We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor mans haven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coylton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“poor mans haven”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

having just returned from the site i will start with some positives the site grass and gardens are maintained nicely and the caravan which we booked was top of the range and lovely . Other than that we found people to be less than friendly with the only exception being the young man who worked in the site shop. The facilities are not up to much the astro turf is ok with some wooden boarded fence around it and nothing organised on here just do your own thing! The pool changin rooms were so dirty i made my daughter keep her flip flops on and we never ventured back after one visit! There is a really poor crazy hole with no numbers or flags but they have the cheek to want to charge for this! One chip shop take away which was not tried and only saw it open once. The park is four miles from ayr and you really need a car to do anything or you ll be stuck here perish the thought ! Ayr has an excellent children play area just off the sea front but beware it feels very intimidating in the evening with many young boy racers using the immediate area as race circuit! All in all not to be repeated. To sum it up a "poor mans haven"

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thebig40th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    95
    42
    22
    33
See reviews for
210
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Just returned from our 3rd time at Sundrum and again we all loved it. (2 adults and 2 toddlers) We took our tourer for a long weekend. The touring block is very clean and well equipped, the showers have good pressure but do cool at peak times but this is to be expected. The park itself is very clean and staff are all friendly. The location is ideal for going into Ayr and enjoying what it has to offer. When the weather is good it is even better. The sight facilities are great just the right amount of activities for the size of the site. What else is good is that there is always a friendly fellow tourer willing to guide you into your pitch safely.

My only complaint is that when checking in late it is done at the bar and on all three occassions I have had to wait almost 20 minutes before being seen as there is only one person on the bar taking food and drink orders an no seperation for check in but I suppose it gives me 20 minutes away from the kids after being in the car with them for 45 minutes being over excited about visiting their favourite caravan park.

Looking forward to going again soon

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is a great site with loads to do - our caravan was booked privately through a webpage www.bebo.com/caravanayr . The van itself is right next to the faciities which meant we could watch the kids from the window but still be far enough away for peace and quiet. Our caravan was packed with games and dvd's for the kids which was great.
The linen was included too which was a bonus. The lady was really helpful and was really relaxed about us renting her new caravan. The site has great entertainment and we even got a few hours peace whilst the kids went to the kids club. Staff are very professional. There is no ATM on site but the spar shop 10 mins away has one which is handy. Great hol all round and would recommend the caravan site.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinkbunnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebrides
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Great little park. Maxi and Milli worked their charms on our granddaughter. Nice clean pool. Excellent food reasonably priced. Even the dog loved it. Beautiful countryside with lots of long walks, very visitor friendly and good shopping in nearby Ayr. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hebrideanvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monmouth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

myself and my partner and our three children stayed at sundrum castle holiday park this june and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.caravan very clean and everything worked as it should.swimming pool kept immaculate and park very clean only went to clubhouse once but seemed excellent .lots to see and do all within 50 mile radius and wonderful scenery.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anicholls62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We Stayed at sundrum castle (park dean) for 4 nites & had a great time. Went with out 2 kids who are 7 & 4. We have previously stayed at the Haven in ayr & had a bad experiance.
However sundrum castle was excellent. We stayed in a new 2010 caravan which was immaculate & had eveything we needed. The swimming pool is great & the opening times r very gud, my son loved the slide! The shop is well stocked though is a bit expensive for some things. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the tam o shanter bar Food & Service was great. Entertainment was good for the kids though not so much on for the adults, 1 night had a singer on & she was great. They also showed sky sports in there which was great for the boys!! The park & outdoor sports pitch were a big hit with the kids & well maintained. Reception staff were very helpful too. Overall it was a great short break at a great price. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissWCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Just returned from a weeks holiday here. Our Bellisle caravan was brand new and spacious enough although I kinda expected there would be 2 toilets.
The park facilities I used were very good.
The whole place felt well run, the staff were very helpful and polite and I felt secure enough during my time there to allow my children to have a bit of a roam by themselves.
Nearby Heads of Ayr Farm was a really good family day out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingerscot9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coylton
3.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
12.8 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,109 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
862 reviews
10.2 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
475 reviews
6.7 mi away
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park
Address: By Ayr | Ayrshire, Coylton KA6 5JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Coylton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Coylton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous beaches, fun and fresh Ayr...You've got it all at this glorious country holiday park. Set in a quiet spot near the beautiful Ayrshire coast, it's the perfect base for exploring the region's many attractionsFrom the golden sands at the seaside resort of Ayr to the ancient Scottish castles which pepper the countryside. And, of course, a visit to Robbie Burns' museum is a must. Add to that the fun indoor pool on park, lively kids' clubs and peaceful nature trails, and there's something for everyone at Sundrum Castle.* Set in glorious rolling countryside * Only four miles from Ayr's sandy beaches * Great for exploring the Ayrshire coastline * Indoor swimming pool complex with flume * Fun for the kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundrum Castle Holiday Park Hotel Coylton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing