewellery shop – they make all the jewellery themselves and we bought presents -) where we could eat and she recommended “Bistro Del Duca” and not what was recommended in our travel guide.
What a delight, the service, the food and wine. That the chef /owner Christian comes to the table himself and explains the full menu – changes daily – was a treat that one does not experience in many restaurants. All the visitors at the lunch time we were there all had a smile on their faces.
Will be back one day to this lovely town, jewellery shop and last not least “Bistro Del Duca”.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ole_and_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    75
    23
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
1,824 reviews
1,258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 647 helpful votes
“Fantastico!!! Fresh, delicious and creative."A must go!!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Was doing business in Citta Della Pieve the last couple of days and walked by Bistrot on Tuesday it was closed. Was dissapointed but was glad to be walking today in town and stumbled across the owner Christian walking thru Citta Della Pieve collecting the days groceries for the days menu. I came in while he was actually writing the menu by hand for the day!!! The choices on the menu were fresh and original..the local meats were exceptional and the spelt pasta with onions,sausage and cream was one of the best dishes I have had..Magnificent!
He started the meal with processco and ended with a saffron infused grappa...the olive oil he used was the best I have had in Italy.. The man does not miss on ingredients or sell short on quality..a true treat and treasure to eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely local Bistrot”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went here on our fellow Trip Advisor's recommendations and enjoyed a delicious supper. Very friendly staff, pretty, small, traditional bistro-style restaurant with all food freshly cooked to order. Very popular with locals and tourists alike. the seasonal menu makes a nice change from the ubiquitous bruschetta and pork dishes on offer everywhere else. We enjoyed a delicious chilled cucumber soup followed by a saffron, walnut and blue cheese risotto - absolutely first rate. Plenty of fresh bread and a reasonable local wine (wine list is limited and not brilliant). The kids had delicious beef lasagne and our guest had a good monkfish dish with the most fantastic green beans - sweet and tender. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and Entertaining”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We walked by this tiny outdoor restaurant in the evening and saw them putting down a little wooden platform for a stage. We asked and they said there would be music at dinner later that night - there was only one table left, so we reserved it. We came back later to claim the table which was flanked on one side by a lattice covered with blooming jasmine - when the breeze blew, we were surrounded by the sweet scent! As a vegan, I always wonder what I can find to eat, but there are usually some items that are possibilities. I had a zucchini pesto that was out of this world...it had zucchini, frutta secca (which I thought was dried fruit, but it turns out to be pine nuts which made total sense because it wasn't sweet at all) and mint, blended into a sauce and served over pasta. Everyone at the table loved it, and their own meals as well. And the music was fabulous - a lovely evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuckyMeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and best food in Città della Pieve for affordable prices”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This à la carte restaurant is situated just in the heart of Città della Pieve, a beautiful medieval hamlet. During summer you can eat on the terrasse and the view is lovely, especially at sunset. The personnel is very friendly and they really know how to do their job. I have heard them speak Italian, English and French. The chef comes out the kitchen to explain you, course by course, the whole menu. The menu is composed by dishes typical of the Italian cuisine, but revisited in a more modern way. Anyway, the menu is still very Italian and the portions are good, no fancy food or nouvelle cuisine! Last but not least, we took starter, main course, dessert and a glass of (very good) wine and we spent only 25 Euros per person! Very good quality/price ratio!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alicetq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot del Duca also viewed

Citta della Pieve, Province of Perugia
Citta della Pieve, Province of Perugia
 
Citta della Pieve, Province of Perugia
Citta della Pieve, Province of Perugia
 
Citta della Pieve, Province of Perugia
Citta della Pieve, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Bistrot del Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing