We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for teenagers as well as children!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coylton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant for teenagers as well as children!”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We went for a week to Sundrum Castle with my two teenage daughters (both 16) and my 9 year old daughter and my friend and her son who is also 9. Absolutely brilliant! the 2 older girls met a massive crowd of 17 other teenagers they went walks up to the castle at night and seemed to have a brilliant time. We stayed in the Dundonald Caravan which was OK the single beds were tiny and the shower was on the small side but the whole caravan EXTREMELY clean which you cant ask for anything better is white crisp sheets! There is a fabulous chippy on site. There is a football park , brilliant swimming pool and if i must say hot lifeguards haha. But really this is the best caravan holiday I have been to that provides for all age groups and brilliant service off the staff could not have asked for any better. Most importantly the kids were safe and the security guards kept a close eye on the kids at all times. We were gutted to come home my 16 year old daughter was crying for 20 minutes saying bye to all her friends. We are so gutted that it is fully booked for october week but we are definitely going for the school easter holidays..

hoped this helped some of you who are deciding to go!

HAVE FUN!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    97
    44
    22
    33
See reviews for
216
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Arrived 1/2 hour early which was no problem. Muirfield Caravan with Parkdean which was clean but worn(carpet could do with a shampoo). But it did the job. Very quiet location of caravan, but no problem for our kids to walk down to play park (12 + 5).

Entertainment after 9pm was very good, the kids thoroughly enjoyed it. Never seen the kids entertainment thro the day. The bar had an extra for the kids which served slushes, popcorn and sweeties this was poorly manned and the kids stood for ages.

Staff were excellent, on looking for directions to attractions a sheet was given with directions which was very handy. Pool was clean but very busy. Shop very expensive, do your food shopping in ASDA or Tesco.

Very safe and quiet site compared to Carig Tara which seems to be 5 times the size!!

Only thing take note - Preswick Airport isn't far away and the planes travel over head at 7am in the morning!!

In a whole will go again, but will upgrade caravan.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our family had a great time at Sundrum Castle caravan park. We are a family of four (2 boys aged 5 &1) and we went to celebrate our youngest son's 1st birthday for 1 week.
We stayed in the Darley caravan which was new for 2011. It was clean and had plenty of storage, 2 bedrooms, everything you could ask for really.
We ate at Tam o Shanters twice and it was ok. I would describe it as usual pub grub - nothing exciting. We did however go into Ayr and ate at the Kylestrome restaurant which was excellent 5/5 - recommend it.
Heads of Ayr park was excellent for a day out - we spent the whole day and the kids loved it.
Alloway is a lovely place to visit. We had a lovely meal at the Brig o Doon Hotel - very picturesque.

Anyway back to Sundrum, evening entertainment was great. Some really good acts following the usual bingo and stuff that you normally get at caravan parks. Entertainers worked really hard and were enthusiastic dancers - singing not that great but still entertaining.
Bar service wasn't great, although the bar tenders worked very hard there was just not enough of them. Also tables weren't cleared regularly - perhaps more staff during peak times would prevent these little niggles.
Excellent holiday overall though, lots of really friendly fellow holidaymakers.
Would defo go back !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheGe0rges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carluke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

been to sundrum castle about 6 times now. as said before it isnt as big as haven but is a great site. it doesnt have the flashy funfair etc but this is ideal for us (and saves you money). has everything you will need for your stay, although there is no cash machine but there is one in the local village a few mins away. the grounds are well kept, the staff are friendly and helpful. there is the two bars, with mcintyres only used during the main season, with tam oshanters being used for entertainment off peak. i would happily reccommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doreenyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The park was clean and tidy, and appeared to be well set up for kids and families. The caravan initially appeared to be very clean, if somewhat tired (ripped wallpaper/mismatched curtains and seating/discoloured grouting in the shower). However, this was a caravan they allowed people to take dogs to and after our first night both I and my partner were covered in flea bites, which was unpleasant to say the least.

Whilst Parkdean could not be expected to know that one of their previous guests was skanky enough to take a flea infested dog to stay in their caravans I would recommend you ask for one of the vans that does not accept dogs, particularly if you have kids with you. I will be writing to Parkdean to suggest they fumigate their caravans that do accept dogs every six weeks or so.

We got this holiday as a freebie when we bought our sofa, which was lucky as I would have been disapointed to have paid the £280 it should have cost..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Sundrum and I just wanted to mention a few small things that may help others.

The site is aproximately 4 miles from Ayr and as a previous reviewer mentioned, if you don't drive, then travelling to and forth can be costly. There is a local bus service from the main road ( 10/ 15 min walk?) but there is a bus service (which is often a taxi but is ran as a bus servic) from the site itself. This runs from the site at 10am and 12 noon each day (£2.40 per person) and the return service is 2.15pm and 4.15pm. The benefits of this is no long walk carrying messages, luggage etc. I wish someone had mentioned this before we travelled as it would have been good to know.

The main web site mentions a takeaway on the camp, which there is but when we were there it was only open on Friday & Saturday night. The rest of the week, takeaways were offered from the main bar between 5.30pm & 8.30pm - we never used the service but I imagine it would not be ideal waiting for food whilst the bar/ entertainment venue was busy.

The site itself is well laid out and compact and the facilities are adequate. One other small thing I would mention which I think is misleading on the main web site is that the Tam O'Shanter lounge and Kintyre entertainment venue are not separate areas - there is no distinction at all between the two areas so if you are hoping for a quiet drink , sadly that isn't possible ( except in your caravan!)

Overall, a nice site but we visited Tummel Valley site last year which I think was much better.

Room Tip: Use the bus / taxi service available from the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I thought this park was a little dated around the entertainment area, however it still had all the facilities for the kids to enjoy.

The caravan was spotlessly clean, the only annoying thing was the boiler clicking on and off every few minutes during the night. In the end I had to turn it off which meant a cold caravan in the morning.

The staff were helpful and lovely and the kids entertainers were great for my 2 and 4 year old.

The pool was of an adequate size with flume and small pool for smaller children, but I felt the water was very cold the day we used it which did put off my 2 year old.

If you have kids, the heads of ayr farm park is great, just on the way out of Ayr. Loch Lomond is around a 1.5 hours drive away but very beautiful when you get there.

All in all, the park was what we expected and is a little quiet compared to the Haven one but this did mean it was peaceful. Just a shame the week we went, the weather was so bad.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeybunny2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coylton
3.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
877 reviews
2.1 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
624 reviews
6.7 mi away
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park
Address: By Ayr | Ayrshire, Coylton KA6 5JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Coylton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Coylton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous beaches, fun and fresh Ayr...You've got it all at this glorious country holiday park. Set in a quiet spot near the beautiful Ayrshire coast, it's the perfect base for exploring the region's many attractionsFrom the golden sands at the seaside resort of Ayr to the ancient Scottish castles which pepper the countryside. And, of course, a visit to Robbie Burns' museum is a must. Add to that the fun indoor pool on park, lively kids' clubs and peaceful nature trails, and there's something for everyone at Sundrum Castle.* Set in glorious rolling countryside * Only four miles from Ayr's sandy beaches * Great for exploring the Ayrshire coastline * Indoor swimming pool complex with flume * Fun for the kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundrum Castle Holiday Park Hotel Coylton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing