We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place to dine.....”
Review of Golden Lion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osmotherley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Lion
Ranked #1 of 7 Osmotherley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to dine.....”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We regularly go to the Golden Lion for a special meal. The small, warm cosy atmosphere is great, the food is excellent, and the candlelit tables make for a great evening. Chose to write this mainly because I saw a bad review on here, and feel it is a little unjust!

Granted, it is popular, so you will need to book, and may find yourself waiting a little, but it's well worth it.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    45
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
29
87
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We spent a good few hours biking on the moors until eventually we were snowed off. A wonderful welcome back at the cosy warm pub, where we were treated to great food in a lovely setting. Excellent beer too. We stayed for two nights and were very impressed with the superb rooms, particularly the shower!

Room Tip: We were in room 2, which was delightful. No view but that didn't seem important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed at the nearby Somerset house farm and just travelled here for a meal. They were only just able to fit us in but so glad the could. Food was fantastic! Had a lovely meal infront of the log fire! Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicamcc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed here last year with a bunch of mates on a cycling trip and I have just booked to go back - this time on on romantic weekend. Great rooms, great beers, great food and great service will always be a winning formula.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Arrived at opening time on a grey November day and a pint of the local 10/40 Ale and a half of Hereford Cider was most welcome. The pub was busy with locals , always a good sign , and a few travellers. The food was really excellent and I can recommend the haddock and spring onion risotto or the chicken stuffed with black pudding. Service was , as last time , polite , professional and we were made to feel most welcome. Our room was large well appointed and warm.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawardTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Co, NC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

It does not look all that much from the outside but inside is a different story. A classic country pub downstairs but upstairs the rooms have all been refurbished and are very luxurious - we had a slate-floored walk in shower, for example. Dinner at night was very good and the atmosphere in the pub was warm and cozy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Orange_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The service was excellent, the room was tastefully furnished and no corners had been cut. A wet room and pulsing shower where just some of the favourable features. The location is fantastic; the foot of the North York Moors and national park with the hotel nestling in Osmotherely, an unspoilt tiny North Yorkshire Village. The staff at the hotel were friendly, polite and attentive without being 'in your face'. In the day the bar had walkers, locals and a large TV screen but in the evening, the TV whent off and the bar transformed into a relaxing, cosy bistro with a wonderful atmoshpere. Our only gripe would be the lack of biscuits with the Tea/cofee in the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieYork186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmotherley
1.5 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
7.1 mi away
The Inn at Hawnby
The Inn at Hawnby
#1 of 3 in Hawnby
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
487 reviews
6.0 mi away
High Paradise Farm
High Paradise Farm
#1 of 9 in Thirsk
105 reviews
4.3 mi away
Swan House
Swan House
#6 of 23 in Northallerton
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion

Property: Golden Lion
Address: 6 West End, Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Osmotherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Osmotherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th Century stone inn overlooking the market cross of Osmotherley, Gateway to the Moors. A village as unspoilt as any in the North York Moors National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hotel Osmotherley
Golden Lion Osmotherley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing