We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vane House Non-Visit”
Review of Vane House

Vane House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osmotherley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vane House
Ranked #5 of 7 Osmotherley B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Outside looked good but never saw inside
£60 for a single person for a room costing £85 for 2.
Owners said to be concerned at lack of trade -
they think it's all down to the weather.
Other places on Cleveland Way also overprice single accommodation
to discourage solo walkers - deliberately ??

Trev

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 60 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights recently visiting friends who have moved to the area. Fantastic welcome, I had phoned earlier to say I'd be coming early afternoon and this wasn't a problem. I had a lovely cosy warm room which was essential with the outside climate! Nicely presented breakfast and I had a good choice, as well as the cereals and juices. The owner and his partner are very knowledgeable about the area and recommended some great places to visit, which was very helpful because my friends haven't lived in the area that long. The house is very tidy and clean, and this is quite amazing considering they have 2 young children (who sleep well at night!) I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed here for one night. Check in was very welcoming, room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Full English breakfast was delicious, with choice of cereals, fresh fruit, juices, and hot drinks. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Definately be back on the next hiking trip up there.

I would also recommend the Three Tuns restaurant nearby for a nice evening meal and drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller123Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Night 9 of our C2C trek, and imagine our delight at finding ourselves in what is a charming, sleepy little english village with a choice of pubs and restaurants.....looked like it was going to be a little slice of heaven, and then......

We checked in at Vane House. Packhorse had told us check-in was strictly not before 4.00 pm so we had lunch, wandered around, and then at 4.00 pm sharp, rang the door and met our host. From the start we drew the conclusion that this is a guy working under pressure - looks like he gives driving lessons as his real job - and that Vane House, or perhaps it's just the guests, are annoying distractions.

It's always tough making these calls because it is impossible to know what is going on in this guy's life. At the end of the day, however, you can only react to what you experienced. He showed us to our rooms, outlined a few of the "do's and don'ts", and was probably more quickly efficient than engaging. He seemed to want to get away. He did, however, win quite a few points recommending The White Lion for dinner. It was one of the best meals we had on the whole C2C, so I do thank him for that.

We didn't have any heat to dry things, and our boots joined those of fellow walkers lined up in the front hall. Breakfast was efficient but ordinary and hurried - again the feeling was that everything was being done around other commitments.

Our room was functional, comfortable, warm and clean but separate sheets on bed could suggest doona/duvet covers are not changed after every guest (gulp). Bathroom was small but functional - good grief, there's that word "functional" again. I guess that is my conclusion - the owner provides a service that is functional rather than an experience and there is nothing to make you want to go back. That was also the feedback from others we met on the track. Probably a 5 out of 10.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here on our Coast to Coast walk. The initial welcome was the best of anything. The entrance had all the guests wet boots lined up on the floor and no ability to dry them out and no offer of help from the host. The room had no heat and we put our wet socks on a rack in the kitchen late at night hoping they would dry by morning. The kitchen was the only warm room in the place (and it was generally off limits - had to slip in after the host turned in. The room was comfortable enough, but without heat to dry out the clothes (and no offer from the host to help out) we weren't impressed. We asked to order a lunch the night before to which the host responded 'it's a bit late for that'. Simply not acceptable.We did ask for a simple ham sandwich on brown bread for the morning. After a breakfast delivered by our host who clearly didn't want to be hosting anything, our fully packed lunches were summarily plopped on the floor - we only wanted a sandwich. Our host was curt and objectionable that we didn't want the full lunch and on changing it back to a sandwich each, he accused us of not returning all the remainder and promptly told us the cost for 3 sandwiches and 3 pieces of fruit would be 20 quid. Some frustrating moments followed with us exasperated, settling up at 15 quid (still a ripoff) and wanting to leave as fast a possible - in our damp boots. Oh, and remember the brown bread - well, when we opened it up at midday it turned out to be a pathetically thin slice of ham on white bread. Needless to say, I wouldn't stay here again until there's a new host in place.........

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here on 3rd night of Cleveland walk. Welcome was a little curt and we had to order breakfast before we went to room. Room was lovely - newly refurbed and we had a great night's sleep. Quality of breakfast wasn't great and considering it had been pre-ordered for a specific time it did seem to be overcooked. Nice position in pleasant village.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valstevehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed with a group of friends, and our experiences match those of other negative reviewers. Our room was very cold - I slept in my walking clothes the first night! When we asked for an extra duvet the host said he didn't have any. Some friends had wanted to cancel but were told they couldn't and would have to pay the full amount. The host even offered to take the money from them there and then over the phone. General air of misery over the whole place.

Room Tip: My tip - don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobtherover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vane House

Address: 11A North End, Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park DL6 3BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Osmotherley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Osmotherley
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Vane House Osmotherley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing