We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our wildest dreams!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beyond our wildest dreams!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose Koh Yao Noi Island on our first trip to Thailand because of its small size and natural environment, a far cry from crowded Phuket and Krabi nearby. Koyao Bay Pavilions seemed to be exactly the place we were looking for. After arriving at the Phuket dock, we rode for 1 hour on a long tail boat with about 20 or so locals and arrived at the dock of the tiny island. Driven by tuk tuk, we were introduced to the island, which has a few small resorts, restaurants and a little town.
I knew the hotel would be charming from the website, but NOTHING on this Earth could prepare us for the reality. We were met on arrival by Olivier, the French manager. He gave us a welcome drink and showed us the dining room and kitchen, and said the ladies who cook here are the best on the island and the food is fabulous. I can tell you now he is right. The cuisine is wonderful. Then he brought us to our "room", which is really a huge private bungalow constructed completely of teak, absolutely gorgeous. In front of the bungalow is a private open wall roofed pavilion with couches, hammocks, chairs. The massage ladies, who came by each afternoon, set up their mats here. The bathroom is amazing, enormous and elegant. All open to a private walled garden. Honestly I feel like I found myself in a photo spread in Architectural Digest. This whole piece of heaven is just steps from the beach across a small lawn. There are 3 of these bungalows which share a beautiful pool in front of them. There are other accommodations for families as well. The ocean is perfectly calm and VERY warm. In the near distance you can see many cliffs jutting out of the water. About 10 years ago they were adapted for rock climbing. We were the only people on the beach each day. The only sounds you hear are a motorboat engine far away and the waves. The hotel offers a range of activities such as kayaking, yoga, and cooking classes among others.

If you are looking for peace and quiet, a beautiful unspoiled environment, delicious fresh food, gorgeous accommodations and a great staff, look no further. Koyao Bay Pavilions has it all.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lev4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    35
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
114
184
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grasse
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Outstandong location on an island that has been preserved from mass tourisme development. The architecture of the pavilions is just amazing as the owner is an architect who strove to excellence in local replication of Thai traditional design with some influence from Balinese style. Exceptional privacy as they are only 3 pavillions in a beautiful garden with palms and coconut trees less than 100 fête from a beach with no onelse. Ultimate comfort and a particularly relaxing experience. This is the land of "yes, no problem" as Olivier and Bee who are in charge of the administration continuously tory to any of your wishes be met with a relax attitude and a tremendous efficacy. Those are people you enjoy discussing with as they are so interestîng and so sponteanously friendly. The food at the Restaurant is unique being Thai and a fusion of French and Thai cuisine with pineapples freshly cut from the fields next to the resort and daily delicious fresh fish and sera food delivered by the local fishermen. There is also Bée s cat. who is so clever that we renamed him Warren Buffet. This is définitely our favorite place of our 2 weeks trip through Thailand and as Arnold says "hasta la vista Baby, we will be back".

Room Tip: Select one of the 3 pavillions next to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEMASDUROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Where to start? By the very best quality of the staff, the delicious food, the stunning rooms, the beautiful garden, the best massages? We really got spoiled here and Olivier made our very special night at the beach, we'll never forget! Many thanks to you all!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Koyao Bay pavillions is not a hotel nor a resort, it is more a guest house (3 or 4-star guest house). We were staying in the Taraa villa. Note that the pool is shared with another villa located few meters away from Taraa villa. The villa is ok, maybe a bit overpriced during peak season, especially because it does not include breakfast. We paid over 350€ per night. Also because the service should be improved compare to what you could have at that price (a real 5-star hotel). We also found that there is a big gap between what we paid for the villa (excluding breakfast) and the price of a beach pavillion (including breakfast + 2 hours of massage PER DAY). The host Olivier is very friendly. You will prefer to talk with him rather than the owner. Staff does not always speak english but that's not a problem. Their restaurant is really good and prices are not too expensive. I recommend to do your own laundry and own excursions. You willbe able to find laudry by walking 5 minutes feom Koyao Bay Pavillions at 50 THB per kilo whereas it is overpriced if you decide to ask the hotel to take care of it. For excursions, you can easily find a boat for 2800 THB max instead of the minimum 4000 THB the hotel is charging you. We had a pleasant stay even if it was not matching our needs/requirements in terms of service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ShenMueFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crusoe78, General Manager at Koyao Bay Pavilions, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear ShenMueFan,

Many thanks for taking some of your time to write this review.

As much as we appreciate your feedback, we would have been grateful to read more specific issues in order for us to improve our service which you deemed not up to par... Or even better, letting us know of flaws during your stay would have allowed us to make sure your requirements were met.

Regarding the difference of price between the Beach Suites and the Villas, please let me emphasize on the fact that you booked a two-bedroom villa which can accommodate up to 6 persons (at a cheaper rate than the Beach Suites), and that we in fact offered you complimentary breakfast, because you were only two persons occupying the villa... We hope next time you will be able to enjoy our Beach Suites more suitable for couples, and whose rate include breakfast and massages.

One last precision regarding our excursions, if you allow me : while other operators may indeed be cheaper, in your case we were able to personalise your trip to nearby islets as well as to include the private transfer directly to your hotel in Krabi to meet your needs, which made it even cheaper than our usual price for private transfer alone !

All in all, I'm very pleased that you have mostly enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to have the opportunity to greet you again in our little paradise !

Warm regards,

Olivier Collineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

After the horror at the river Kwai we were delighted to find this little pardise. Everything is very relaxed, but also very tidy and well organized.
The animals who live there are also very friendly. There is Georgy the cat who visited us on a daily basis, at nighttime we had a Tokeh living on the walls of our pavilion. And a hornbill family was living outside in the coconut palm trees. One day even a monitor lizard walked past our sala - exciting!
The restaurant is very good and we had some delicious dinners there. Breakfast is also very good. But after some days you wish it was a bit more varied.
We booked the "Robinson Package" with the daily massage, a boat trip and the thai cooking class at Minas house.
The massages were very relaxing. The boat trips they offer don't go to big touristy places but to small not so well known islands where you have maybe 5 -10 boats instead of 50.
The cooking class at Minas House is a big recommendation - we had loads of fun there!
(And our meal was also brilliant!)
The Island itself is also not so touristy. If you seek silence and relaxation this is your place to go. If you want partys go elsewhere...
Olivier (the manager) is a very likable person. He's very helpful - if you need anything just ask him. The rest of the staff is also very friendly and doing a good job.

Thank you very much for everything, and a happy new year!!!

See you some other time!

Sincerely yours,
Sandra & Daniel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielSandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Seriously! That is if you enjoy nature at its best...beautiful grounds, nice little beach without crowds, umbrellas and beach chairs, and open air living. We stayed in one of the three beautifully designed open air beachfront villas and we loved it! Spacious, comfortable, and feeling luxurious without overdoing it. Every detail is so beautiful and meant to enhance what nature has to offer. Sleeping with the sound of the ocean and birds in the background, having our own little frog visiting the house daily, chilling in the hammock, hanging out on the beach, enjoying Thai massage in the sala, and eating delicious food at the restaurant - kept us busy for 7 unforgettable days. The owner George and manager Olivier make you feel at home and it is a pleasure spending time with them learning about their resort, Thai food, organic farming, nature and other world matters. Did I already say the food was amazing? We ate there 3 meals every day, and could not get enough of the food! Fresh ingredients - including home made bread, coconut cream, curry pastes, daily catch (seafood), individually cooked meals by talented cooks under the guidance of manger and/or owner. Long review, I know, but we loved it so much, we will be returning for sure! You should too...this is the place to stop and smell the roses, or frangipani rather:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianatravelsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

It is a very relaxing and peaceful resort. Far away from crowds and somehow far away from everything ;-). The rooms/houses are very spacious (we stayed at a beachfront villa), wonderful to hang out in a hammock. The beach is rural, beautiful, very few people, a wonderful place to sit, when the night comes. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The overall impression is: rural, charming, familiar, informal, peaceful, somehow romantic. The long review by "paper duck" provides an excellent description....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruediger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
1.2 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
4.2 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
691 reviews
2.1 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
759 reviews
5.9 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
638 reviews
8.2 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyao Bay Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Bay Pavilions

Property: Koyao Bay Pavilions
Address: 46/7 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Koyao Bay Pavilions 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the natural shoreline, paddy fields and forested hills, a coconut plantation along an untamed and deserted beach shelters three Pavilions arranged around a central swimming pool. Two-bedrooms pool Cottages & Villas, particularly adapted for families with children, are within small distance from the resort... A haven of peace for nature lovers, in search of uttermost privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koyao Bay Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Bay Pavilions Hotel Koh Yao Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing