We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Unforgettable Honeymoon”
Review of Six Senses Yao Noi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Six Senses Yao Noi
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our Unforgettable Honeymoon”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were spending three weeks in Thailand, having already spent three nights in Chiang Mai we were ready for our twelve nights in Yao Noi. Upon arrival at Phuket airport we were greeted by a Six Senses representative who swiftly put our luggage tags on the bags and ushered us to our awaiting Mercedes Benz, Chauffeur driven too. Our driver gave us cold towels and water to comfort us as we were driven to the port. From the airport to the port our driver made sure that we knew where we were, he told us as much as he could about the island of Yao Noi. We couldn't wait to get there. As we arrived at Ao Po Grand Marina we were greeted by another Six Senses staff member, her name we have forgotten. She was very professional. She greeted us and walked us to the nearby bar and restaurant,which was stunning. Overlooking the port we were served a welcome cocktail. very refreshing! we waited for about one hour, we didn't mind as we drank our cocktail ordered some food and just watched the world go by. The lady that greeted us at the port told us our boat was ready. As we walked to the boat the feeling was quite surreal, arriving at a resort by speed boat isn't something you get to experience every day! And what a speed boat journey it was, nice comfortable seats, beautiful scenery all around through the forty minute journey just heaven. We went up to the front of the boat and the staff took photos of us. Then as we approached the resort our speed slowed right down, that's when we got our first view of Six Senses. From the moment we saw the view, we knew we were going to be in paradise for the next 12 days.

As we arrived at the port we were greeted by the Resort Manager Jordi and our GEM (albeit for one day) Am. Am took us straight to the Library as our Villa wasn't quite ready. We were served with two chilled glasses of Champagne, Just what we wanted! Am took us to our Villa after waiting only a short time. He had arranged for our bed to be covered in rose petals and shaped as a heart for our honeymoon. At this point Navada (my Wife) was in floods of tears.

We stayed in a Hideaway Villa, Villa nr 34. I have read some reviews on here that suggest that you either stay in an ocean villa or don't bother coming. Well, I can assure you that the Hideaway villa we had was just superb. We had a beautiful outlook at the mountains and we had ultimate privacy in this villa. If you want to look at the view without paying for an ocean villa, you can walk to the Hilltop, which is breath taking and the staff, well I will mention them later.The whole outlook at Six Senses is that of relaxation. No luxurious marble bathrooms, no bright LED lights, just minimal but to us still luxurious. The Villas are amazing without the 'City Gimmicks'. We loved it! Our Villa was everything we could have hoped for and far more. It's not everyday you get to slide open your bedroom door and dip your toes into your own pool and showering outside is a fantastic feeling.

The following day we were introduced to our new GEM JoJo. And what a GEM he was. JoJo was new to Six Senses so was still learning. Manish/Jordi he is going to be very good at his job with his mentor Alice who was a delight to meet. JoJo did everything for us, diner reservations, excursion bookings, to name just a few. My only gripe with the GEM's workload is that they have to bring ice. I believe that the room service staff should bring ice, the GEM's work very hard but to ask them to bring ICE on top of what the do is asking a little too much. They never stop smiling and JoJo was always a pleasure to talk to. He would always come to speak to us at breakfast to see what our plans were. I hurt my foot whilst we were away and I had to see the nurse both DaDa and Ju were very professional, and again JoJo would always be there making sure everything was ok.

Whilst at the resort we did three excursions. Phi Phi on a shared speed boat was our first. This was very much worth the money we spent. We had a local island trip as a wedding present, this too was very special. We had lunch on our own island just the two of us. Our final trip was a sunset island trip. Our own island to ourselves with champagne, and food. Just magical. Special recognition needs to be given to the guys from the water sports from the guides to the Captains. They go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your trip. Thank you.

We ate in all of the restaurants bar the dining room. I did however do the cooking class here in the dining room at the chefs table. Very enjoyable and interesting to see the gardens where all the fresh herbs are grown. The Hill Top was extra special. Katie, Nu and Sky were brilliant. Nu was always there willing to talk and was a pleasure to talk to. Navada loved the signature cocktail at the Hill Top. A must try! On our last night we ate at the Hill Top and Katie went out of he way to make Navada a flower arrangement. Just perfect.

The living room was also a favourite. The manager in here Nor is brilliant. At breakfast we also spoke wit Pota. Again he was very attentive. The Den was also good for food and drinks. We think that the Den should be a lot busier than it is. The bar staff here work very hard, and when they make the cocktails the enjoyment they get from it is visible.

Navada had a private cocktail lesson with Son. Who is the best cocktail maker I have seen. He out shines many of the bar staff we have seen making cocktails here in the UK. He even showed her how to make the special Lemon Grass straws and we have since found Lemon Grass in our local supermarket

Special recognition must go to Mai who was our maid. She would arrive at the same time every morning at also in the evening to turn the room down. She was extremely friendly and attentive on our last day she bought us fried bananas from the village. Also the gardening team work extremely hard to maintain the lawns, flowers and herb gardens. Very well done!

We used the spa twice. I had two massages and Navada had a pedicure and a massage. Our couples massage was in the waterfall room. Just magnificent. A truly unforgettable setting.

There are no negatives about this resort its beautiful just like its staff and they made our honeymoon unforgettable. We did suggest that the resort would benefit from a beach bar as the weekly GEM cocktails go down so well. The beach bar is already a work in progress. If you want luxury on a unspoilt island this is the place to go.

Thank you for an unforgettable experience

Room Tip: Hideaway villa 34 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,603
    116
    36
    16
    6
See reviews for
408
1,116
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 weeks travelling around Thailand and Cambodia staying a some very nice places, Mandarin Oriental, Four Seasons, Anantara, Park Hyatt. This was the last stop on our trip and up to this point we had been completely spoiled, service perfection at each property.

We had very high expectations of Six Senses. We normally travel in Four Seasons level properties and had never heard of Six Senses. Our travel agent recommended this property to us and as it was the most expensive on our whole trip we saved it for last. We were prepared to experience a new level of luxury.

On arrival at the Phuket airport there a hiccup. No one met us at the airport and we spent an hour trying to figure out how to get to the resort. We finally found a Six Senses person and they told us our reservation had been cancelled. There was lots of confusion, no one knew why this had happened. We ended up missing the boat to the resort and were forced to sit in 35C heat for 3 hours for the next boat. The error was due to my travel agency accidentally cancelling our reservation, no fault of the resort. The part that didn't sit well with us is that while the resort didn't know how the error had occurred they had no desire to try make things right while we sat in the heat for 3 hours. We asked for an earlier transfer but were told it would be the equivalent of $300 for the transfer. We decided to wait as this was not our fault.

We arrived to the resort in darkness, now wow factor. We met our GEM Gwen, who was lovely. She knew we were not happy and really did try her best to make things better.

When we booked this resort we had a little sticker shock about the rates. We are use to Four Seasons but this was a new price point for us. Our travel agent told us this resort was all about the view and we booked an Ocean Pool Villa for "the glorious views over Phang Nga bay". Unfortunately, due to the mix up we had to be "upgraded" to an Ocean Deluxe Pool Villa. This was not really an upgrade, the room had a peak a boo view of the ocean, we were so disappointed. Again, not the resorts fault, they thought we had cancelled.

When booking this resort, if your room does not have famous view with the rock jutting out of the ocean then I would stay home. Make sure you make this clear when you book.

We were disappointed with our room here. It was very rustic, no luxury. I am not sure when this resort was built but a reno in needed. We stayed at the Four Season Koh Samui earlier in the trip and it was cheaper and infinitely better, gorgeous rooms, super luxurious with stunning views and amazing service. Four Seasons was 6 stars and Six Senses 4 stars.

The staff here were amazing. Our GEM Gwen was outstanding and was very hands on in making sure we had a good time. The staff at the Hilltop were also amazing, especially Sky, James and Nu. They really made our time here okay.

After our less that ideal arrival and all the stress surrounding it the management did nothing to reach out to us. On arrival I had asked for them to look into why our reservation had been cancelled and get back to me but nobody did.

This is a 4 star property in a 6 star environment. The views are amazing and the pictures don't do them justice. What this area needs is a true luxury resort.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ryzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Half way through our 2 weeks here and the interim report card is, well, 100 percent. All the headline factors are what you would expect - great location, service, food. And a very relaxing environment. Suits those that want to feel special and need a place to chill. But it's the detail which truly impresses - nothing is a problem, we needed a nurse for our daughter - provided in an hour, no charge. Need an iPod with a genre playlist - done. Like reading - an amazing library. But it is the range of Thai and Western food that ultimately impresses - when you see a menu and everything makes you salivate, you know you have come to a special hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed in this amazing resort with our son for few days and had a magical time: from the wonderful staff, perfect service, tasty food, incredible villa and great excursions, everything was unforgettable!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia Odette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishPuri, General Manager at Six Senses Yao Noi, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
The team appreciates your feedback and I'm glad you and your family enjoyed the island. We've do have now a much bigger percentage of American travelers and it's nice to know they do relate to and appreciate our style of luxury and design.

Best regards,

Manish Puri
manish@sixsenses.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We just returned from a 4 day visit. The luxurious getaway began with the transfer from the airport to the boat to the greeting on the pier. Our GEM, Alice, who was a true "gem" took us to our ocean view villa and the check in was unlike any we have ever experienced. She took care of the check-in details all from the comfort of our villa. A welcome bottle of sparkling wine was icing on the cake. All aspects of this beautiful property can be easily accessed using a buggy. We found it difficult to leave our villa due to the magnificent view from our infinity pool and the overall comfort of the unit. We loved watching the sunrises and sunsets from both the room and the pool. In room dining, which we used frequently, offered an extensive menu with Thai and western options. Alice made all arrangements for activities that we wanted to pursue and was always only a quick call away. Meals in the restaurants were tasty. It was a treat to have ice cream available all day, and we opted to include it with breakfast. All of the staff was wonderful, welcoming, warm and helpful. We would love to move into villa 53 and never leave!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view villa to enjoy the sunrises, sunsets, breezes and boat activity out on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easytraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishPuri, General Manager at Six Senses Yao Noi, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for the lovely feedback. Yes, Alice is absolutely a GEM. She does have a lot of fan following amongst our guests and they often write back checking if she still keeps that infectious smile with her. Appreciate the recognition.
Villa 53 is slightly differently shaped (the outside part) than the rest of the villas. This we did for our guests to capture the best views of the area. I'm glad you liked the villa.

Best regard and look forward to welcome you back.

Manish Puri
manish@sixsenses.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albourne, West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We echo the many very positive comments that have been made on TripAdviser, and had a wonderful week at Yao Noi. It was extremely hot and our villa and pool area was a bit stifling. Next time, we'd go for a villa with a sea view and the possibility of a bit of breeze. The infinity pool at the top of the resort is quite small but the view is amazing. The grounds are beautifully maintained.
Walking downhill is lovely and the golf buggies are very efficient at carrying you back up again if you need it. Spa excellent. Food, especially in the Dining Room, is very high quality, though we would disagree with some of the comments made about breakfast. We found that breakfast, compared with other Six Senses and Maldivian resorts we've stayed at, is actually a bit of a car-crash. There is a small "deli" in which one queues for fruit, cold meats and cheese (you have to ask for the meat or cheese you want) and it might work better if somehow space could be found to lay out dishes of meats/cheeses for people to help themselves, and put the fruits, which don't need to be in a cool room, somewhere else.
It was interesting to walk out of the resort through the mangroves and along the beach, and interesting too to see some of the rest of the island by taxi or bike. We ate at "Je t'aime" in the village (q.v.) which was great, but not as cheap as you thought it was going to be.
One tip regarding money: you'll need Thai baht to eat out. If you intend to get cash there, there are ATMs on the road just outside the entrance to Six Senses, and in the village. It's a good idea to tell your bank that you might be using your card in such a machine before you travel, to prevent the transaction being rejected and the bank's fraud service anxiously texting you. The resort will of course let you have money on a credit card, but they charge 5%.
One really nice thing about Yao Noi is the visibility and accessibility of the hotel mangers, who do put themselves about to see what's going on. We're sure they mostly get deservedly positive comments!

Room Tip: All nice. Sea view may be worth trying to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsxtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishPuri, General Manager at Six Senses Yao Noi, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you loved your stay and had an opportunity to explore the island and the local way of life.
Thank you again and I look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Manish Puri
manish@sixsenses.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We chose Six Senses Yoi Noi because of the fantastic recommendations here on Trip Advisor. We had looked forward to this holiday for 8 months and we were not disappointed from the speed boat arrival to the wave goodbye everything was first class.

We stayed in a Hideaway Villa and an Ocean View Villa both were amazing in their own way. The attention to detail in the villas is excellent. The hidaeaway villa had everything you could need from the BOSE music system to the outside shower. Our villa had the added advantage of a small garden with a hammock slung between 2 trees Ideal for lazing away the hot afternoons. The Ocean View Villa had "the view". We got up early and sat on the terrace watching the sun rise from behind the islands, an awe inspiring sight.

We ate in all the restaurants and the food did not disappoint, it was high quality fresh Thai food (as spicy as you like it) or western fusion food cooked to perfection. The best fillet steak I have ever tasted. The staff welcomed us by name every time we arrived for dinner and were just so friendly. The breakfast was another joy with everything you could imagine to eat from Thai to western breakfasts and everything in between. If you budget around £60 for a bottle of wine you won't go wrong unless you decide to splash out.

The Den provided a venue for pre dinner cocktails which again were amazing who would think to use lemongrass to make drinking straws!. We sat there every night before dinner gently swinging on the suspended seats listening to the frogs in the lilly ponds.

The staff at the spa deserve a special mention they helped us choose the most suitable treatments all of which were fantastic. We had oriental massage, body scrubs and clay wraps. The ladies who carry out the treatments are true professionals. I can't stop telling my friends how great it was.

We also took a trip Kayaking with a guide to Thalane. What a great experience to see the mangroves and the limestone islands close up. We travelled by longtail boat to the mangroves and again we were treated so well by everyone we met. Our guide made the trip so special making sure we saw everything of interest including monkeys and monitor lizards. They carefully chose the best timings for our trip and as we were entering the mangroves most of the other tourists were just leaving. Our other excursion was the Tuk Tuk ride around the island. It was great to see a little more of where we had travelled so far to be and the guide was again friendly and knowledgeable.

Our GEM Woody made this the best holiday we have ever had. He made sure everything was perfect. He made all our restaurant reservations (within the resort, we never left the resort to eat), spa bookings and activities outside the resort. He also made the holiday extra special when he changed our Villa we will never forget the view from our bed each morning. He even waved us goodbye from the pier as we left.

If you are reading this you must be thinking of choosing Six Senses Yoi Noi, my advice is book it now you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose the villas higer up the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishPuri, General Manager at Six Senses Yao Noi, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Your response is very detailed and looks like you had a lovely stay. I am glad to hear that and thank for all the lovely words and for appreciating Khun Woody for his services.
Look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Best regards,

Manish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
0.9 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
16.8 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
880 reviews
2.1 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#3 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
749 reviews
3.8 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Yao Noi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Yao Noi

Property: Six Senses Yao Noi
Address: 56 Moo 5 Tambol Koh Yao Noi, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Yao Noi 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yao Noi is a picturesque island in Phang Nga Bay - the unique environment for the Six Senses Yao Noi. It can be reached by motor boat from Phuket port or by the resort’s own helicopter. Six Senses consists of 56 Pool Villas and Pool Villa Suites, the Hilltop Reserve and the Retreat - set in natural vegetation and tropical landscaping, providing privacy between the elevated villas and allowing glorious views over Phang Nga Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Six Senses Yao Noi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Senses Yao Noi Hotel Ao Phang Nga National Park
6 Senses Yao Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing