We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish I'd stayed here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Yao Noi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lom Lae Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Ko Yao Noi B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I wish I'd stayed here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Visited the beach/restaurant/massage on a few occasions whilst staying on Koh Yao Noi, and next visit I'll be staying at this resort. Quiet & tucked away, with a beautiful beach, great restaurant and possibly the best massage on Koh Yao Noi! Very friendly & helpful staff too.
We didn't stay, so can't comment on the bungalows, but prices seemed very reasonable, especially given the location.
Can't wait to go back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cloudy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    35
    10
    11
    4
See reviews for
23
63
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawford, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

As usual, our family of 6 adults had a wonderful time at Lom'Lae Beach Resort. We used it as a base for travel to Krabi and Trang and were always happy to return to the peaceful life at Lom'Lae.

Lom'Lae is not, fortunately, like the overcrowded beaches on Phuket Island. True, there are no lawn chairs at Lom'Lae which also means there are no hawkers disturbing your relaxation, and should you like to be up off the sand, there are several hammocks on the beach where one can read and enjoy the sound of the surf.

There is no traffic noise drowning out the sound of nature. I love it in the mornings when the hornbills and/or frogs greet the morning.

Should one want to have a little "night life" it is easy to rent a motorbike or hire a taxi to take you to some of the places on the island that have live music, etc. and then come back to peaceful Lom'Lae for a good night's sleep.

There is natural air conditioning available; i.e. sea breeze (which incidentally is what Lom'Lae translated means) because that is all that is normally needed. At Lom'Lae you breathe fresh air, not recirculated conditioned air.

I have been to Lom'Lae many times and enjoy it every time. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, back to nature, friendly environment, it is definitely for you. If you are looking for hundreds of lawn chairs side-by-side, with jet skis, crowds, loud music, and people asking you over and over again "You buy? You buy?" then Lom'Lae is definitely not for you.

Before Trip Advisor became popular, we had guide books to help us choose a suitable-to-our-needs resort and now added to that we can read the reviews sent by ordinary tourists like you and me. This allows a person to know ahead of time what sort of experience they can expect. If you want a lovely, peaceful place to stay that is ideal for families, couples or singles, I highly recommend Lom'Lae as your next vacation spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grace N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My three children (ages 15, 13 and 11) and I stayed two nights and the total bill for the 4 of us came to 22,000 TB = $720 Canadian= 490 euro.....too much for what we got!!! The room rate for the two nights was 10,000 TB (5,000TB/night) however all of the extras resulted in double the bill. The resort is very secluded (15 min drive to town and ports, 100 TB /person each way) which is nice on one hand, however isolating on the other as you are held captive for all activities and meals. All activities are extra including kayaking and biking and they charge by the hour. My son asked for extra jam at breakfast and they charged for that!!! We unfortunately were there for Christmas Eve and got roped into a very modest dinner buffet (approx 5 dishes and 2 desserts) with local entertainment which originally cost 8,000TB for the kids and I but after negotiating got it reduced to 4,000TB ($130 Canadian) which was still way too much for what we received. The rustic huts were by far the best part however did not come with a safe or air-conditioning and the hot water did not work at all. We asked for assistance with getting the hot water functioning and they were annoyed when asked. Others at the resort had also noted the lack of hot water. The lighting in the hut was also very poor, making it hard to read at night. We also signed up for one of their long boat tours and it was beautiful and very entertaining. It costed 4,500 TB, however when trying to figure out how we might be able to do it on our own by taking a ferry and hiring a boat they strongly suggested against it saying we would waste too much precious time. I got he distinct impression they were paid a commission for every thing they sold. The beach was beautiful however there were no lawn chairs to sit or lounge in....you were given beach towels to sit on. I would say this is NOT the place for active kids or families as all you have is a quiet beach, unless you want to pay for surrounding entertainment. The kicker was when we had to to pay a 5% fee to use our credit card.....don't the credit card companies only charge 3%??? Again, this amounted to a 1,000TB charge. I have been fortunate enough to have never written a bad review up until now and have travelled extensively though Asia, Africa, Europe, Mexico and the Caribbean. We were also very fortunate to have great accommodation at the other 4 places we stayed in Thailand.....making this place really stand out as a bad pick!!! All in all we left feeling VERY ripped off!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gando2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Simply magical. Stood on LomLae beach watching the Phuket fireworks from a distance was an am axing way to see the new tear in. This was my honeymoon destination. After a rigorous journey from a Bangkok to Chiangmai, LomLae was everything we could ask for. Rustic, romantic and private. It was turkey amazing. Both the island and the accommodation are unspoilt and probably the only uncommercial Thai experience left in that area of the country. Would be back in a heartbeat, the warm atmosphere and friendly staff sue if really special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmet1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in November. We were only going to stay for 2 but the place is so relaxing, the staff, the food and the room were brilliant so we extended our stay.

If you are looking for a relaxed, quite, perfect retreat, then this is it!

Dagma and the team could not do enough to help you and nothing was too much trouble, even to the point of sorting the next leg of our journey out down to Phi Phi, Dagma, sorted the timings with transfers and taxis to ensure we met the ferry.

Great place, highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfyDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

my boyfriend and i have been to lomlae two times,we plan to go again this year. We live in banggkok so we love to visit quiet place.Lomlae is perfect for this.We love the wooden bungalows.There is a lot of nature. We see water buffalo and many birds close by.The staff is very friendly.The boat tours should not be missed. We took their cooking class.This was great fun! we recommend Lomlae to people who would like a real taste of thailand. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed on the bungalow just at left before the entrance and the experience became a nightmare! Just to stay focus we are experienced travelers, we usefull to travel very often All over the asia, and this experience is unacceptable cause we are sûre they knew perfectly what it Will goes happen.. Short story: the bungalow was poorly furnish, and we doubted too about the situaded area cause was just up to a mangrove. But not any choose for this night so we took. The result: impossible to sleep because too noisy by the animal life in the mangrove, the bungallow had a lot of holes so we "wake up" at 6a.m with hundred red ants on the Bed, there had everywhere!. The bungalow is not proper to be use and the most funny is the prise 2500 baht per night! We are not advise this hotel because this place is very creepy! Go further!
Other wise, the beach is very Nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panbi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomlae, Owner at Lom Lae Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
I would like to respond to this critique by letting other resort owners know that they should be aware of these people. They actually left 2 other resorts on Koh Yao Noi without paying their bills. We were not made aware of this at first, but were informed once they had already checked in. When it was time for them to pay their bill, this was when the problems began. They were very rude, refused to pay and almost brought one of our managers to tears. They also reserved a diving course and refused to pay what was owed for this, as well.

Being a small island, word does spread quickly. The reputation of these people followed between both islands. We were told that they were on Koh Yao Yai and the same problems began there as well. We understand that people are entitled to their opinion, but these people took full advantage of the hospitality offered on both islands. As we have been running our resort for nearly 20 years, we do see all types of people. Some can be tricky, but generally, we have the most wonderful guests here at Lom’Lae.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Yao Noi hotels
1.3 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
0.1 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.9 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
1.1 mi away
Laguna Villas Yao Noi
Laguna Villas Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
6.0 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lom Lae Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lom Lae Beach Resort

Property: Lom Lae Beach Resort
Address: P.O. Box 9, Ko Yao Noi, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Yao Noi
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lom Lae Beach Hotel Koh Yao Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing