We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Moon House B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osmotherley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moon House B&B
Ranked #5 of 7 Osmotherley B&B and Inns
London
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very well appointed B and B and no serious complaints hence the five stars. I know B and B's are not obliged in any way to provide tea on arrival but we had by this time got rather used to it and we get rather got the impression that the landlady had better things to do. The property is up for sale. Breakfast was good but our sausages were a bit undercooked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyNomad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Firstly Osmotherley - beautiful village, really buzzing on our stop there and well worth the detour from the route, particularly as the walk over from Danby Wiske is short.

Missed Di on our arrival so note on door told us to collect the keys from Three Tuns pub next door and we were on our own until breakfast the next morning.

Large bedroom and bathroom

Good breakfast and nice touches with packed lunch - cherry tomatoes included etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the coast to coast. This is a charming old building in a lovely town. We had a good stay. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom good. There is no sitting room for guests or drying room. Di was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast and packed lunch were fine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We used Moon House whilst walking C2C and it needed a diversion from the path of a mile to stay here, each way. And well worth the additional couple of miles. We arrived a little earlier than most B&B like you to turn up so adjourned to one of the local pubs. We needn't have bothered as a charming friendly person was waiting for us. The room was spacious with a single and double bed, both comfortable. It was nice to have plenty of space to leave your luggage open. Many C2C B&B rooms are on the small side. And if required there was more than ample drawer and hanging space. A good sized shower room and all in all an excellent room suitable for short breaks and not just overnighters. A good breakfast with the usual "Full English" components set us up for the day. Coupled with a friendly host an ideal place but "Up for Sale". Would definitely stay here again. Evening Meals available from a number of hostelries within minutes walking distance. We used Queen Charlotte and it was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived dripping wet after torrential rain but were greeted warmly and drying facilities were on hand

Di is very friendly and serves an excellent breakfast

To room was lovely and bright,clean and well equipped

We ate at the three tuns next door whic is highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is worth going a short distance off the coast to coast route for. The rooms are of good quality- a triple room was spacious for 3 of us. Di was happy to collect weary walkers from Ingleby cross. Great location in the village and the Three tons next door is superb for an evening meal

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieDBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at Moon House while walking the Coast to Coast. We found Di very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and well equipped as was the bathroom. Breakfast was of a very high standard. Osmotherley is a lovely village and Moon House is very well located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill2001c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moon House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon House B&B

Property: Moon House B&B
Address: 11 South End, Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park DL6 3BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Osmotherley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Osmotherley
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon House Bed & Breakfast Set in the heart of the picturesque Village of Osmotherley. A Grade 2 listed building, sympathetically refurbished to a high standard. Keeping its quaintness and charm, a variation of the old and the new.Some original features mixed with our modern day conveniences. All our rooms have en-suite facilities T.V, Tea and Coffee Our Breakfast Menu is varied and all sourced locally There are Excellent Restaurants and pubs within a minutes walk. You will be spoilt for choice!!! Osmotherley is situated in the National Park. A Gateway to Fantastic Scenery and walks all around ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moon House B&B Osmotherley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing