We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koyao Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I'm giving this a 4/5 stars, only because of the room we stayed in. Otherwise, I have nothing but great things to say about this resort. We stayed in a Sea Breeze Studio (which is the cheapest option) and our studio (#16) was above the spa (not on the ground level) and we were literally right next to the restaurant and at the bottom of our stairs was the bar. So, there was a fair amount of noise during happy hours and our view was of the main swimming area. It did feel like people could see into our room pretty easily while we were inside, but its unlikely that most people even looked up there at all. We stayed here during one of the hottest weeks of the year, so it was very humid at night and the ceiling fan and standing fan didn't help a whole lot. BUT, we knew that could be the case heading into it.

Some awesome things about this resort: One of the days they did a free 3 island tour, which was phenomenal. They took us on long tail boats to swim on Hong Island and we snorkeled at 2 other spots. We also did a private kayak tour of the mangrove forests and this was a highlight for us. Pong, our guide, is amazing. I cannot say enough good things about him. His passion for what he does, his desire to serve and his big smile made that day extra special. He took us early and we saw only 1 other kayaker (its normally very busy). We felt very secluded and relaxed the whole time. They also do a lot of outdoor dinners for everyone, and it was great for meeting people. This is definitely a place where you can isolate yourselves if you want, or you can meet a lot of people from around the world.

Free kayaks. Free bicycles. Can rent motorbikes for the day (recommended). AND, by far the best pancakes either of us had every had. Do yourself a favor and order the pancakes at breakfast. Overall, great resort.

Room Tip: Splurge on the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Adam S

Thank you for your wonderful review, its so great to hear how much of a great time you had here!

It is correct that our Sea Breeze Studios are located centrally in the resort, and due to the open plan nature of the design it would be possible to hear some sounds from outside of the room. Fortunately our resort is a very peaceful one and, even at happy hour, our bar offers a very relaxed environment and we can see from your wonderful review that, although you felt the need to comment about it, it didnt really affect the enjoyment of your stay here. The Sea Breeze Studio you stayed in also has the most stunning views over the Phang Nga bay due to the first floor location so we believe it is well worth staying here.

We are very happy that you embraced the activities we offer here and ventured out to explore the beauty of the island and the surrounding areas. We will let Pong, our wonderful guide, know how much you enjoyed his company and information during your excursions.

Unfortunately we cannot share our delicious secret pancake recipe with you... you will have to come and visit us again sometime very soon!

Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    141
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
175
429
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I recently stayed with friends in this lovely little gem of a resort. The villas were stunning and the open concept is truly a lovely experience .... and then there are ofcourse the views .... breathtaking !
... a boat trip is not to be missed of course ! and yes - you DO need suntan lotion !!
Staff and Management were very nice and very welcoming ! I particular enjoyed the Engineer entertaining us on Guitarr in the bar !
We will eturn for sure, again .... and again
Thank you for a lovely stay

Room Tip: A boat trip on traditional longtail is a must! Resort can arrange on short notice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear HotelM

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review we really do appreciate it. It is so great to hear how much you enjoyed the magnificent scenery and our luxurious beach front villas.

Our lovely team here sincerely look forwards to welcoming you back very soon and we will inform our talented engineer B,Dam of how much you enjoyed his performance!

Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed a few weeks ago at this amazing little gem of a resort.
Just got around to writing a review.
We stayed in a 'villa' of sorts, not 50 mtres from the beach and it was paradise. After a wek in Phuket, Koyao noi Island really is paradise.
The food was excellent, the staff helpful and attentive, and the grounds were natural - not overly manicured. We really did feel we got a real break from the outside world on this trip.
Highly recommend KoYao Island Resort :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing with us your enjoyment of all aspects of our resort. We are very happy that you found it a relaxing and refreshing antidote to the hectic lifestyle of Phuket!

We hope to welcome you back here in the future.

Your Koyao Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 days at the Resort and enjoyed everything about it. We were met at Krabi airport by the Resort driver and taken to the pier for the thoroughly wonderful longtail boat voyage to the resort. We felt the relaxation beginning as we arrived and were met by the resort manager Don.
We were shown to our AC pavilion with its own pool for the 4 buildings at that end of the resort after signing in at the main office. Our bags were waiting for us and our adventure began.
First off the facility was spotless and well maintained by the staff. The meals were good and well prepared. The lunch and dinner menus were a good mix of Thai and western options. They had specialty dinners of fresh fish and seafood cooked to order. Live music 2 nights and happy hour each night. the bartender Rodney was great and made good drinks on call.
The breakfast was excellent with a good variety of fresh fruits, juices,breads, cereals and hot offerings such as eggs/omelets to order, pancakes, crepes, sausages, and dim sum. Thanks to the dinning room staff...always ready to help.
Don't pass up the day trips they offer to various islands. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking and lunch provided by the resort are much fun. Our hats off to our guide Pong. He is very knowledgeable and a genuinely nice guy.
Our personal thanks to Don, Steffie and Nikki !!!! You guys are the best and make it all work. You are always there to assist and answer all the silly questions that you probably answer over and over again.......always with a smile.
Lastly, all that said, if you just want to lay back in a lounger and just enjoy one of the most beautiful and peaceful sights on earth and the warm tropical breeze, that's ok too. This is the place to do it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JoeinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
What a pleasure it was to have you and your family stay with us here at Koyao!

The magical experience of this location really does begin with the boat trip through the stunning limestone formations of the Phang Nga bay, we totally agree!

Its so lovely to hear that you really embraced and enjoyed everything the resort and the island has to offer and took the opportunity to explore the stunning surroundings with our very knowledgeable guides! We will pass on your kind message to Pong!

Our number one priority is that our guests have a wonderful time here, and that, you did! We would welcome you back to ask as many silly little questions as you please anytime.
We really hope you come back to visit us again here very soon!

Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paknampran
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I spent five days at this outstanding resort and it wasn't enough. They provide you everything you need starting from well maintained bikes over free boat tours etc.The service is impeccable. Especially Stefanie was always keen to help me as she knew all the spots of the island. Basil is an outstanding host as well. Thanks to them my already perfect stay there got even better.
The rooms are equipped with comfortable beds, the most beautiful outdoor shower I have ever seen and a variety of seating options.
The breakfast quality is tremendous and the food served in the restaurant is one of the best I have ever tasted in Thailand (Try the Mango Lassi. Wether it is made by angels or the barkeeper is god himself. I couldn't find it out.)
Keep up the good work and thanks again Steffi

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Der-Bonvivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to write this lovely review of Koyao Island Resort!

Its lovely to hear how much you enjoyed the nature and design of this very special and unique environment.

We are very proud of our entire team here at the resort and it so great to hear how special they made your time here.

We agree that our food & beverage team really do provide our restaurant with some of the most delicious food. We consistently receive tremendous feedback and are very proud of our delicious mix of Thai & Western cuisine!

We look forwards to a return visit from you sometime in the not too distant future.

Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Most Beautiful Unique Resort.

We stayed at this resort for a week at the end of 3 week holiday in Thailand. This was the perfect way to wind down and end our trip. The resort and its amazing garden are situated on an old coconut plantation and offers some of the best views I have ever seen. We stayed at the Panorama Villa's which is a three minute walk away from the main part of the resort but has a second pool on its own. The construction site in between the two parts of the resort did not cause any disturbing noise while we were there. However I do think that we'll try the Beach Villa on our next visit because of its unique open air concept.

Apart from the friendly and attentive service from both staff and management which made us feel at home right from the start, we particularly liked all the ' complimentary extras' the resort offers. On our arrival day there was a Management Welcome Cocktail with free drinks, twice a week there is live music at the bar and the resort also offers a free sightseeing tour around the islands once a week. My wife enjoyed the free yoga classes.

Their weekly garden BBQ is a great opportunity to taste some of the local Seafood along with the delicious buffet.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We really appreciate your lovely review of our resort and thank you for taking the time to share your happy opinions!

Its great to hear how much you enjoyed the stunning surroundings of this location - we agree that it is really something special!

It is valuable for us to see that your note about the construction site near to the panorama villa confirmed to future guests that there really is no great disturbance, thank you for sharing this.

We are very happy that you enjoyed everything about the resort and our friendly staff and hope sometime in the not too distant future to welcome you back here once again!

Kind regards,
Your Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Beautiful settings. Exceptional sceneries! Very quiet and peaceful.
Service if not perfect is quite warm and friendly.
A lot of activities are available.
Highly recommended if you like to rest in a beautiful and secluded environment

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank philippe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear philippe6

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure for us to host you and it makes us very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding our service one must keep in mind that we recruit the majority of our staff from the local community and we have to train them in all aspects of service, hygiene, language and social skills. The staff, try very hard and we are very proud of them. But what they lack in experience, they more than make up for with their friendly nature and willingess to help. Their priority is the happiness of all of our guests.

Once again we would like to thank you for choosing Koyao Island Resort for your holiday and we wish you many wonderful memories.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our resort in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Koyao Island Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
0.6 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
1.9 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
4.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
10.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyao Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Island Resort

Property: Koyao Island Resort
Address: 24/2 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koyao Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villas are built in the original Andaman Sea - gypsy style which is optimal for comfort and for the environment. We have used unique local resources with a traditional background while still maintaining, if not surpassing, all modern standards. The mangrove palm leaf roofs of our villas breathe and do not store heat, and air conditioners are definitely not needed.All villas have an undisturbed, spectacular sea view of the famous Phang Nga Bay and can be opened up to the stars at night - and in the morning the rising sun shines onto the beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koyao Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Island Hotel Koh Yao Noi
Hotel Koyao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing