We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coylton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“family holiday”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

we stayed here for a week at the end of the sept as part of our holiday/honeymoon, we read the reviews on here previous and were a bit worried but fear not we were wrong, we paid for the darwin caravan and can honestly say it was amazing there were no faults with it clean tidy and brand new you really get what you pay for so rem that when booking.
the kids club was great we went to both in the morning as we had kids of dif ages but they had a ball even at night the club was great and they got a photo with sid and lizzie on many nights so i dont understand how people said they didnt a special thank you to the troupers nikki,lindsay and callum our kids loved you and cant wait to see you again (xander & liljanna).
we had a meal a few times i would say it was just about the same price as eating in ayr if not a bit cheaper and the food was warm and tasted good.
we used the swimming pool quite a lot and we had no problems until the last day when it was freezzing but quicly sorted the flume was a blast.
we found plenty to do around the park did the nature trail and a walk down the country road leads you to some walks which our kidds loved getting up close to the sheep and cows lol.
we are going back next june and we cant wait.

tip ask for pines 22/21 as these were spotless and very quiet right next to the forest
yes it is dear but so is any holiday now you get what you pay for

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tattyteddy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    95
    42
    22
    33
See reviews for
210
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Having a new baby, we decided to stay close to home rather than going abroad. Check in was quick & met by a nice cheery reception. Our caravan, the standard was very high clean & tidy. There were a couple of niggles; broken wine glasses in the cupboard, the locks were broken on nearly all the windows. However on whole the caravan was nice. Our 1st night the boiler didn't work, we all had to sleep in the living room, with the electric fire on to stay warm. Our baby monitor kept alarming due to the low temperature in the caravan. It was sorted the next day. I think the boiler check really needs to be carried out regularly, especially with us having a baby. Ongoing swimming, the baby change/disabled toilet wasn't the most clean. Which there really isn't an excuse as the pool is closed after every hour session, cleaning really should be carried out during this time. There is only 1 baby change. The entertainment was good, we took the wee man to the club from 0-4yrs. It really depended on who was taking the club as to how much they interacted with the children. The Sid and Lizzie show was really good. It would have been nice though if there had been a photo opportunity for the kids 2 have their pics taken with Sid & Lizzie. We will return to sundrum castle as we enjoyed the peace & quiet and it's close proximity to Ayr. p.s it's not the cheapest holiday, would definitley be cheaper going abraod by the time you buy food etc.

Room Tip: pines number 28, nice and out the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolesandbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bathgate
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have just come back from Sundrum castle after a 4 night break Mon-Fri and we stayed in van 46 Dundonald . We were worried after reading some of the reviews before we went so i thought i would write a review on how we enjoyed our stay. We arrived around 3.30pm and went straight to the reception to check in which we got a very nice welcome and were also allowed to check in this half an hour early, when we first walked in the caravan you could smell faint nicotine but what can you expect, we paid around 300 pound for our stay so i couldn't really ask for any better. We weren't sure what to make of caravan at first it was clean and hygienic but could do with some modernizing a lot of things were showing their age, again we reminded ourselfs this was a budget holiday and not to expect too much. You have to make your own beds upon arrival but all of the sheets are pack and freshly washed and starched and for that fact im glad we had to make them ourselfs at least we know its fresh linen. All kitchen essentials provided but we didnt use the cooker etc i did try to get the gas cooker working but i couldnt seem to get it working, my cooker at home is electric so i decided not to fiddle too much. We eat out every night in the complex and was affordable and i cannot fault their meals or entertainment our 2 year old son loved Sid and Lizzie and this break has really refreshed us. The facilities could all do with upgrading and i really think if they did this it would make a huge difference to the reviews they get. However all facilities and the accommodation were clean and tidy. There was a small nisa shop on site which was actually reasonably priced for the gifts etc and there was also a chip shop next door which is only open over the weekend. The swimming pool was great would have made it more enjoyable if there was a sauna or steam room but the pool was still great. The restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced although they only serve breakfast Fri - Mon. There was an entertainment area which was fairly small and most of the machines were a rip off although for our sons amusement we still played some of these and he seemed to love all of the lights etc.The location is great if you drive , we visited heads of ayr farm and pirate petes soft play and would highly recommend these to visit our son loved them both. Overall i would go back again but i think i will try a Butlins holiday next before i would want to go back to parkdean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just come back from a week long break at Sundrum. with my 2 kids aged 14 and 10. The park is relatively small but in a smashing location and surrounded by lovely countryside. The park grounds were well kept and overall the site was clean and the service was very good. We booked a 3 bed caravan and chose the Bellisle caravan which was 1 from top of the range. The caravan was spacious and comfortable and clean. I see some reviewers have commented on the poor state of their caravans and I expect these are people who opted for budget accomodation. Why take the risk? Pay a bit extra for some extra comfort rather than gambling on a caravan that accomodates pets?

As for the facilities we used on site, the swimming pool was large enough and as you would expect. The mini ten pin bowling was also fine as were the amusements. The on site shop was actually not badly priced and they bake their own rolls so you can pick up fresh every day.

We used the take away (generous lady serving gave me 2 pieces of fish) and we used the restuarant once. The food was of a good standard.

The entertainment was very good but what i would say is the relatively small stage and small venue does have an impact on delivery of quality plus there could have been a little more variety on the acts.There were some utensils missing from our caravan - was not a major issue for me though so these 2 combined made me mark it 4 out of 5 overall..

The entertainment staff work hard and do a very good job and generally all the staff on site were polite and friendly and efficient. I would have no hesitation recommending this site to friends for a holiday.

.

Room Tip: Ensure you opt for a near top of the range caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

hoseasons /parkdean. will not let you put poor comments on there web sites .the facts of this site we had 4 kids under 8 years old open the doors of the van you are standing on the Maine road the van was a dog house broken seats filthy a dump. then the entertainment at night 7/8 pm family then the bingo till 9pm adult entertainment after that. kids are split into groups by van numbers they compete all week for the prize. of nothing chest as went missing with them in.then on fridays swimming gala big build up glow sticks etc/etc pool toys and it costs £3per child and £3per adult if they cant swim. at the end kids get a capri sun drink adult nothing sick thing is the pool is free for the length of your stay the cost for 4 drinks £15 . don't use the one arm bandits that give tickets the prizes are junk plastic and that's if the kids can exchange the tickets to get one not a family park adult yes

Room Tip: don't book dundonald caravans
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogfish783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coylton hotels

North East England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and two kids, paid about £150 for five days in April after driving three hours or so from our home in Newcastle. The lodge and the site were pleasant enough with food and drink available in the bar/restaurant and plenty for the kids to do. The site is ideally situated for anyone wishing to discover the delights of Ayrshire - a ten minute drive takes you to Ayr, or you can drive slightly further south and see the beautiful sight of Ailsa Craig nestling on the surface of the sea. We also spent a whole day at the Heads of Ayr Farm Park, one of the best places we have been to with our kids and well worth a visit.

All told, Aryshire is a beautiful part of Scotland and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and kids for 2 weeks a lovely location with great walks to be had friendly helpfull staff especially the entertainment team particularly nikki who the kids loved activities in the morning for the kids were good and night time entertainment as well plenty of space in the caravan and nice sized site will be going again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acornmandan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coylton
3.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
12.8 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,109 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
862 reviews
10.2 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
476 reviews
6.7 mi away
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park
Address: By Ayr | Ayrshire, Coylton KA6 5JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Coylton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Coylton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous beaches, fun and fresh Ayr...You've got it all at this glorious country holiday park. Set in a quiet spot near the beautiful Ayrshire coast, it's the perfect base for exploring the region's many attractionsFrom the golden sands at the seaside resort of Ayr to the ancient Scottish castles which pepper the countryside. And, of course, a visit to Robbie Burns' museum is a must. Add to that the fun indoor pool on park, lively kids' clubs and peaceful nature trails, and there's something for everyone at Sundrum Castle.* Set in glorious rolling countryside * Only four miles from Ayr's sandy beaches * Great for exploring the Ayrshire coastline * Indoor swimming pool complex with flume * Fun for the kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundrum Castle Holiday Park Hotel Coylton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing