We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Magical Nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koyao Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koyao Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Providenciales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“5 Magical Nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We just finished 5 nights at the Koyao Island Resort. It was not nearly enough! Our 3 kids and 2 adults stayed in unit 15, the one with the best location in my opinion (it's the one in the first picture on the resort). The waves literally were lapping about 8 feet from our unit. The kids could play on the beach in front of the unit under the shade of trees for almost the entire day. A perfect set up!
The resort itself is spacious and doesn't feel crowded. Centrally located is the the bar, restaurant, main pool and check in area. Spread either side of this are the beach side villas. At the far end is the second pool and the larger villas. There is plenty of space and even though most units were occupied during our stay, things never felt busy.
The resort manages to combine a rustic setting and design with luxury. For example, our unit was essentially outside, with a roof to keep the rain off. Yet the beds and bedding felt luxurious and the lack of AC was no problem as fans were provided for use as needed. The resort has tons of character missing from large resorts, yet enough luxury to feel pampered during your stay.
The staff and very friendly and helpful. Our requests were quickly met and things such as transportation and tours were reliably organized. There are any number of nice touches while staying here : two free massages were included for us, breakfast is included in the rate as was unlimited free bottled water. Additionally, the usually run one or two free activities, like Yoga or a boat trip each day.
We took two boat trips directly from the island. As the sun was strong and we have three pale kids, we stuck to the half day trips but they were well worth doing. Ask for Yone as your guide on the boat trips. He was friendly, knowledgeable and never rushed us - he made sure we knew that we could move on only when we wanted to.

Here comes one or two negatives : the pools are not suitable for children who cannot swim. The restaurant has no kids menu. The beach is not of the calibre to be found in Phuket and the water was quite murky during our stay.

This is however going to be our go-to place for vacations in SE Asia, until at least we find somewhere even more amazing.

Room Tip: Room 15 is the best. It's closest to the water and has a little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seatrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
What a lovely review to receive, it makes us so happy to know what a wonderful experience you had here during your stay with us!

We are glad that you share our love for the design of our open plan/open air Beach Villas which we agree provide the perfect balance of luxury and a natural feel to really make the most of the stunning scenery and environment we have here at the resort.

The layout of the resort has been carefully considered to provide maximum privacy and peacefulness which is great that this was the feeling you had, even though we were very busy here during your stay.

It warms our hearts to know how welcoming and service minded you found our staff. We really are very proud of our island team here who always prioritize our guests happiness.

Its great to hear that you enjoyed our free activities we offer at the resort and took the opportunity to head out on some excursions to see the real beauty of our location here in Phang Nga Bay. Our guides are so knowledgeable and really make the experience special. We will be sure to pass on the message to Yone that you enjoyed his excursion very much!

We really appreciate your feedback with regards to the swimming pool and will consider this greatly for the future. We are pleased to inform you that our food & beverage team are currently putting together a children's menu for the restaurant. We hope you will enjoy this when you come and visit us again :-)

We understand your comments about the beaches, although they are beautiful and the scenery is second to none here, they are not of the caliber of that you may find in Phuket/Phi Phi. However, we find that this only adds to the charm of the island and will enable the island to keep its integrity and not become a magnet for such mass tourism experienced in places such as those mentioned.

We are so happy to have received all of your feedback and sincerely hope to welcome you and your family back here sometime soon!

Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    140
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
173
423
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had an excellent stay at Koyao Island Resort for the last four nights of a trip starting at Koh Lipe, Koh Hai, Koh Lanta. The resort is everything that the pics shows. Clean, open, massive rooms and lovely breakfast, restaurant food. We could not believe that even the bar in the open rooms are unlock and nothing goes missing. We had never experience such a sense of freedom and honesty. We are already booking for October. The little town is also cute. Free snorkelling trip, kayaks and bicycles. Motor bikes and bikes with side-car can be rented at hotel. We loved every minute at this excellent hotel. Stunning views.

Room Tip: Stay in the fan villas near the hotel entrance, they are very special. Numbers 1-15
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GNROBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear GNROBB

We are extremely happy that you chose Koyao Island Resort for the last part of your Thailand holiday and its great to hear that it more than met your expectations!

We are very proud of the safe and open environment we are able to offer here meaning that you can really make the most of the stunning scenery our rooms are specially designed to encompass.

Its great that you took the time to explore this special island and make use of the free kayaks and bicycles we offer here at the resort.

We are very excited that you will be returning again in October! We are looking forwards to seeing you already.

Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent five nights at this wonderful resort, all the staff were extremely lovely especially the Manager Donny and the lovely Nikki, we really cannot wait to go back, the views are just spectacular and well worth waking up at 5.30am to watch the sunrise, the villas are just beautiful with everything catered for, the swimming pool was lovely and relaxing and well shaded, the food was absolutely glorious with a wide range to choose from. I had a spa treatment while I was there and would highly recommend you go. One of the highlights was a wonderful English singer called Ry who sang and played acoustic guitar on the Friday night he was truly amazing, the bar staff were so lovely and friendly, we also took the free boat trip out on the Saturday with a lovely thai man called Pong, he was extremely informative and showed us such a lovely time, snorkelling in the coves was a wonderful experience, I cannot recommend this resort enough, I have already started saving so I can go back next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you Cheryle for your review, what a pleasure it was to have you here!

We are very proud of the stunning scenery and feel that this alone is worth visiting for. Our stunning, luxurious beach front villas complement this environment perfectly. Its so great to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful sun rise, we agree that it really is a magical experience and so worth setting your alarm early for!

We are very happy that you enjoyed our delicious cuisine in the restaurant as well as our evening entertainment from the very talented western musician Ry Robson.

We will pass on your kind comments to our staff, especially to Pong and our lovely Spa team who we agree are excellent!

We truly hope that you will be visiting us again next year.

Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We recently spent 5 nights in late march at Koyao and loved it. The rooms are beautiful, traditional thai wooden buildings with fans & mosquito nets and generous terraces and very romantic as you fall asleep to the sound of the sea and the breeze. there are also a couple of modern air conditioned villas and we stayed a couple of nights in one of them and they're fantastic too, very spacious and comfortable set away from the main area of the resort with a pool, shaded pool house with big sofas and loungers and hammocks by the sea. The restaurant food is excellent, the spa treatments are wonderful and good value and the management and staff are truly exceptional. They made us feel so welcome, looked after us exquisitely and were very caring. Cannot recommend them highly enough

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
What a lovely review of our beautiful resort, thank you very much Susan.

We pride our staff on their caring and service minded nature and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the care that everyone took over yourselves and all of our other guests. We really strive to provide a peaceful and welcoming environment and are overjoyed to hear that you had nothing but a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us.

We truly hope for the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back here sometime in the near future!

Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I'm giving this a 4/5 stars, only because of the room we stayed in. Otherwise, I have nothing but great things to say about this resort. We stayed in a Sea Breeze Studio (which is the cheapest option) and our studio (#16) was above the spa (not on the ground level) and we were literally right next to the restaurant and at the bottom of our stairs was the bar. So, there was a fair amount of noise during happy hours and our view was of the main swimming area. It did feel like people could see into our room pretty easily while we were inside, but its unlikely that most people even looked up there at all. We stayed here during one of the hottest weeks of the year, so it was very humid at night and the ceiling fan and standing fan didn't help a whole lot. BUT, we knew that could be the case heading into it.

Some awesome things about this resort: One of the days they did a free 3 island tour, which was phenomenal. They took us on long tail boats to swim on Hong Island and we snorkeled at 2 other spots. We also did a private kayak tour of the mangrove forests and this was a highlight for us. Pong, our guide, is amazing. I cannot say enough good things about him. His passion for what he does, his desire to serve and his big smile made that day extra special. He took us early and we saw only 1 other kayaker (its normally very busy). We felt very secluded and relaxed the whole time. They also do a lot of outdoor dinners for everyone, and it was great for meeting people. This is definitely a place where you can isolate yourselves if you want, or you can meet a lot of people from around the world.

Free kayaks. Free bicycles. Can rent motorbikes for the day (recommended). AND, by far the best pancakes either of us had every had. Do yourself a favor and order the pancakes at breakfast. Overall, great resort.

Room Tip: Splurge on the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Adam S

Thank you for your wonderful review, its so great to hear how much of a great time you had here!

It is correct that our Sea Breeze Studios are located centrally in the resort, and due to the open plan nature of the design it would be possible to hear some sounds from outside of the room. Fortunately our resort is a very peaceful one and, even at happy hour, our bar offers a very relaxed environment and we can see from your wonderful review that, although you felt the need to comment about it, it didnt really affect the enjoyment of your stay here. The Sea Breeze Studio you stayed in also has the most stunning views over the Phang Nga bay due to the first floor location so we believe it is well worth staying here.

We are very happy that you embraced the activities we offer here and ventured out to explore the beauty of the island and the surrounding areas. We will let Pong, our wonderful guide, know how much you enjoyed his company and information during your excursions.

Unfortunately we cannot share our delicious secret pancake recipe with you... you will have to come and visit us again sometime very soon!

Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I recently stayed with friends in this lovely little gem of a resort. The villas were stunning and the open concept is truly a lovely experience .... and then there are ofcourse the views .... breathtaking !
... a boat trip is not to be missed of course ! and yes - you DO need suntan lotion !!
Staff and Management were very nice and very welcoming ! I particular enjoyed the Engineer entertaining us on Guitarr in the bar !
We will eturn for sure, again .... and again
Thank you for a lovely stay

Room Tip: A boat trip on traditional longtail is a must! Resort can arrange on short notice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear HotelM

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review we really do appreciate it. It is so great to hear how much you enjoyed the magnificent scenery and our luxurious beach front villas.

Our lovely team here sincerely look forwards to welcoming you back very soon and we will inform our talented engineer B,Dam of how much you enjoyed his performance!

Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed a few weeks ago at this amazing little gem of a resort.
Just got around to writing a review.
We stayed in a 'villa' of sorts, not 50 mtres from the beach and it was paradise. After a wek in Phuket, Koyao noi Island really is paradise.
The food was excellent, the staff helpful and attentive, and the grounds were natural - not overly manicured. We really did feel we got a real break from the outside world on this trip.
Highly recommend KoYao Island Resort :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing with us your enjoyment of all aspects of our resort. We are very happy that you found it a relaxing and refreshing antidote to the hectic lifestyle of Phuket!

We hope to welcome you back here in the future.

Your Koyao Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
1.9 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.8 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
10.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyao Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Island Resort

Property: Koyao Island Resort
Address: 24/2 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koyao Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villas are built in the original Andaman Sea - gypsy style which is optimal for comfort and for the environment. We have used unique local resources with a traditional background while still maintaining, if not surpassing, all modern standards. The mangrove palm leaf roofs of our villas breathe and do not store heat, and air conditioners are definitely not needed.All villas have an undisturbed, spectacular sea view of the famous Phang Nga Bay and can be opened up to the stars at night - and in the morning the rising sun shines onto the beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Koyao Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Island Hotel Koh Yao Noi
Hotel Koyao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing