We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hot smoked salmon salad”

The Waterfront at Coyle Restaurant and Coffee Shop
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Coylton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Waterfront Restaurant and coffee shop is a delightful restaurant perfectly positioned overlooking the idyllic views of the Coyle Water Fishery. You can always be assured of a very warm welcome and relax comfortably in The Waterfront’s peaceful and tranquil setting. We offer a wide variety of food and beverages, from tasty bites to Daily Specials, all meals are homemade using fresh locally sourced ingredients and prepared by our fully qualified chef. Private Functions Book the Waterfront Restaurant from Monday – Thursday for your own private function. *Private functions available for parties of 12 and above. Outside Catering For special occasions at your home our Waterfront chefs will discuss with you your requirements and provide you with a selection of freshly prepared buffet food. Freshly Prepared | Good Choice of Menu Panoramic Views | Bring Your Own Bottle Our Chefs will also discuss with you your requirements Perfect for that special occasion or business meeting
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Super hot smoked salmon salad”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were looking for somewhere nice to eat after visiting Dumfries House nearly and saw their sgn from the road, curious to know what water it would be alongside as there were no rivers nearby.
The log cabin style restaurant alongside a small fish rearing lake was attractive and the service inside was cheerful and welcoming.
The salmon is reared and smoke on the premises and it was the driest snd most flavoursome salmon we've ever tasted. The home made clutie dumpling pudding with home made custard was also excellent.
We shall certainly visit there again and would thoroughly recommend it to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boycey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    41
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food and location”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Have eaten here a number of times and it always lives up to expectations! Lovely food, lovely people and lovely setting!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorriW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“slow”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

arrived here on a Tuesday at twelve thirty for a light lunch. it was busy on arrival but we did not mind as the views were nice and we just sat and had a chat. we ordered after about half an hour soup and a sandwich and baked potato with egg mayo. in total it took one hour twenty minutes before we ate anything which I think is too long. I think they service in order of arrival but the table before us were all having main meals (fish & chip, gammon steak ect) which takes a bit longer than a sandwich. it would be good if maybe when they are busy to have someone on sandwich, soup and other light meals to help free up the table's. I would normally be in and out in an hour and a half. table turnover means more money too. the staff were nice. we payed about £17 for the above and two cups of tea. it was nice but the feeling they had forgotten about us wasted it a little.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We came out here today after a very disappointing experience at a so called fun day on another farm in Ayrshire...... and I have to say that our disappointment turned into sheer delight. What a delightful place and what a gorgeous location!!
We sat outside and had a beautiful lunch. 2 kinds of soup - cream of celery and lentil - both delicious and the bread looked lovely that came with it but I lost mine to my son!! Prawn cocktail and garlic mushrooms also great according to the daughter and mother...... the service and attention was great and I will def be returning asap!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Warm and caring staff make it enjoyable for all.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I felt compelled to leave a trip advisor comment straight away after enjoying a family celebration at the waterfront this afternoon. The staff are in both my own opinion and those who were in my company today "truly excellent". They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and remain attentive throughout your visit, this includes both the cafe staff and the gentleman in charge of fishery. I would definitley recommend this establishment to others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsfarquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront at Coyle Restaurant and Coffee Shop also viewed

Coylton, South Ayrshire
Coylton, South Ayrshire
 
Coylton, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Waterfront at Coyle Restaurant and Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing