We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy,crammed in and no wardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Nice campsite, fantastic little village with 3 great pubs but noisy all day long with loud music , drunken partying and too many caravans crammed into a fairly small site. Worst of all no wardens to sort things out !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank keithdenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Relates to: Cote Ghyll Caravan and Camping Park

Dear Mr Denby,
It was good that I was able to discuss your review with you personally before you checked out today. After a fabulous and sunny but quiet bank holiday weekend your comments were surprising.

You explained that the guests on your neighbouring pitch did not respect your privacy and space which spoiled your stay at Cote Ghyll. Your negative comments referred to those individuals and not to the caravan park in general.

Our wardens are available 24 / 7 but you preferred not to ask us to intervene as this would have made an ‘uncomfortable’ atmosphere between you and your neighbours for the rest of your stay. This was unfortunate because we are experienced in handling this type of situation without identifying the complainant.

You said that you would visit again and we look forward to your next visit.

We would always urge guests to come to a member of staff with any problem during their stay as it is impossible to rectify the problem after you have departed.

Jonathan Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

Astonishingly bad. Blocked drains, flies and bedbugs. Absolutely awful. The beds in the room were held together by electric tape, the sound of dripping, leaking pipes was constant and the bedbug bites were truly horrendous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duncanpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Relates to: Cote Ghyll Mill
We’ve had a busy day today investigating the criticisms you have made. With the help of a pest control contractor we have found absolutely no evidence of the insects you have mentioned.

We do take cleanliness very seriously and it is reassuring to have been given the ‘thumbs up’ by the experts.

We have also been unable to find any blocked drains or dripping pipes which may have caused the noises you have described. We have 57 guests in the hostel tonight, we’ll be sure to ask them in the morning if they heard any strange noises in the night!

Jonathan Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just enjoyed another great week at Cote Ghyll. This was our 4th visit and each time we have come there appear to have been improvements made to the facilities. Looks like some new staff this year, but just as friendly and helpful as we have come to expect. Stayed in one of the site owned static caravans, clean, warm, comfortable and reasonably priced. We have used our trailer tent on previous visits and found the toilet blocks and other facilities to be spotlessly clean even when the weather was awful!
Have recommended the site to friends who all enjoyed their stay and intend to return.

If you are looking for good facilities, peace and quiet and great countryside, this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Relates to: Cote Ghyll Caravan and Camping Park
Thank you so much for your comments and for recommending Cote Ghyll to your friends. We look forward to welcoming you again and again.
Jonathan Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time here in a caravan for 3 nights. Friendly staff and spotlessly clean site. Great play park for kids, dog friendly and quiet from 10pm.

Only reason I have given four stars instead of five is because shower block was really cold so we were shivering after our showers. But a minor gripe on an otherwise great trip.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank jinglepopsdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thanks for your review. We hope you will come again soon. I’ll make sure the heating is turned up a little higher for the future!
Jonathan Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have been coming to this lovely caravan park for many years .We stayed for most of our grand children's summer holidays last year.The site is always immaculate and I have recommended it to several of our friends who have always expressed their satisfaction,indicating they would be returning.
The staff run this site as it should be run so that ALL visitors have as pleasant an experience as possible.They are all extremely helpful and friendly.
I cannot understand the negative comments from some visitors.I can only say that I am pleased they were not our immediate neighbours during our stays.Cosideration for others on the site is vitally important and some seem to oblivious to this.
If this means they do not come back,I for one am only too happy! Keep up the good work Cote Ghyll !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
We have two priorities at Cote Ghyll; To provide clean, top quality facilities and to ensure a peaceful and safe environment where our guests can enjoy the countryside.
Throughout the day and particularly in the late evening our staff work hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay in harmony.
It’s great to hear that our hard work is appreciated!
Jonathan Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a great time last week lots of lovely walks straight from the park. Facilities are first class as are the wardens . Been here a few times and have always enjoyed ourselves even in the snow ! Would highly recommend this site . Will be back again in the summer.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thanks for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again in the summer.
Jonathan Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

When we arrived early evening we were met by the warden who made us feel immediately welcome. My husband and I stayed for one night on the super pitch spot next to the Warden's pitch and we found it to be just excellent. Lovely views and very relaxing. The toilet/shower facilities were just superb. Absolutely spotless. Who would want to complain about underfloor heating in the shower, free hairdryer etc. Fresh flowers completed the fresh feel about the toilet/shower facilities. A code is required for the door so the toilets can be used anytime whatsoever. Throughout the morning I observed the Warden using the power hose washing all around the exterior of the toilet block. Spring flowers, shrubs and trees surrounding the site gave the site an enchanting feel. The site is beautifully kept and would recommend it to anyone. The only criticism I would make is that we were not given the £2 discount when we stayed Tuesday 8th April, 2014. I only noticed when were were on our way home when I read about it from the literature. So hopefully I can recoup this from the owners?? As far as the site and facilities is required we can only say very positive things. H & J Miller

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmiller456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Owner at Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

We are so glad that you could share the best of spring with us this week. With the trees and hedges changing rapidly to green, with daffodils in full flower and early blossoms starting to appear it seems that spring really has sprung!

Cote Ghyll’s £2.00 per night midweek discount should have been deducted from your cost, sorry that it wasn’t. This will be refunded as quickly as possible.

Jonathan Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmotherley
1.3 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
405 reviews
6.3 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
307 reviews
6.5 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
226 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
507 reviews
8.5 mi away
Field View B&B
Field View B&B
#3 of 5 in Yarm
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park

Address: Cote Ghyll, Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park DL6 3AH, England (Formerly Osmotherly Hostel YHA)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Osmotherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Osmotherley
Price Range: $68 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park has a range of accommodation to suit all types. First class touring & camping facilities are available in the Holiday Park along with luxury holiday caravans & holiday cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park Osmotherley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing