We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveler rating
405
38
5
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
405
38
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la sala manager james pool shared his team beach suite beach front low tide amazing wildlife mass tourism pickup truck small paradise rice paddies small hotel relaxing break thai island natural environment laid back
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 454 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our second visit and once again it exceeded our expectations. We stayed for 9 nights in Mai Pai cottage and effortlessly slipped into a relaxed daily routine. Our day started with a wander to the Sala for a wonderful breakfast that could consist of fresh fruit, homemade bread, eggs or muesli – and a good cup of coffee. Mornings were spent on the beach investigating the hermit crabs, reading in the hammocks or enjoying a swim, Lunch time was usually a drive on our motorbikes around the island taking in the wonderful laid back ambience of this very special island. Although there are other holiday makers here you never felt that our presence took precedence over the islanders culture and lifestyle. Afternoon was spent reading and watching our 2 children (8 and 11) enjoying the pool.
This is a place to savour, the antithesis to most of the rest of Thailand’s resorts, with beautiful accommodation and a concern to the surrounds, environment and local people. The food cooked fresh in the restaurant is the best on the island by far, and some of the best Thai food you will ever eat. And if you want something different the chefs will go out of their way to prepare something.
But the very best aspect of Ko Yao Bay Pavilions are the people – Olivier is the perfect host, full of interest for all of his guests, with information and advice on everything from boat trips, local food, island features and willing to accommodate all requests. Our son really wanted a very specific dish that he had on our previous visit. Olivier personally cooked it for him, and even called his mother in France to make sure he had the right recipe.This is customer service on a different scale! Of course the owners George and Bee and their amazing team of Azip and all the cooks and staff make this place very special indeed.

Can’t wait to return once again

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank londoners1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When you choose a holiday and hotel you need to know exactly what you want. If you want a relaxed, low key, intimate, special and private place go to the Koyao Bay Pavillions. But If you want to fight for a pool deck chair, queue in buffets, deal with crowds and have non-individualized attention don't go here. That simple.

This place is a true gem. On first arrival it may not seem that way, in fact for us it was all a bit iffy - the dirt road to the place, the very open pavillions, the lack of a lobby and even a sign, but after a few hours you feel you couldn't have choosen better. To have your meals personally cooked for you by lovely cooks in a lovely simple kitchen, to have personalized attention catering to your every need by Olivier, to have a snacks delivered to you wherever you want, are all amazing experiences only available in places where you'd pay much more.

Then the pavillions themselves -glorious, beautiful, romantic wooden and one of the coolest bathrooms I've ever seen in a hotel!!! The sala also very special. We had the beach pavillion 101 (I'd recommend that one the most) and never got tired of just chilling in it. In fact wished we had had more time in it.

Another super special thing was that I spent my 40'th birthday there and Olivier set up a beautiful dinner on the beach for us, by far surpassed my expectations, with a menu specially choosen to my taste and a delightful bday cake.

The island is also very special, quaint and everyone so nice. We did an Island Hopping- greatly recommended, massages every day with Suba (amazing!!!!!), cooking classes with MIna (such a lovely lovely lady), had pizza at Romano's, a drink at Je T'aime, more drinks at the Good View, and we enjoyed everyone of those places and experiences. Highly recommended to rent a scooter as well. We also rented a kayak to the island just in front which was pretty cool.

To Olivier, Mina, Amin, San, Tak, Romano, Suba, many thanks for our little island of LOVE, we will be back! It trully was a most special getaway!

Room tip: out of the beach pavillions I reckon 101 is the best.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler-chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just spent a week at this hotel, and quite frankly could have stayed there indefinitely. The beach bungalows were spacious, well thought out and the traditional architecture coupled with sea breeze negated the need for air con...Olivier is a very friendly and errudite young man who knows how to give either help or let you be as required. The rest of the staff were similarly friendly and helpful when needed. Breakfast was fresh, tasty and always excellent in quality.
Really I couldnt imagine a more relaxing holiday than staying at the Pavilions. The whole island is a dream, and as far removed from the chaos of Phuket as could possibly be.
We will undoubtedly return!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laflafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I'm a little torn on what to say about this place. Let me say, my wife and I thought the staff were great. We found them very friendly, offering just the right amount of conversation. The food is simply amazing. Seriously, amazing.

As for the resort itself, it was a little quieter than we were looking for. It's a long way from the road so you have to have the hotel call taxis. Internet doesn't reach the rooms. Since it was rainy season and the other rooms were under construction I suppose that's to be expected. We just wanted a little more life around us. The rooms, and their "salas", were beautifully done. We just felt a little exposed. Don't be frightened if, while using the bathroom at night, you find yourself spending time with a local toad. Since it was stormy we had to keep our room pretty closed up which made it dark. I would love to see what this resort looked like on a beautiful day with other inhabitants around.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We came to Ko Yao Noi after a week on Phuket. Travelling with our 2 kids aged 6 & 9 we made our way to Bang Rong Pier and then caught the public long tail boat to Manoh Pier in Ko Yao Noi. The cost was 600 baht for our whole family. The ferry leaves every hour or so and long tail takes about 1.5 hours and the return public speed boat was around an hour. They seem to alternate long tail boats and speed boats so it's just the luck of the draw what you get. Absolutely no need to get a private speed boat... they cost 2000 baht one way.

The Pavilions are a 200 baht taxi ride from Manoh Pier - all the taxi drivers know where to go.

We stayed in Champa Villa. It is a lovely 2 bedroom villa that is air conditioned and shares a pool with the next door villa. It is private, comfortable and well equipped. There are lots of movies available for the kids to watch and the pool is fantastic.

The pavilions are unique. Set at the end of a bucolic dirt road, it is a sleepy little place set amongst rubber plantations, native forest and palm trees. This is not mass tourism rather small scale, high quality, relaxed and friendly. Olivier, the manager was very generous with his time and we enjoyed talking with him about the island, it's economy and his plans for the future. Olivier is French as is the owner George. The staff were really helpful in helping to organize taxis and transport.

The food at the restaurant was good but we found the service a little slow and forgetful. It was only a small issue but some improvement could be made here.

The beach is beautiful but not great for swimming. It is rocky and you need water shoes but good to cool down and unspoilt.

We travelled in late August and had some wild storms. It was beautiful and lush but the rain can get annoying when travelling with kids. The Pavilions have badminton, the pool and beach for the kids but 3 days was enough as there is not that much to do on the island that would interest kids. We hired a taxi for 3 hours and he drove us around the Island, showed us the rubber plantations, rice paddies & beaches. We also caught the public speed boat over the Krabi Provence & hired a taxi to show us around. This was really to fill in a raining day. The limestone cliffs are beautiful but the kids didn't really enjoy the day as the taxi driver just wanted to take us to shopping centers.

Back to Ko Yao Noi....it is a quiet, Muslim island that is very relaxed. We ate at J'aime which is in the village called Market and it was amazing. Definitely go there, Dora the Danish owner is very generous with her knowledge of the island and the food is divine. There is a 7/11 and ATM around the corner.

Defiantly worth visiting Ko Yao Noi for those wanting to escape mass tourism on Phuket.

Room tip: Champa Villa great for kids
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CliffordVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews