We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lom Lae Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Yao Noi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lom Lae Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Ko Yao Noi B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a lovely time at Lom Lae. The staff were extremly helpful and friendly. The food was really good too. This resort is quite remote, but that was the beauty of it. We did the Kayak trip from Lom Lae which was the best. Wish we had longer here (only stayed for two nights).

Would defintely recommend it it to families and couples. It was just a beautiful place to see.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaMorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    35
    10
    11
    4
See reviews for
23
63
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Thailand is both my husband's and my favorite trip. We travelled around, and of course had to return to Lomlae Beach Resort as this is our third visit to this wonderful resort. We are not in accord with some of the reviews as we found it to be so much more updated with the wonderful and beautiful bungalows which are so well kept, as well as the privacy and private garden in front of the bungalows which are so well spaced from one another. It is one of the resorts on the island with its own beach in front of all the bungalows. This resort has always left a wonderful memory for us as we live in a big city and always look forward to the relaxation and rest we find here, as well as the lovely food, with both thai and western food at a reasonable price and is opened all day should we want to eat at any hour. We spent a week and it took a lot for us to leave as we could have stayed longer, but did have to return to the hustle and bustle of city life. This is a resort for both couples as well as families with children as they are so well protected with no worries by the parents. The staff are very helpful, with Dagmar helping and planning for whatever we wanted to do for the day. We took the boat trip twice as it was spectacular and so very enjoyable. This is one of our favorite resorts and long to get back there when we next plan a trip to beautiful Thaland. Thank you once again Lom Lae for another wonderful and beautiful vacation until we meet again in the near future.

Room Tip: The front row of the resort although the bungalow facing the rice field in the back is very large, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lexee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spend a couple of days this place november 2012. We found it much too pricey compared to, what you get and compared to, what you get elsewhere. The place is beautiful located, and the beach is glourius, but Lom Lae does not have that thai-spirit. We doubt, that it is owned by thai-peolpe? Also we found the staff too "pushy", so it was difficult to ude the restaurant-area for relaxing, because you are cinstantly asked, what you want. In the evening we like to read or play games, but it is not possible either, because the light in the huts are much too weak for that. And then: it is not very nice, that you find demans written everywhere: please do this, please do not ..... We have travelled for several month in the south of Thailand and have thousand of good memories. Lom Lae is not one of them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elst048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Since my last review (29 March 2011), I have returned to Lom Lae. Was there in February of this year. I'm reminded to write this late review/update by the fact that I will again be staying at this incredible resort again, in 2 weeks time! Here's the brief update...

February 2012:
The same qualities are there. Everything I wrote in my last review remains the same. A true slice of paradise.

[Since March of 2011] the resort has gained some positive media coverage and in turn has been introduced to a wider audience (this is great news!).
A word of warning to solo / couple travelers though: check your dates against the Euro school term holidays. Unfortunately, a few clueless European journalists suggested the resort is "perfect for children". This is not true. Families should also consider this and be advised that Lom Lae is not a playground.
On another note; some other reviews have questioned the quality of the food. After 8 days on Lom Lae I still hadn't made my way through the entire menu. [Thai] food on the mainland didn't even taste like Thai food, following the authenticity of Lom Lae's chefs. Lom Lae food is the real deal and very well priced.
I'm not an excursion type of guy but I did visit the local Thai Food School (arranged by Lom Lae) for a private lesson. Chef Mena Warren (Thai National) was fantastic. Offered a friendly and warm afternoon in her own kitchen, taking me through all the dishes I wanted to learn (and taste!). In all my travels in Thailand, this was the most soulful thing I have done. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Tim_Fitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
247 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

My family and I went to Koh Yao Noi to visit some friends who are living there. They recommended this place and we immediately understood why. Fantastic location a bit of distance from everything (not that there is much on Yao Noi at all) near a long beach that you can be alone on. Beautiful bungalows. No air condition, but you wouldn’t expect it in this sort of place. The children loved it. Colourful birds and snakes to be seen. Varans creeping around the place.

Lom Lae has a very nice staff and you always sense that they want your stay to be a nice one.
Koh Yao Noi is not a cheap island to stay on and Lom Lae is no exception. The food was not bad at all, but a bit uninteresting. The price and the food makes me drop a rating point on this one – but all in all a very nice place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarsNaess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This place was the highlight of ou vacation, I don't at all agree with some other reviewers that it is too expensive for what you get. For just over USD 100 you get a beachfront bungalow, made out of polished wood, with a lovely balcony with a hammock on it. This is just about my idea to heaven, I've never stayed in a better wooden beach bungalow. Sure I've stayed in some more upscale concrete bungalows, but they don't give you the at-one-with-nature feeling that Lom Lae does.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaJ455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

This was the second destination in our itinerary, compiled by the crew at andaman sky, whom we cannot say enough nice things about - we will return to these guys when we visit Thailand next year ! This is remote resort, you can only get there following a dirt track (in a minivan in our case). Before we had even entered the resort, we had seen 2 large (about 1 metre or so) monitor lizards hanging out by the little stream which you need to cross (wooden bridge) to get to the resort !! This resort is located on one of the only swimming beaches on the island, a major plus for our kids ! (we probably wouldn't have come here otherwise) We stayed for 3 nights and while we were on the island, we also took a superb daytrip : its called "lagoon exploration by kayak + deep sea solo" and was also organized by the andaman sky team.
they took us to an even more remote island, where we discovered a hidden lagoon, very impressive ! this daytrip was our kids' favourite activity of the whole trip, despite strong competition from the one on Railay West (Railay exploration day), and the beachfront to beachfront private boat transfer from Koh Hong (on the way from Koh Yao Noi) to Ao Nang.
All in all, great resort & great holiday we had !

Room Tip: ask for the jungle bungalow , really remote !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJ966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
0.6 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.8 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.3 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sabai Corner Bungalows
Sabai Corner Bungalows
#3 of 17 in Ko Yao Noi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laguna Villas Yao Noi
Laguna Villas Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lom Lae Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lom Lae Beach Resort

Property: Lom Lae Beach Resort
Address: P.O. Box 9, Ko Yao Noi, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Yao Noi
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lom Lae Beach Hotel Koh Yao Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing