We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off by rude staff”
Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $44
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Ripped off by rude staff”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We popped in for a quick half and some crisps while enjoying a Sunday stroll. The barman was rude, all but refusing to top up our drinks despite there being a couple of centimetres of head. But the beer was ok. Crisps turned out to be little 25g bags from a multipack that were sold separately despite clear labelling saying that they should not be. Bit dodgy that. We left about £5 poorer after a half pint each and two wee bags of crisps. Rip off.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank eddymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    91
    21
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hutton Rudby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Yorkshire Pub- great food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have been regular visitors to the Golden Lion for the last 20 years- we live nearby. We have tried many other restaurants in the area, however always come back to the Golden Lion as our favourite- whether it be a celebration, or just because there's no food in the house, it has never disappointed
When friends visit we take them here to show them what a proper pub should look like!
The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble, the choice of beers is excellent and the food is great- both from the usual menu, or from the specials board.
Recently a friend who is a bit of a foodie, commented on the "outstanding poussin", the steak is the best in the area, and the home made puddings are all wonderful.
This pub is hugely popular with locals such as us, but also walkers, holiday makers in the North Yorkshire Moors National Park and the lucky opportunist who discovers this gem by serendipity.
Highly recommended!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Lovely, family run pub, great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We visited Osmotherley for the day and enjoyed a lovely lunch here. Most tables were booked, we were lucky to be given a table early that was booked for later. The young man who served us was very friendly and accommodating and the atmosphere was lovely, lots of attention to detail. Worth a mention was the beautifully clean and attractive washroom! Again lots of attention to detail. The only slightly negative would be the quality of the chips. The pork starter was absolutely delicious as was the bruschetta, although the latter was a little on the pricey side. We would definitely return, not least for the pork!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kernowcouple94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A fantastic welcome on a horrible wet evening!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We dropped in by chance having been forced to leave the A19 becuse of torrential rain. How pleased we are that we did as this place is exceptional! The atmosphere was so warm and friendly, the service second to none and the food beautiful. we will next time be making a trip to come here, rather thasn just passing through.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newcyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“By the candle light”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to Osmotherley after a very tiring walk deprived of energy and very hungry. It was raining and cold. We went inside and spotted a cosy space with few rooms lit by the candles. The waiter led us to our table next to fireplace and then we ordered our lunch. Everything was very tasty and fresh especially for us as exhausted wanderers. We did not need to wait long and even pay too much. The only problem we had was with O2 coverage - to call my son I had to get outside and walk around to find the best connection. Definitely we will pop in once again when we are back to Osmothereley.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonofmyparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park
Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park
 
Swainby, North Yorkshire
Staddlebridge, Northallerton
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing