We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and peaceful retreat with great beach view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We travelled in a family of 2 adults and 2 small children and we rented the Taara villa. We had a very warm welcome by olivier and he took great care of us during our stay. This place is really a place to stay when you look for a quiet and comfortable place in a natural setting as it feels like a family-owned retreat with only few rooms/villa's available and they have a personal approach for every customer. The restaurant offers very nice food and could be brought up to our villa. The villa was very clean, comfortable and spacious with a kitchen and all needed equipment and shared private swimming pool, very quiet and relaxed. The downside is that for small children it is not always very convenient: restaurant/relax area has water around, swimming pool had sharp edges, villa was quite far from the restaurant and beach (via a shared dirt road), depending on the tides it was not possible to swim in the sea in the morning or towards the late afternoon (muddy).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxy-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Koyao Bay Pavilions
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 360 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ko Yao Noi is a truly beautiful island. I travel yearly to Phuket and stayed at different places, and I really wanted for this trip, to be near a lovely beach, whilst also , beside nature. koyao bay pavilions fulfilled both my wishes. On top of that, we met a fantastic host and his name is Olivier. You would love Olivier from the first time he replies your email , with much warmth and care that you know you got to come and meet him.

There is so much nature about the villa because the family villas are located beside the forest . We just loved going for morning walks , and it really feels like walking about in a forest village. Loved it. We also loved the way the beach looks at low tide. Stunningly beautiful, and my kids had so much fun just walking about seeing the hermit crabs, small fishes (really tiny) at low tide. There is a 10min stroll to the beach if you do not stay at the beachfront villas, but that is very good for us, cause we used different trails to explore the place.

We stayed for a few days and it was raining a lot so we only got a day of good weather, approximately. But I still enjoyed it, and finished reading two novels!! Provided by the establishment.

Olivier provides homemade jam and sandwich, good butter , milk for my son and we were indeed well taken care of. If you like, meals can be delivered to your villa, but if the weather allows, do walk out to the restaurant. It is much nicer, to be at the restaurant , meeting other guests. and my children played freely around on the grounds, while waiting for food to come and after their meals, with other children, crabs and making nature crafts and they felt so carefree .

We greatly prefer the villas which have more character, and charm, to other hotels etc (which would grow sterile as days pass), but this is dependent on individual preferences.

About the getting there, it is really easy. From Phuket we took a taxi to bang rong pier. Then we took the speedboat (timings on the website) , and in half hour we reach the other pier. Speedboat is 200thai baht an adult, children are free. From pier, the pick up truck will bring you to the pavilions. It costs abt 100thai baht a person, again children are free. The speedboat is enjoyable, the waters were not rough or choppy especially when we did the afternoon shuttle (low tide)

Room Tip: Rice water is more rustic and charming in that way. Mai pai is more modern and has one aircon room w...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crusoe78, General Manager at Koyao Bay Pavilions, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Mindy (FrSingapore),

I cannot thank you enough for the lovely comments about the hotel, the island...and myself ! And for your true appreciation of what we offer here at Koyao Bay Pavilions - especially with such a downpour as you have experienced during most of your stay !

I am glad you and your family have enjoyed the island atmosphere as much as possible, savouring every moment as it came, without unrealistic expectations. Too few people are able to fully appreciate the raw beauty of the rocks at low tide for example, and the bumpy nature trails surrounding the hotel. Others would rather have crystal-clear waters swimmable at all times, fringed with paved concrete roads... well, Koh Yao is not like that, and we are glad that it isn't, thus preserving this jewel away from mass tourism !

The ever-changing scenery and stunning nature is what makes it magical, and you are most welcome to come enjoy it again soon, as we are already anticipating your return trip on Koh Yao Noi (home-made bread is in the oven, hurry up !). ;-)

Warmest regards,

Olivier Collineau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Great stay, in all aspects. Book and try yourself, it is very private, and like being in a garden nxt to the sea. The restaurant is so good that this will keep you there foa all meals :-) you dont need 200 letters to describe beauty

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karstenkoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights (2 families of 4 with kids from 7 to 10 yr old) at Koyao Bay and had a wonderful time there. We were in the two villas in the back with our own swimming pool. The quality of the housing is excellent (very clean and comfortable) and of course very quiet. You have the impression of sleeping in the jungle. We are not very adventurous, so this was the perfect combination of comfort and wildlife experience!

Olivier welcomed us on the beach when we arrived and he went out of his way to help us plan everything we needed. From the delicious meals at the restaurant (no reason to eat anywhere else!) to the boat excursion we experienced the best of the region! Our kids played Robinson Crusoe on the beach while we relaxed and swam!

We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

wife and i spent 4 nights as part of our honeymoon at Koyao Bay Pavilions on the Robinson escape. Although you could probably haggle to get the same "extra" activities a bit cheaper, the package is very relaxed, fuss-free, and in my opinion, totally worth it. Olivier leads a wonderful, helpful and happy team, and was himself a real asset to our delightful stay.
if you are looking for a modern, air-conditioned, shiny resort, close to nightclubs and bars stay away. if you want a true retreat, away from the hectic pace of life, tranquility, an experience of living naturally, delicious food served alongside peaceful ocean views, then this is your trip.
initially a bit concerned when driven down a bumpy dirt road, into the middle of nowhere, we were totally put at ease the moment Olivier stepped out to greet us, and loved our stay. He tailored our visit to suit our needs, including a private boat trip, cooking classes, a hire scooter and daily massages!
looking forward to an opportunity to visit again!

Room Tip: there are 3 couples/beach suites (room and private "lounge"/gazebo) that are in a beautifu...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The magic of Koyao Bay Pavilions is endless; from the flying lizards that soar from tree to tree, to the amazing hospitality of the staff; not leaving out the beautiful, romantic, and tranquil surroundings of the resort. We stayed at the Mai Pai Villa and it was beyond our expectations in terms of cleanliness and comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a wonderful week at the Koyao Bay Pavilions. There are all the usual resort trappings such as pools, lounge chairs, hammocks, attentive staff, endless supply of clean linen, excellent laundry service, mini-bar and wonderful accommodation but there is also so much more to this enchanting place. If you enjoy the sound of the waves, like to indulge in beautifully prepared authentic Thai food, meet local people, feel the gentle sea breezes on your skin as you go to sleep and awaken to a bird chorus, the chirping of cicadas and the barking of geckos then this is the resort for you.
We took a public ferry ride to Koh Yao Noi and upon arrival we were whisked away to the resort by a taxi truck - the whole transfer process was seamless. The pick-up truck travelled along a dirt track hidden amongst farm land and then suddenly there was the resort hidden away in its own quiet part of Koh Yao Noi.
We stayed in a beach pavilion that was ideally situated close to the beach and restaurant and by its own pool. Although the other 2 pavilions were occupied we were still guaranteed privacy either in our bedroom or sala.
The staff were there to attend to our requirements but also respected our privacy - a perfect combination! Olivier, Georges and all their staff were very friendly and helpful.
Each night we kept the doors and shutters of our bedroom open to ensure that the sea breezes kept our bedroom cool and that we woke to a view of the beautiful red sunrise. The open bathroom was just gorgeous and we were often joined in the large space by frogs and geckos.
At the La Sala restaurant we experienced a broad range of authentic Thai cuisine made from fresh ingredients and for a moderate price. The banana leaf salad, steamed fish and the green chicken curry are just delicious! Wi-fi is available in the immediate vicinity of the restaurant so it is great to indulge in a glass of wine while catching up with news from home.
For the first couple of days we relaxed at the resort- swimming in the pool or sea, relaxing in the tropical garden, enjoying our daily massage or walking on a local track or the beach. Then for the princely sum of 400 baht per day we hired a scooter and saw the sights of Koh Yao Noi. Some of the roads were challenging but all in all it was very easy to get around and very difficult to get lost. We also took a boat excursion to the Bileh Islands and this trip included lunch, fresh fruit, cool drinks and snorkeling gear. Be aware that the snorkeling around Koh Yao Noi is poor due to alluvium flowing down from large rivers but the water is warm and inviting.
Thank you to Olivier and all the staff for making our holiday such a relaxing one. See you again next year!

Room Tip: Book one of the beach pavilions
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
1.2 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
4.2 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
703 reviews
1.9 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,818 reviews
5.9 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
649 reviews
8.2 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyao Bay Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Bay Pavilions

Address: 46/7 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range: $216 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koyao Bay Pavilions 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the natural shoreline, paddy fields and forested hills, a coconut plantation along an untamed and deserted beach shelters three Pavilions arranged around a central swimming pool. Two-bedrooms pool Cottages & Villas, particularly adapted for families with children, are within small distance from the resort... A haven of peace for nature lovers, in search of uttermost privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koyao Bay Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Bay Pavilions Hotel Koh Yao Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing