We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a visit to the NorthEast !!”

Queen Catherine Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osmotherley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queen Catherine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Osmotherley B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a visit to the NorthEast !!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What can I say ? The foods good and plenty of it,,, from Breakfast through lunch and then a hearty dinner with lots of choices. The accomodations are crispy clean!! The entertainment on the weekend is worth a visit alone.The location to Teesside is easy while you are still out in the beautiful English countryside. The host and hostess make your stay easy and enjoyable... Well done guys.
Ill be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
13
31
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

stayed for 1 night after a 20 mile plus day on the cleveland way. Lovely villlage and great hotel. room was nice and clean, staff welcoming. had a bar meal which was just what we needed after the walk. if you are looking for fine dining you may be disappointed but for a bar meal it is okay. good range of real ales and lagers. breakfast was very good too.
also visited pub opposite and made very welcome by the locals. all in all a lovely place to stay, in a wonderful village. cannot wait to return and would definitely stay at the queen catherine again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardbeaum0nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Queen Catherine a week ago and liked it so much we invited our friends who manage one of the most popular pubs in the north of England to come and join us. They enjoyed their stay too and are looking forward to returning.
On arrival we were immediately shown to our rooms, dinner reservations taken and a drinks order taken. Marvellous!
Nick, the owner, could not have been more helpful. The rooms are spotless with en-suite facilities. Yes, the rooms may be a little dated but who cares when you are staying in a truly authentic village pub/hotel! The village of Osmotherley is extremely popular and this pub is the centre of attention.
Breakfast was excellent and quickly served.
Our dog was welcome too (because he is well behaved) and all in all we will be making this venue a regular weekend break retreat.

Room Tip: All are spotless so no preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alastair1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I've just spent the last four nights at the Queen Catherine while on a course, nearby. The pub was comfortable, the food tasty and reasonably priced, and the staff really friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to return there. It's position on the edge of the North Yorks Moors is ideal as a base to explore. By the way, I passed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra K, Owner at Queen Catherine Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Congratulations and good luck for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We only spent one night but the landlord and landlady were very welcoming and the rooms were extremely clean.
Breakfast was lovely and all staff friendly. We had a lovely night and my Hubby was on crutches so ideal night out/night in.
The other pubs in the area were trying to be a little more 'gastro' which made them less welcoming.
The building itself is very traditional and charming but well maintained.
We will definately visit again. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had an overnight stay at this hotel, which is in a very good location. We had a warm friendly welcome and shown straight to our room. The room was very warm and cosy with extremely comfortable beds. The building itself oozes character and a feeling of history. The really brilliant feature were two open fires, one in the lounge area and one in the dining area, which threw out brilliant heat. These fires are on all day and night so the cosiness is maintained at all times. We had an evening meal, which was more than satisfying. Good plain food, nicely served. We were very well looked after by the landlord and landlady and their staff. No doubt that we will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms were more than adequate. It was a peaceful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

After spending years visiting & walking around the lovely village of Osmotherley, we for the first time visited the Queen Catherine hotel for a post walk meal & pint. The pub opposite was our usual stop off, but to be honest we dont feel the same welcome these days. Walkers seem to be overun by diners ( might just be my thoughts)
The Queen Catherine however had the warmest welcome from bar staff, friendly banter from a great landlord & no feeling of being one of those unwelcome damp walkers.
Vegetable curry to die for, with big Northern chips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheekybaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Queen Catherine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Catherine Hotel

Property: Queen Catherine Hotel
Address: 7 West End, Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park DL6 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Osmotherley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Osmotherley
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Queen Catherine Hotel Osmotherley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing