We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic surroundings, cosy cottage, warm...”
other travelers have booked this property
Valley View Cottage with elevated, panoramic views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valley View Cottage with elevated, panoramic views.
view from patio at front of cottage Comfy Seating in Valley View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Valley View Cottage with elevated, panoramic views.
view from patio at front of cottage
Comfy Seating in Valley View Cottage
Kitchen of the Cottage
One of the neighbours!
Glenmore Lake near cottage 4 kms
Knockatee country walk 1 km from cottage
Bridge over the local river, 1 km from cottage
Looking into Rabachs Glen, 1 km from cottage
The valley in front of the cottage
Seals on the Rocks near Garnish Island
View from the top of Knockatee Mountain 3km from cottage
Lighthouse at tip of Mizen Head. Day trip from cottage (spectacular walking area)
knockatee mountain reflected in the water of kilmackilogue harbour
molly gallivans cottage and traditional farm visitor centre day trio from cottage
river sheen on the caha pass day trip from cottage
Looking towards Bantry Bay from the Priest's leap road
The light house in Bere island ( fantastic walk)
Garnish island off Glengarriff.
Our sign. Stop when you see this
New blacksmith stove installed october2017.
Single bedroom in valley view cottage
4 poster bed in the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Albert_AU...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic surroundings, cosy cottage, warm hospitality”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful short stay in the cottage and only wish we could have stayed longer. The hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful from the moment we arrived, and were close at hand for any questions we had. The location is excellent, in a relatively quiet, untouristy corner of County Kerry but very close to plenty of natural and man-made attractions, including mountains, stone circles, coastal scenery, gardens, quaint villages and pubs. The cottage itself is also very comfortable and well-equipped, so you can easily spend a day there without driving anywhere, just sitting by the open fire (plenty of good dry wood provided) and looking out the window over the valley and hills beyond. When the sun's out there is also a great little patio out the front to soak up the sunshine and the spectacular scenery all around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners were a delightful couple and very accommodating
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O
Crosby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A get away from it all break”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We wanted a quiet romantic break and have visited this region before. The cottage is very cosy and comfortable and we wanted something small, and this suited us down to the ground. The views from the patio are amazing, and we spent hours sitting outside watching the mountains. The local pub at the pierside is good, and they sell some nice pub food. The other pub we visited was the Sailors Bar a couple of miles away, and that has excellent bar food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the patio and the local scenery
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc B
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our honeymoon”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Everything about the cottage was just perfect-- from the warm welcome by Eileen (a cozy fire in the fireplace, tea and chocolate cookies waiting for us!) to all of the helpful tips for activities and restaurants, to the cottage itself and the amenities (nice hot water shower, working fireplace, patio with a view, well-appointed kitchen, on-site laundry). We had a really fantastic stay, and wish we could have stayed longer. The Beara peninsula is beautiful, especially the Healy Pass and the Dereen Gardens. There are many activities for a range of interests (walks, gardens, cafes, galleries, shops, mountains and ocean). I would absolutely recommend this cottage rental to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fireplace & patio
Liked least: No internet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan B
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Hello Jan and Caroline. Thank you so much for your lovely review on trip advisor. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay here in the beara peninsula. Best wishes always. Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ooLucette
Orleans, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Hello to you all. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay here in the beara peninsula. We hope you all got back home safe to France and would be very happy to have you back again. Best wishes always. Eileen and Robert..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert K
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2017
Hello Albert and annett.thank you both so much for your lovely review on trip advisor.we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay here in the beara peninsula in valley view cottage. Also thank you for your lovely note in my guestbook. Best wishes always. Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Hello marjolein and Erwin. Thank you so much for your lovely review of the cottage. We were delighted to have you stay with us here on the beara peninsula and glad you enjoyed your time here. Best wishes always. From eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$41
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing