We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coylton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Lovely park in a wonderful country setting, food was great, try the gammon steak and chips. Amusements are good fun and my son won several toys with the vouchers. Pool nice and clean and reception staff were excellent, especially the manager who was always friendly and polite. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaSteve69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    97
    43
    22
    33
See reviews for
215
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumnock
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We visited for easter weekend for my brother in laws 60th birthday. The caravan was lovely and clean however the public areas of park were quite dirty and in need of an update. Also took part in the easter egg hunt which was rediculous. Staff kept shouting at people to not go head and find clues. However some clues were impossible to see. Clues behind the bar in tight corner. This would have been fine if it was for a small group but there was way to many people attended. Would have been better to split it into groups. Had meals out 2 nights we stayed food was lovely although at times service was very slow and we werent booked in until late 1 night so wasnt that busy

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lauren81Cumnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have stayed at Sundrum three times and our caravans have always been spotlessly clean. We take our dog so you don't get wall to wall luxury but I wouldn't expect that. We have always found the staff and facilities to be very good. The only thing you need to avoid at all costs is the Sunday Lunch. The 'seasonal veg' is actually tinned sweetcorn and frozen carrot sticks!! The 'real gravy' we were served was more like brown water. The dog did however thoroughly enjoy eating the dried out pieces of chicken!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dunbartonshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here on a fri-mon break. Caravan was ok, not brand new as stated when booked and abit small but clean enough. Our caravan was very overlooked from other caravans and from walking around the park this is the norm at Sundrum Castle. Bed wasn't very comfortable but caravan equiped with everything you would need. We had no view apart from other peoples net curtains! Food on site was nice and reasonably priced. Staff were nice and friendly. Pool was good for our little one. Really just one play park opposite the bar area for kids....other caravan parks we have been to have parks dotted around the site but not here. Childrens nightly entertainment isn't that exciting, kids were pretty bored after 10 mins or so. Park is close to Ayr and Heads of Ayr Farm park (which is great!). Probably wont be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali3218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed he in our touring caravan for our first trip out this year.

Great value for money and a very well kept site. The touring area was wll kept and clean, the toilet blocks were clean if not a bit small for the site, I can only imagine that in the summer it would be very busy.

The complex was clean. The bar area was nice and again clean. The amusement area was clean but very cold. Prices for alcohol and soft drinks very expensive which is a shame as I think we would have spent more time in the place. We went swimming on the Saturday, nice pool, clean but the changing areas were very cold.

Having looked on the web site this site gets very expensive during the children's holidays which is a shame as I think it would be nice to go then.

Booked up for another weekend in May so let's hope it is a nice weekend and they have sorted out the cold areas :)

Room Tip: Pitch 18 was quite a good itch with a slight slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Lovely weekend last week and we chose the wrong place.Reception staff were lovely but can't say the same for restaurant after they served the smallest and blackest steak I had ever seen.I still cannot believe they felt it was ok to serve this to someone and the attitude of staff was ridiculous when I complained.The previous night some drunk female tried to attack our tent and be verbally abusive.Where was the security when we complained? We didn't know what she was going to do next.Was it safe to leave our tent.Oh but this didn't happen according to the dour faced,rude staff in the bar and restaurant. I would never go back! :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Floem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coylton hotels

Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for a great value midweek Sun holiday break. Just down the road from Ayr this park was ideally located for trips to the racecourse, Burns cottage and museum, loads of Scottish castles and Gretna Green. With it being October the park was a bit quiet and so was the bar and shop. All the staff were great and the caravan we ended up with was excellent - although the first one we were offered we turned down because of the smell. The entertainment was good and so we're the facilities. All in all well worth a go.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank s7oney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coylton
3.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
876 reviews
2.1 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
624 reviews
6.7 mi away
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park
Address: By Ayr | Ayrshire, Coylton KA6 5JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Coylton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Coylton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous beaches, fun and fresh Ayr...You've got it all at this glorious country holiday park. Set in a quiet spot near the beautiful Ayrshire coast, it's the perfect base for exploring the region's many attractionsFrom the golden sands at the seaside resort of Ayr to the ancient Scottish castles which pepper the countryside. And, of course, a visit to Robbie Burns' museum is a must. Add to that the fun indoor pool on park, lively kids' clubs and peaceful nature trails, and there's something for everyone at Sundrum Castle.* Set in glorious rolling countryside * Only four miles from Ayr's sandy beaches * Great for exploring the Ayrshire coastline * Indoor swimming pool complex with flume * Fun for the kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundrum Castle Holiday Park Hotel Coylton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing